We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet beach area with fantastic service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Imperial Samui Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Imperial Samui Beach Resort to your Saves list
Imperial Samui Beach Resort
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   86 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #27 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Alexandria, Virginia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Quiet beach area with fantastic service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2014

I stayed here for 4 days in November to unwind from a hectic 2 weeks touring Thailand. The resort is located on a quiet section of Chaweng Beach; we found you could not walk along the beach to get to the main part of Chaweng Beach if you wanted to see the more crowded section because you'd have to climb over a bunch of rocks. This kept the beach crowds small. The staff was excellent and very friendly and helpful. We found the breakfast buffet in the morning to be excellent with any type of western breakfast food you could want and it was usually hot (in addition to the made to order omlett, pancake station. The restaurant down by the pool served yummy food and really like the desert choices; the setting was excellent next to the pool and beach and being able to hear the waves while eating in the open air seating area. Our time was spent by the pool instead of on the beach and we loved the early happy hour from 1-2 pm each day in addition to the normal happy hour specials in the later afternoon. My girlfriend was so happy after a 3 hour spa treatment and couldn't get over the value of it versus what it'd cost here in the states. The resort is on a hillside so you will be walking up and down about 40 steps to get to the beach and pool, but since my house has almost that many steps it was not even a thought since my daily life is this way. We would definitely stay here again if we go back to Ko Samui.

Room Tip: We got the junior suite room which all seem to be located closer to the pool (about half way down th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    353
    251
    86
    21
    18
See reviews for
141
380
15
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2014

I stayed here for 10 days in April 2014. On arrival, I was whisked away into a large room which was nicely air conditioned. I think they recognise that people are not accustomed to the heat, which I appreciated. They also gave me a nice chilled lemonade and a cold flannel. Lovely welcome.

After a brief check in, I was taken to my room by golf buggy. Its a big place! My to was not suitable, so I asked for an immediate upgrade. I was shown an alternative room and was quite happy to pay the difference. I ended up with a room right by the pool, which was perfect. None of this was a problem. I just loved how friendly and helpful the staff were.

The room was ample and came with a fresh bowl of fruit. Unfortunately it wasn't replenished at any stage. Air con was fantastic - trust me when I say you'll appreciate it at this time of year. It was consistently 34° C every day. Low of 28° at night. Like many hotels, power cuts out when you leave your room, which is a real shame when you're trying to chill drinks in the fridge or recharge your smart devices. We made do though (drink fast!). HBO signal was dodgy, which made for a frustrating Game of Thrones watch, but hey... You're on vacation, right?

The sun rise is amazing from this hotel. Just stunning. Get up and watch it. The pool is fantastic - sea water pumped up each day. And plenty of deck chairs and seats around the pool. However, I found it frustrating when people would get up incredibly early every day and reserve the exact same spot by placing their towels in place. Germans and Russians are everywhere and seemed to be the biggest culprits. Never mind - I guess they're eager and willing to get up early, so they're welcome to the good spots!

The breakfasts are fantastic. Make sure you get this included in your room rate. Lots of choice and excellent staff (the only ones I tipped!). It can be a bit of a hike and lots of stairs between your room and the breakfast restaurant but we found that you can just take your time and it's absolutely fine.

The advantage of all the stairs is the amazing views from all of the rooms. Also, this beach location is far superior to other Chaweng resorts. There is no reef which means the water gets deep relatively quickly, unlike other parts of the beach. You'll appreciate this as the water is cooler. Make no mistake though, it will be warm water. No joke, its like a luke-warm bath.

I rented a scooter from the tour desk at the hotel. Same prices as elsewhere but you don't have to surrender your passport. Very convenient way of getting around the island. I recommend it over taxis, which cost about the same for a single trip!

I dined at the restaurant for dinner just once, as the prices are much higher than you'll find along the street. Nice meal, but unjustifiably expensive if you ask me. There are lots of great nearby options (Samui Paleang is one!).

Laundry is cheap across the road. And Relax Massage is also great and cheap for Thai massage.

Overall, I would come back. I've given 4 stars because there are much newer resorts, which you'll pay a lot more for. I was very happy with my time here and I would recommend it to others.

Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2014

We travel a lot and for different reasons, but this has been one of our most relaxing holidays ever! It has one of the best beach locations and an amazing salt water pool right on the beach. Easy 3km walk on the beach to main centre at Chaweng or a 200bt taxi ride.

Food and service was excellent and Executive Chef Ram Prasad ran an amazing cooking class that we would highly recommend.

The different resort levels mean some stairs, but with the food you will experience we would suggest the exercise would do you good!

While at the quieter end of the beach it is an easy walk to get to the louder party areas.... You will appreciate this resort when time to get over hangover and to relax.

Great mix of other guests from all over Europe and pacific ( we are from New Zealand)

We are about to book again for same time next year.

Thanks to the team at the Imperial

Warren and Vanessa

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dusseldorf, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

I went with my husband on April 2014 and we were surprised how great the resort was. Service was outstanding. Employees were often making sure we were enjoying our stay. The resort offers two pools, one of them (across the beach) is a sea water pool - everyone's favorite. The room was extremelly confortable, with sea view and actually quite big. Breakfast offered a good variety of options, and the breakfast area could not be more relaxing - a great relaxing music on the background, and at the same time the beautiful song of the birds who are often around, and of course, the beautiful sound of the water fountain. The location could not be better. Chaweng Noi Beach has crystal clean water, and it's a great place to relax. We were very happy with our stay! We are not really the kind of couple who travels to the same places, but we really feel like going there again and staying at the Imperial! :)

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2014

We recently stayed at this resort on our way to Koh Tao. We were meant to stay only a couple of nights, but in fact we extended our stay for an extra 4 days!

The atmosphere is calm and relaxing, Nice swimming pool and nice beach. Bar also ok.

The rooms however are quite far from the beach and it is quite a walk uphill to return to the room. Whereas we enjoyed the walk through the gardens, this walk would certainly represent a challenge for an asthmatic or someone not too fit!

To hire a scooter from the hotel is a must: The hotel is strategically positioned and you can keep exploring the island and reach some amazing restaurants not too far.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

I have to say this is an overpriced and over rated hotel. What you don't see is that it is appropriate for a mountain goat! The rooms are set well high above the beach and walking down is a task; returning uphill impossible.Therefore the only way of getting any where is in one of the 4 buggies provided and driven by the hotel.Therefore you are at their beck and call.The restaurant is overpriced with food bordering on below average.
The place is dated with noisy air con in the rooms. English is a challenge to many of the staff although they try hard.
As for the spa, again overpriced.
I would never return.I have stayed at many hotels in Samui and this time I thought I would give myself a treat.
A miserable and expensive experiment

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Silver Spring, Maryland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2014

We choose this hotel based on reviews from tripadvisor. I little more then we paid for other hotels but we wanted to be pampered.

The location Chaweng Noi was fantastic. Restaurants to walk to on the beach and around the hotel but not close the all the activities in Chaweng. This was not a problem, as the hotel provides bus service into town (you have to pay $70 bhat per person) and then there still are taxis.

The hotel itself was very nice and we loved the layout of the rooms and the hotel grounds. Nothing old as others have mentioned. 2 pools and open clean beach and lots of privacy in addition to lush gardens. The mention of the stairs, oh well, really not that bad and it is great exercise.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, we did feel extra special as they turned down our beds at night.

Breakfast was, as someone mentioned before, fabulous but I would not pay $20 for it. Ours was included and we enjoyed the delicious choices.

We also checked out the Imperial Boathouse, the sister hotel, our hotel offered a free bus ride to this location. We found it a bit cramped there and a much older facility. Cute but in need of sprucing up.

I only gave a 4 star rating, as mentioned by another guest, we booked a room with 1 bed but where ushered to a double bed room and where not able to change until the next day. It was not available but the next day - however, we did like the location of our original room better and decided to stay there after all.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Imperial Samui Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Imperial Samui Beach Resort

Address: 86 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi Beach | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#21 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#22 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Imperial Samui Beach Resort 4.5*
Number of rooms: 141
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover the charm of the hotel, nestled in the warm and white sands of the magnificent Chaweng Noi Beach, Koh Samui. The newly renovated and beautifully decorated rooms of the low-rise buildings are surrounded by our lush tropical garden and rise above the crystal blue water. It is a paradise hideaway where luxurious seclusion meets natural beauty. The resort features a fresh water pool with its own jacuzzi, a sea water pool facing the ocean, dining by the beach at Tara restaurant or under the stars. Relax on our poolside terrace, in the lobby lounge and pool bar or make use of our meeting facilities, 24 hours room service, a full service spa or diverse sport facilities. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, EasyToBook, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Imperial Samui Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Samui Beach Hotel Chaweng
Hotel Imperial Samui
Imperial Samui Chaweng
Imperial Samui Hotel
Imperial Samui Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Imperial Samui Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.