We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A lot depends on location of your room. Overall only average” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Muang Kulaypan Hotel to your Saves list
Muang Kulaypan Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 259 Reviews
Shanghai, China
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“A lot depends on location of your room. Overall only average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to the city center and with a nice beach in front. Staff is nice and service oriented. As written before the hotel needs an urgent face lift. All facilities are quite used, not very well maintained. For instance it must be years that they cleaned the heads of the shower which are now spreading in all directions. Batroom is not terrible and not very clean. The restaurant is quite good, though relatively pricy. If you are a bit noise sensitive you have to insist on quiet room and avoid the rooms facing the street which are in my opinion too noisy. I changed rooms 2 times, got a better and quiet room but had to pay more than 30 euros upgrade per night. i left a branded sweater on a hanger while moving rooms and it disappeared. The beach in front of the hotel clean but as far as you can walk only getting to your hips. No real swimming. An ok hotel for family with small children,

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Hotel Mangement at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Mr. Reinardus v. - Thank you very much for your details review feedback of your stay. The location of the hotel is great, walking distance to the city center and with a nice beach in front. Staff is nice and service oriented. As written before the hotel needs an urgent face lift. All facilities are quite used, not very well maintained. - [We do have plan for major renovation and re-branding after January 2014. and wish you could visit after reopen under Sala Hospitality Group] For instance it must be years that they cleaned the heads of the shower which are now spreading in all directions. Batroom is not terrible and not very clean. - [We have weekly schedule for cleaning the shower head and we would do it more often. For bathroom which is in black tone, we do clean it daily with bathroom cleaner.] The restaurant is quite good, though relatively pricy. [As to other hotel in the same level, the price are quite similar, also to the good nice restaurants Our Budsaba Restaurant is located right on the beach and we provide private huts/ gazebos for guests to dine in.] If you are a bit noise sensitive you have to insist on quiet room and avoid the rooms facing the street which are in my opinion too noisy. I changed rooms 2 times, got a better and quiet room but had to pay more than 30 euros upgrade per night. [ our hotel is located in Chaweng the busiest area of Koh Samui. The building is located between the beach and the main street and we do have wall between the street and hotel. The room we assigned the arrival day, we send you to the room that we assigned, and 10 minutes later you went to reception and said you would like to move to other room. So our staff moved you to another room on same category you booked right away. Then on the second day, you would like to move to quiet room which we did not have room available and it was almost 100% full. So we offer you you to move to higher category which is located right to the pool and beach with the upgrade fee and it is the only room of that room category.] i left a branded sweater on a hanger while moving rooms and it disappeared. [We tried to find it for you after you moved to new room for a couple days, but we cannot get into the room that you moved from because there was already new guests stay in that room. Also it is not in our Lost & Found Record.] The beach in front of the hotel clean but as far as you can walk only getting to your hips. No real swimming. [The water level along Chaweng Beach is not deep like in Lamai or Maenam Beach. Also water level will go up and down depends on the season and tight.] An ok hotel for family with small children,[ Our hotel welcome every type of guests, with the nice beach beach and big garden to enjoy your vacation] I will take your comments into account in order to improve our service. Thank you again and we hope you will consider returning to us in the future. Our sincerest regards - Muang Kulaypan Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    89
    37
    22
    18
See reviews for
28
96
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Great Yarmouth, UK
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

The Hotel was ideal and a very pleasant room and a wide varander with views over the lush gardens and the beach and sea within 5 minutes walking distance. The staff were all very helpful and the breakfasts and meals were very good and to be recomended, there was a fitness area with a variety of gym equipment and the landscaped gardens with a large swimming pool was a great way to unwind in the heat. There was no entertainment within the Hotel when we were there, but there was plenty of music and dancing in the other Hotels that all fronted the beach. A most pleasant stay and we will definately be visiting again as soon as possible.

Room Tip: Generally all the rooms we saw were of a good standard and were well equiped
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MuangKulaypan, Muang Kulaypan Management at Muang Kulaypan Hotel, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Dear Michaelpwatsonco5986, thank you ever so much for such a wonderfully positive review on Muang Kulaypan Hotel of your stay. We shall ensure we share your comments with our great team here. Thank you again and please do let us know when you wish to return. Sincerest regards, The Muang Kulaypan Management.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beijing
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Just back after 2 weeks here and knew what to expect from reading the reviews. The hotel wasn't as worn and tired as previous guests have made out. It was perfectly fine. Loved the swimming pool but get there early to reserve beds as there weren't a huge amount. Hotel right on the beach but definitely not the best part of the beach as there was a fair amount of seaweed and the water was not very deep and a bit rough underfoot.

However, breakfast was totally ruined by one male waiter who was miserable, rude and made each breakfast a really unpleasureable experience. All the other staff were wonderful but he will prevent me from booking this hotel again. I have his name and am very happy to supply it if needed. It is a shame that one breakfast waiter can ruin what would have been a perfect stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
157 helpful votes 157 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Stayed here for two nights whilst touring thailand. I felt that the hotel was a little over priced in comparison to neighbouring hotels I stayed in which were to a similar standard. The location of the hotel is perfect, away from the hustle and bustle of the town centre with the noise but close enough for a leisurely walk into town within ten minutes. The rooms were ok with the exception of curtains which were tired and broke and the hotel had very nice toiletries. The hotel also had a nice touch in preparing the bed room for night with biscuits left on the pillow and an oil burner lit in the bath room. The pool didn't seem to get used much , not sure why but the sun beds on the beach were very popular. The massage area on the beach was very good and the girls were first class. In all a good hotel with very nice staff.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

We have picked to stay here no doubt there are bad reviews and after stayed here...we are totally agreed!!!! Please do not ignore the negative reviews!!!

We stayed here for 4 nights at Garden View room 204.....Please avoid this room!!!
Bathroom really stunk, shower water slow with no pressure & Air Con not working well thro the whole stay and worst...broken down at d 4th nite, "Box" TV?? & poor reception, tap water have funky smell, balcony railing is shaky. We have requested to change room but the front office said fully booked and in fact not. The room is not worth the $ we have paid.

When checked out, bills have mistake..

Apart from that,

Pool and the garden are alright.
Breakfast is a la carte and ok.
Turn down service with little local sweet is nice gesture.
Location wise is 10mins walk to the main chewang street and quiet convenience

The main building and rooms are very very old and seriously need to be refurnished as very dangerous, gentle TLC is not enough....

To avoid disappointment like us, stay here only after it is renovated and refurnished which advised by them will be in 2014 or you may have the same bad room experience like us.

Good Luck!!

Room Tip: Pls pls avoid Garden View room 204 and requested to change room immediately if u are unlucky to allo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in June, although I agree with earlier reviews that the rooms need some modernisation, the service and location by far make up for it. The staff were so helpful, they arranged an excellent tour of the island for us, which included everything we wanted to see. The breakfasts on the beach are very special, I would have no hesitation in recommending this hotel

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Stayed 2 nights at this hotel. Lovely rooms and bathrooms. Very friendly and staff who prepared our rooms for sleeping each evening, lighting oil burners in the bathroom. A great place away from the hustle and bustle - a 20 minute walk along the beach to nightclubs etc. The beach bar was quite expensive, unless it was happy hour. Lovely breakfasts on the beach. Great pool.

Room Tip: We had adjoining rooms on the ground floor which worked well for 2 families. Quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Muang Kulaypan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Muang Kulaypan Hotel

Address: 100 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#33 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Muang Kulaypan Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 42
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
ConceptOnce upon a time, in the ancient kingdom of Muang Kulaypan, Java lived the beautiful Princess Budsaba and her brave Prince Panyee - a great warrior and lover. Their love story played muse to folk legend and dance, which travelled over the oceans to the Royal Courts of Ancient Siam. Muang Kulaypan, Koh Samui has drawn inspiration from the legend from which it derives many of its unique architectural traits ensuring the legend of the Budsaba and Panyee still live on today.All rooms and suites surround the expansive landscaping of the Muang Kulaypan central gardens, swimming pool and stretch of golden sand as the shallow cool waters of Chaweng Beach lap against the shoreline. The accommodation buildings merge seamlessly and effortlessly with the lush green foliage, whilst unique sculpture's and artifacts pose scattered throughout the grounds. The raw design and distinct use of culture provide the resort with a timeless appeal and guests an impression of true sanctuary. Location Nestled at the northern entrance to Chaweng Beach, Koh Samui's premier tourism arena, Muang Kulaypan provides convenient access to shopping, activities and nightlife without overcrowding or congestion. This ideal location is within a mere ten minute drive from Koh Samui International Airport. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Despegar.com, Agoda, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Muang Kulaypan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Muang Kulaypan Bophut
Hotel Muang Kulaypan
Muang Kulaypan Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Muang Kulaypan Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.