We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing Stay at resonable price” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Muang Kulaypan Hotel to your Saves list
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing Stay at resonable price”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Nice Hotel directly on beach, swimming pool in garden on the way to beach. This was my second time here and the standard is quite good for what you pay. 5-10 minutes walk to the night life and markets etc. Close enough to walk but far enough away so its not too much noise. I would book this hotel without breakfast, as that was the only disappointing aspect. I had breakfast once in my 2 week stay and it cost 941 Baht for 2.(about 23 Euro) .and was really crap, one on the worst "English Breakfast" I ever had. Apart from that I can recommend the hotel but my advice is eat out, it will be cheaper and taste better.

Room Tip: I stayed on the ground floor and few years ago and on the second floor this time, no major differenc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear BernardDUB2013,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. Our breakfast is a la carte menu and will be included in the rate of Room with Breakfast Rates. The menu we provide is a la carte, and guest can choose what they would like to have with the price indicated in each menu. We asked our staff to check the breakfast and all food and beverages and improve in every single dish to satisfy our guests. Also there are several of local restaurants our hotel area as our hotel is located in the center, so the guests will have more choices for their food during their stay. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    99
    94
    37
    23
    18
See reviews for
29
104
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Taipei, Taiwan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We stayed two nights at superior room, but turned out to be a bit of disappointment as rooms looked much better online. We had an extra bed, but it was tired out and making a squeak. It was not comfortable to sleep at all. What I could not stand most was bath towels were not clean at all! Plus, somehow there were so many biting midges in the room that I got around 20 bites on legs. Hotel staff helped to spray pesticide, but rather wish they had a plug in mosquito repellent. We also did not feel secure to keep our important belongings in the safety box since it was a real simple one which you open up with the key. Nowadays, lot of hotels provide digital safe box, which feels much secure.

Well, good things about the hotel were a minute walk to the nice beach, and we could have a breakfast in these cool huts just by the beach. Plus, 10 to 15 min walk to Changwen restaurant area was quite convenient.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Masayo1208,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We stayed two nights at superior room, but turned out to be a bit of disappointment as rooms looked much better online. We had an extra bed, but it was tired out and making a squeak. It was not comfortable to sleep at all. [We do apologized for this inconvenience and we checked and fixed all the rollaway bed to make it more comfortable for our guests] What I could not stand most was bath towels were not clean at all! [We do have information about water saving in every guestroom which guests can help saving water by not changing bath towel or bed linen. Also if guests would like housekeeping to change bath towels, guest may drop the towels on the floor then our staff will replace with new towels.] Plus, somehow there were so many biting midges in the room that I got around 20 bites on legs. Hotel staff helped to spray pesticide, but rather wish they had a plug in mosquito repellent. [As our hotel is located in the tropical island and in an open area, we do have mosquitoes which we do have schedule for pest control. Also we do spray Insecticide on request.] . We also did not feel secure to keep our important belongings in the safety box since it was a real simple one which you open up with the key. Nowadays, lot of hotels provide digital safe box, which feels much secure. [Our hotel is trying to change all the safety boxes to be digital safe box to make it more secure for our guests. All safety boxes will be digital when we reopen after renovation and rebranding.] Well, good things about the hotel were a minute walk to the nice beach, and we could have a breakfast in these cool huts just by the beach. Plus, 10 to 15 min walk to Changwen restaurant area was quite convenient. [As our hotel is located right on the beach side and in the center, so guest could easily reach the center by a minute walk.] Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

I stayed in this hotel first 9 or 10 years ago and stayed again twice in the past couple of weeks and yes it was in better condition 9 or 10 years ago and I believe its soon to be completely refurbished some time soon hence the low prices.

Yes it is a bit old round the edges hence the low prices but I can honestly say the staff the food the pool are very good, the bedrooms a bit tired but still better then a lot I've stayed in and much cheaper the 9 or 10 years ago, so take advantage now while the rates are so because when they do renovate the price will rocket.
It's also right next door to the Amari and for the price I know where I'd rather stay.

Room Tip: I've stayed in a couple of different rooms and all were fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Gary B,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel in 2014 to upgrade the hotel and make it more convenient to maximize our guests. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Gan, Israel
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

We got to stay 2 nights hotel last August, the hotel certainly gives appropriate consideration to price, on the beach, 50 meters from the main street, quiet, wonderful staff.
The breakfast is not good, but other than that this hotel is highly recommended!

Room Tip: Take a Balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Kobi D,
Thank you very much for your details on reviews during your visit. We will pass you words to our staff. We asked our staff to check the breakfast and all food and beverages and improve in every single dish to satisfy our guests. Also our hotel is located right on the beach side and in the center, so guest could easily reach the center by a minute walk. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

The hotel is at the quiet North End of Chaweng, walking distance to the town but away from the hustle and bustle. The rooms are nice but despite having a vast amount of open garden space most of the rooms face on to walkways and/or back on to the Road. The plus side to this is the huge open garden and pool space down to the beach. The rooms are nicely laid out with cool design but need a bit of upgrading. Also, the beach at this side of Chaweng whilst very nice and backed by palm trees is not good for swimming as it's on a reef and the water can be a bit murky.
It's very close to the main town/bar area (walking distance) here.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with an open/sea view and definitely away from the Road. We had one of the deluxe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear thePualhongkong,
Thank you very much for your details review feedback during you visit, We will pass you words to our staff and we promise to maintain this is the huge open garden and pool space down to the beach. We would like to inform that we will have major renovation through out the hotel at the first quarter of 2015 year to upgrade the hotel. We also will keep you updated our renovation. Thank you once again, and please feel free to contact us should you wish to visit us again on your next return to Samui. We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Walking around Muang Kulaypan you could imagine the past glory of this hotel, that is, if you pinch your nose, for there is a distinct smell of old drains, of subtle sewage that lingers over the place, especially at the top end of the resort as you walk right from reception, and especially in the bathroom on our one night stay. When I explained the problem to the young man on reception (on the afternoon/evening of 6th September) it was unfortunately met with rolling eyes rather than an apology or an offer to change rooms. An oil burner was found and lit but this had more of an effect of mixing the smell: 'aromatic drains'. That coupled with the direct blasting of the air conditioning on the bed, led to an uncomfortbale nights sleep that we were really quite unhappy to spend our 60 euros on. In the morning the water in the shower also smelled bad. We were greated with a packed breakfast of chewy bread and ham and a carton of juice for an early trip to the pier. They also kindly offered to arrange a taxi for 800 bhat but we managed to flag one down on the road outside for 500.

To be fair, the staff who tried to help mask the smell of the room were really very friendly. The receptionist was not. The pool was nice and deep, although it is a little dark at night to swim safely. The hotel is just about the right distance outside of the centre of Chaweng to escape the tackiness at will. Perhaps if we had stayed longer things might have improved, but for what we saw, Muang Kulaypan is in need of some improvements.

Room Tip: The ones on the second tier might not smell of drains as much, and if you can get a room away from t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, September 17, 2013
Dear Inthethickofit79, Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay, We will take your feedback and take action immediately. Now our hotel is maintaining, and changing the water filter system. This will remove the unpleasant smell from the water, the drains of subtle sewage that lingers over the place. Also we have scheduled to clean the drain more often avoid unpleasant smell. Also our engineering team has changed the air conditioning system to the room you stayed and also check all rooms to avoid the same problem. For the breakfast box, our Kitchen staff already change the bread and will keep it keep in the right temperature before handing it to the guests. We will have Personality Development Training for our staff more often to develop ourselves to become a socially desirable also to improve behavior and to learn better communication. For the price of Hotel Car to Nathon which is on the other side of Island which we provide hotel private car and guests do not have to wait to wave for the taxi down the road and do not have to share with others. Our pool is closed at 19.00hrs and we informed the guest upon checking about the operating hours, also hotel information is provided in every guest rooms. We will pass your compliment to our Housekeeping staff and they will be so appreciated. We believe this kind of situations will never happen again. Thank you once again for your time reviewing us. Sincerest regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August 2013 and had booked almost a year before after reading some good reviews as part of a trip around a few of the Thai Islands. Its in a great location and we had a really nice stay at the hotel, but on the last night when we were about to check out (early flight next morning) we were told that we still had 50% of our bill left to pay despite having an email saying that full payment had been received, and being told on check in that full payment had already been made in advance. I tried to pay for all of our hotel accommodation in advance so that we only had extras and food etc to pay for when travelling. My card has now been debited for another 50% and I have emailed at least 10 times to complain and speak to the manager but I have no response. They said at the front desk that the way the original email and prices were laid out that we should have worked out that we still had 50% to pay but we had 2 interconnecting rooms and it was not clear that the price shown was for one room only, and they sent us an email saying that "Full payment" had been taken. So I would say it's a nice hotel in a great location but to avoid the situation we are now in check your bill and do not trust anything they write on email as it seems it counts for nothing. I would never stay here again even though the staff are lovely due to the problems we have had and the fact that they will not respond and I am unable to speak to the manager. I have rated the hotel as poor due to the problems we have encountered.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Kulaypan Management Team at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear lucy29linda, Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay.
We stayed at this hotel for 6 nights in August 2013 and had booked almost a year before after reading some good reviews as part of a trip around a few of the Thai Islands.- Its in a great location and we had a really nice stay at the hotel, but on the last night when we were about to check out (early flight next morning) we were told that we still had 50% of our bill left to pay despite having an email saying that full payment had been received, and being told on check in that full payment had already been made in advance. I tried to pay for all of our hotel accommodation in advance so that we only had extras and food etc to pay for when travelling. My card has now been debited for another 50% and I have emailed at least 10 times to complain and speak to the manager but I have no response. - [Our reservation had charged 50% deposit from full amount upon confirmation to secure the rooms] They said at the front desk that the way the original email and prices were laid out that we should have worked out that we still had 50% to pay but we had 2 interconnecting rooms and it was not clear that the price shown was for one room only, and they sent us an email saying that "Full payment" had been taken. - [Upon arrival we sincerely apologize for miscommunication about the payment and checked you in to two connecting rooms as indicated in the reservation., our staff tried to explain about the outstanding balance on the night before departure and was given a debit card to charge for the outstanding balance upon departure. Our Staff tried to charge on the card proved but it was decline. They tried with 50% of the outstanding amount again was declined. And we received your e-mail about the fraudulent on your card. We replied you e-mail and explain that the card given was declined. We asked for alternative card to proceed the payment and you allowed us to charge on the card provided on the first time of depositing. After charging, we sent you e-mail reporting that we had charged you credit card and attached the slip along. We reply you e-mail asking for manager's e-mail which we replied on the e-mail in the same day. All e-mails were replied by our staff and manger.] So I would say it's a nice hotel in a great location but to avoid the situation we are now in check your bill and do not trust anything they write on email as it seems it counts for nothing. I would never stay here again even though the staff are lovely due to the problems we have had and the fact that they will not respond and I am unable to speak to the manager. [We received phone call from you and passed the line to manager] I have rated the hotel as poor due to the problems we have encountered. [We will take your feedback and take action immediately. We believe this kind of situation will never happen again] Thank you once again for your time reviewing us. Sincerest regards, Muang Kulaypan Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com and Asiatravel.com Holdings so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang Kulaypan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.