We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service at a great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui

Save Saved
You added Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/3 Moo 2 Tambon Boput, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Extra 15% Off
Ranked #4 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Galway,Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Excellent service at a great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2006

I stayed for 2 weeks in the Amari and would recommend it to anyone.
Everything anout the resort is stunning- the staff treat you like royality, the swimming pools are lovely, the food is delicous (breakfast!). The location is perfect- on the quiet end of the strip but within walkable distance.

We were upgraded as it was our honeymoon and had a gorgeous room with balcony (all rooms have). The staff were so helpful and friendly and always available.

The resort is 'split' into two sections as it's one two sides of a public road but there's no noise and they have traffic wardens to stop traffic for you. Each side has a swimming pool- the one further from the beach is quieter but both are lovely and big.

The resort doesn't have huge grounds- you can't exactly go for a stroll around the grounds but it's right on the beachfront. The water direclty in front of the hotel is TOO shallow for swimming, you have to walk 5-10 mins down the beach to get to good swimming area.

You can buy grilled corn on cob, fresh pineapple, water, beer on the beach and bring it back onto the resort- the staff don't mind and it's a good way to save some money. Samui Seafood just down the road is lovely)

Every few nights there's a themed food night- thai buffet (recommended), steak night etc. There's loads of top notch restaurants in Koh Samui to eat out in but if you advail of Amari 'meal deal'- 3 meals in one of their restaurants for a fixed price you get 20% off all your food, drinks bill for your entire stay so I'd advise this.

The Spa is lovely but expensive (€40-50 for a massage) compared to massages along the beach (€4) or just down the road, in the 'outlet complex' (€8).

I'd recommed Amari Palm Reef to anyone- it's gorgeous, the staff are great and it's so peaceful.
Don't pre book a pick-up from the airport with your travel agent-you can get a taxi for about €6 and it's less than a 10 minute drive.
DON'T use the phone in your hotel room for international calls- it's €5 per minute to Ireland. Buy a call card from 7/11.


Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,548 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    942
    446
    99
    42
    19
See reviews for
308
740
42
14
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (347)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cambridge, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2006

Stayed at the Amari Palm Reef for 5 nights in May 2006.

Plus points:
- Really well appointed property, good facilities and pool areas, and top notch restuarants
- Efficient service and decent value
- Quiet location away from central Chaweng


Negative points
- Booked a deluxe room, this didn't seem to me to be worth the extra money. No view to speak of and not massive
- Location, whilst quiet, involves something of a walk to reach the bars and nightlife of Chaweng

Overall - This is a great property for families, people looking for an upscale property with good facilities, beach etc. Next time I'd stay somewhere closer to centre of Chaweng so that the bars and nightlife is on my doorstep.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, NY
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2006

Stayed for 5 days in May, great Hotel, excellent location North End of Chaweng Beach which is much quieter. The grounds, pool area, and rooms were very well kept. The staff was exceptional always willing to assist in any way possible. Buffet breakfast was excellent. The only negative is the beach in front of hotel not really swimmable, but a short 5-10min walk south along the beach brings you to better beach

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2006

We ( my husband and I ) have just returned from a 3 night stay in the Amari. The hotel is fantastic. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful and the location is perfect. There are several good quality restaurants within striking distance of the Amari ( a very short walk either up or down the beach ), yet the location at the north end of Chaweng beach means you are not disturbed by the noise and chaos of Chaweng Road if you don't want to be. In addition the hotel's Italian restaurant Prego is, from our point of view, the buzziest, coolest restaurant on the island if you fancy a night off the Thai food!

The hotel provides an excellent buffet breakfast with a huge amount of choice, including thai as well as western options. The bar area ( very hip ) provides an excellent place to chill out post beach - make sure you use the daily happy hour ( 5.30 when we were there ) as the drinks prices can be a little steep when compared to other bars.

The only minor and it is a minor criticim is that the pool area was quite crowded and small ( for the number of people using it ). Having said that, the beach is on your doorstep so if you miss out on a lounger, you can spend the day there.

Equally the room we were staying in ( deluxe with balcony ) whilst being spacious with a great balcony, felt a little tired. Having said that, these rooms were being refurbished as we left, so this should be addressed.

Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warfield, Berkshire
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2006

There's only one word to describe the Amari Palm and that's FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!
First of all the rooms - we stayed in a Deluxe Room on the west side of the complex, the rooms were kept absaloutly spotless and had the biggest and the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on (despite lots of other reviews saying they were too firm)!!

On to the food - we stopped on a bed & breakfast basis, talk about spoilt for choice, it was outstanding. We dined at prego twice which is the Italian Restuarnt in the Amari and can thoroughly reccomend it especially the baked Oysters (my boyfirend's personal favourite!! We dined at Mirante once (Lobster night) which served the biggest Lobsters I have ever had, a bit pricey but well worth it.

We tended to spend our days at the beach pool which was never overcrowded certainly not for the first week, the second we spent on the beach as a few more children arrived because of the School holidays. The beach was a welcome surprise after quite a few negative reviews, for me the Sea was perfect and like sitting in a very warm bath, not deep enough and too calm for my partner, but we both loved lazing on the beach. The staff round the pool could not do enough for you, especially Somrod and Phet (say hello from Steve and Tina if you see them) we are missing seeing their smiling faces each day.

The Amari was perfect for us as you are within walking distance of Cheweng Road, for shopping and lively bars, but feel miles from it once inside the Amari. We had some great evenings out at other restuarants on Samui, our favourites being, Zarzen, Eat Sense (best Thai food on the island without a doubt), Sala Samui, and Poppies.

Bar@c at the Amari was the best Bar on Koh Samui, fantastic decor, even beds to lay on to sip your Cocktails, although not cheap well worth it.

The one negative point about this holiday was having to come home - we just can't wait to go back one day!!!

  • Stayed March 2006
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2006

We stayed at the Amari Palm for six nights from April 2-8, 2006. This is a relatively large property for Koh Samui with about 200 rooms. Most of the rooms are located across the road from the beach, which while not a major inconvenience, does diminish the impulse to take a midnight walk along the beach or an early morning jog in the sand. There are two pools and the beach side one tends to get very crowded making it difficult to find a chaise lounge.

I reserved a deluxe room and was disappointed when I checked in to find that the room was not at all contemporary in design or feel, and looked nothing like the pictures on the website. When I called to inquire I was told that all the deluxe rooms were the same. When I mentioned it did not look like the pictures on the website, I was then told " oh, those are the new rooms in a different wing." After asking to see one of those rooms, I was told to wait in my room and someone would come right away to show me the other room. After three phone calls, and about 45 minutes waiting, I finally was shown the other room, which although even further away from the beach and pool, was new and matched the websites photos. It took another 45 minutes and several phone calls to have my luggage transferred to the new room. Complaints to the management were gracefully handled however, and the manager Marcus first sent over a fruit and canape plate and latter offered me dinner for two at Prego to appologize for the poor service..

The new room was very nice in design with a nice size balcony and a large bathroom.
Storage space, while sufficient, was a bit inconvenient and unsightly, as there were few drawers with exposed storage space being offered intead. This did not allow for a relaxed feel in the room as your belongings were exposed and greeted you as you entered the room. The wood floors were quite scratched considering they were only a year or two old, and the room, while cleaned twice dailly, never seemed swept clean. Perhaps they should not use the "thai style" brooms to sweep the floor as they are not very good and trapping sand and dust, and are better designed for sweeping streets of leaves and larger debris.

The design of the room while nice, was not terribly "Thai" in style and was somewhat generic. The quality of the beddings was just OK, one one occasion the sheets ripped as I tried to free myself from the "tucked in" sheets. Amenities were replaced daily but were nothing special The room did have a DVD/CD played, all the better for checking out any purchases made in the market! Lighting and water pressure we both excellent and the airconditioning was sufficient to keep up with the sweltering heat.

The pools are nice but close early, around 7pm. I dont know if they enforce this curfew as I occasionally saw someone in the secondary pool after that time. There is no real whirlpool or jacuzzi, with a separate shallow sitting area offered that had some very pathetic bubble action! The pool water was clean but quite warm. On one occasion while sitting by the pool ini the sweltering heat, we were offered chilled towels. This was a lovely touch but it was only offered once. It should be offered at least hourly during the heat of the day as some of the other pricey hotels offer. The beach is cleaned daily and not very busy. Perhaps this is because it is not really swimable, instead being a shallow rocky reef area more suited for snorkeling, which is very good right in front of the hotel.

The hotels grounds are lovely, with numerous garden areas and sculptures throughout. The spa was rather small and seemed quite pricey. The main beachside restaurant offered a lovely breakfast every day, with the buffet sheltered from the heat in a separate wing of the restaurant which was much cooler than the eating areas. Service at breakfast was fine but nothing special. The slection was good and varied day-by-day. We did not eat dinner there, but did attend the beachfront seafood buffer complete with show and torch lighting. The food was just average, with a fair assortment of seafood and accompanying sauces. The seafood was only offered one way however, char- grilled on a flame. Much better was dinner at Prego, the Italian restaurant located near most of the rooms. This is a beautiful stylish restaurant with a wood burning oven making delicious pizzas. and a full Italian and seafood menu. Service was excellent although the first bottle of wine we ordered had turned bad and the waitress seemed at a loss as to what to do when we asked to try a different selection, as if this had never happened. Interestingly, the Thai merlot was much better than the French one we had originally ordered, although it was pricey, especially for a domestic wine.

The hotel also does not offer any additional lesure activities as there is no pool, or tennis courts or jacuzi or whirlpool. Given the price point of this hotel and the many other choices available, I had to question the value of this hotel. There is a lot of staff about, but they are not always terribly responsive and their English skills are not always very good. Transfer service was offered and was quite good, with a chilled towel offered as we entered the van, and with a front desk clerk accompanying us to the airport on our departure to handle check in for us.

We had originally wanted to book the Muang Samui which was in the same price range and located just a bit down the beach, closer to main Chaweng Beach but still a bit apart. Although we did not stay there, we did look at the rooms and grounds, and they were much larger and much more beautifully and unusually decorated. The balcony was almost twice the size, the rooms were much more private, and the decor far more dramatic and original looking. We also ate at their beachside restaurant which has wonderful Thai food which they will serve very spicy if you desire, if you ask for it "thai style". Their pools and grounds also looked nicer.

All and all, a nice hotel but not terribly original and not really worth the price.

Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Midlands, UK
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2006

We are a family of two adults and two children (girls aged 13 and 8) and stayed at the Amari Palm Reef for 10 nights from 9 April 2006 during Thai New Year.

It was the first time we had travelled to Thailand and had booked to stay at this hotel with Trailfinders. The hotel and island exceeded all expectations.

The hotel is in a fantastic location at the very end of Chaweng Beach. It is a quiet location, however is within easy walking distance of shops - ideal for families.

The hotel is immaculate and the staff are keen to attend to your every need. We had notified the hotel it was our wedding anniversary and on arrival found our room to be adorned with flowers and an anniversary cake. We had two superior bungalows in the garden area accross the road from the beach.

There are two pools one in the garden area and one on the beach side - both were gorgeous.

Breakfast was awesome with every choice you could possibly imagine available, including curry and rice, which you eat in the Marante Restaurant overlooking the sea.

The beach directly outside the hotel is beautiful, however the water was a little stagnant. If you walk up the beach in the direction of the island the water becomes crystal clear. The sea is very shallow and you have to walk a considerable distance out before you are able to swim.

We ate in both Bar@C and Prego and both were excellent, however it is not long before you realise that if you use one of the cheap red taxis that pass the hotel, there are a large number of restaurants along the main road where you can eat for far cheaper and the quality of food is not compromised by price - don't be afraid to venture!

We stocked our mini bar with cans purchased from the supermarket down the road which cost us 29B per can rather than 100+ charged by the hotel. We were drinking all the time to prevent dehydration and quickly realised that purchasing drinks from the hotel was proving very costly.

The hotel has a tour desk and whilst on Koh Samui we did the Living Thailand Tour and the speedboat trip to the Angthong National Marine Park. WOULD DEFINITELY RECOMMEND THESE TOURS. The tour guides are absolutely fantastic and you get to areas of the island that are not easily accessible unless you are familiar with the island and a 4 wheel drive vehicle!

We also arranged to dive with the onsite dive centre who were fantastic - Melanie was brilliant and made our first ever dive one to remember. Our children snorkelled and saw loads of fish on the reef.

Can't wait to return to the island and would not hesitate in booking the Amari Palm Reef for our next visit. We passed many other hotels during our stay and none looked as beautiful and as well located as the Amari.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 Tambon Boput, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui 4.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Amari Hotels, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Otel, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.