We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay! Great location! Beautiful resort.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui to your Saves list
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   14/3 Moo 2 Tambon Boput, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Best Deal: Save 15% Now
Ranked #11 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Melbourne,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great stay! Great location! Beautiful resort.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

I have just returned with my children & husband from a stay at Amari. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We had interconnecting rooms( as requested) near the pool/beach, however I have stayed in the rooms across the road and they are a little bigger and just as nice.
We ate at resort and food is good and reasonably priced. Their Italian restaurant across the road is good but a little expensive for Thailand ... but having said that it is catering for people who want to eat upmarket Italian. Personally I love eatingThai food when in Thailand.
Included in our stay was a great buffet breakfast.
I have read reviews from people disappointed with certain requests, I was actually astonished to witness rude arrogant guests. I felt sorry for some of the employees who had to put up with these people. I get that we work hard for our holidays and expect good service but remember your manners when travelling.
Overall we loved the Amari and will definitely be back next year! :)

Room Tip: Get down to pool early. Seats go quick!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Ktpinnuck,

Thank you very much for your great feedback following your stay with us. It is a pleasure to hear that it was much enjoyed!

Thank you also for your comment about how some guests speak to our team members, but luckily for us most our our guests are lovely :)

All the best and hope to welcome you back on your next visit,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,717 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,030
    501
    115
    48
    23
See reviews for
351
821
47
16
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (394)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Haugesund, Norway
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

When we arrived we got nice cold towles, and some tea. Great service and smiling personell. We stayed there for three nights and we were very satisfied. We had som complaints when we arrived about the location of our room, and we asked if we could change rooms and that was no problem.

The beach was not so good though! But the pool was a great place to chill out. If u want to stay on the beach you can walk 10 mins south of the hotel and the beach gets better and better the farther down chaweng beach you go,

All in all a great palce that i would go back to, the breakfast was GREAT and the personell was smiling and helpful! So i would gladly reccomend this place! Worth the 4 star if u ask me !

The location of the hotel was great for us,. Because you didn't stay in the middle of chaweng were all the noise is. But just in the beginning for the street so it was not noisy except for the traffic. And it only took 5 mins to walk, and then you were in the middle of the larm!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Daniel,

Thank you so much for your kind review. I'm glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to welcoming you back to our resort again one day.

Warmest regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the occasions when Ive realised Ive booked a dud. Ive been coming to Samui for years, how did this get No.1 on trip advisor??

Firstly, they didnt have the transfer to pick us up from the airport despite me emailing that morning and receiving a confirmation. I saw a guy with Amari sign and he said sorry we were not on the transfer list. Fine, well catch a cab.

The internet is non existent. To be fair, I was placed at the rear of the property, which is nice from a quiet point of view. But when the internet did appear, it was for five minutes and terribly slow. Unfortunately some of us ned to work from our room whilst away from the office and if thats you, choose another hotel.

Three star at best. Im honestly being reasonable. And if you look at my previous reviews Im usually praising all hotels. If I had not pre paid for the hotel stay, I would change hotels.

Ps. my iphone never connected to the wifi at all

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Gary,

I'm sorry to hear that your experience with us wasn't up to our usual standards. Yes there was a mix up with the airport pickup and I sincerely apologise for that.

Regarding the Wifi, unfortunately a lightning strike during a recent storm had hit our main router hub, leaving us with severe problems with our Wifi system during the time of your stay. It was an out of the ordinary and unfortunate occurrence and I do apologise for the inconvenience. I hope you will give us another chance to show you that this is not the usual level of service that we aim for here at Amari Palm Reef.

Sincerely,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013 via mobile

Very nice hotel in the whole island. The staff very friendly. The hotel is very conveniently situated and is only a short walk from the center of everything. I will stay there again next time i go there again. …. ….

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Worldtravelleron,

Many thanks for your kind review! We hope to have the chance to welcome you back again in the near future. All the best till then,

Kind regards,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

The hotel is ranked very high on Tripadvisor. Having read all the glowing reviews, we were excited to finally check it out, and I have to say we were quite ok with our stay all though I think our expectations might have been to high. I would rate it 3,5 out of 5 TA stars.

Location is excellent if you want to stay near to the hustle and bustle of Chaweng city center yet without been in the noisy middle of it. Peaceful it is, that is unless you stay in the apartments or huts next to the main road where lot of traffic will pass, including those extremely irritating thai boxing promotion cars.

The rooms are decent all though in Thailand I have come to expect more for a hotel charging 150-200 dollars per night. The rooms are starting to show their age. The bathroom is tiny and unappealing, all though clean as everything else.
I had a look at their webpage and unsurprisingly theres not a single picture of the bathrooms! And the reason is simple, theres nothing to brag about, and the standard does not compare with the rest of the room.

Aircondition was also a tad noisy.

Unfortunately the neighboring property is a construction site, and those freaking workers started sledging their hammers at 0900 on a Sunday morning! Great! Not!

Fitness center. Like often is the case they are a joke with very little equipment and weights that even a baby could lift. At least dumb bells being no heavier than 11 kgs does not do it for me.

Free wifi with quite decent speed was a plus.

Great breakfast!

All in all I guess its a pretty nice place to stay if you wanna stay near the city center of Chaweng, but for similar prices you could get a more taste of "luxury" if your a willing to move a little bit further out of the city center.

Room Tip: Choose a room away from the main road if you are noise sensitive
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Funky12,

Many thanks indeed for your kind review, your nice words about the staff will be passed along, and I'm sure will be much appreciated!

Looks like we'll be seeing you again soon :)

Best wishes,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013 via mobile

We have just returned back from the Amari on the 27th June the last stay of our three centre holiday. First impressions were ok of the reception didn't have to wait too long to be checked in but when we were taken to the room we were disappointed. The door to our room overlooked what seemed to be a shanti town and building site and to the other side were the staff quarters! Having said that the room itself was satisfactory, the other complaints were the distance to the reception from our room especially as we had trouble with our room key on a number of occasions so had to trail back and forth to rectify it. The staff at the reception spoke little English and some were just not interested in trying to help, there was problems with the wifi on the last day we need to check in with the airline and we were told that they didn't know when it would be back on, no offers of help to sort this. The wifi was very patchy and kept dropping out not what you would expect from a four or five star hotel.
On the whole we enjoyed ourselves and koi Samui is a beautiful place with something for everyone, I would not however go back to the Amari as I think there are nicer hotels in the vicinity.

Stayed June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Angela,

Thank you for your recent review. I am disappointed to hear that we did not live up to your expectation of a 4 star resort. Yes, the open-air corridor leading to your room does overlook the accommodation of some less fortunate people, however the view from the room is over our lovely gardens.

I must apologise for our free wifi not working. There was indeed a problem with it on that day and as we were trying to source a spare part, the team were unsure of when it would be back up and running. I'm sorry they didn't assist more and will address it with them for improvement.

I am glad to hear though, that overall you did enjoy your time in Koh Samui.

Yours sincerely,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Another very relaxing holiday at Amari.
Perfect location. In walking distance of rat race, (if you have the need for this).
Gardens magniicently maintained. Agree with with some critics that some rooms are a little tired, but as advised this is on the agenda to be rectfied.
Merante, Prego and Bar@C excellent.
As in other holidays, staff throughout the resort still the absolutely the best. Nothing is too much trouble for them. Although we are known to many of them, service given to new and returning guests is great.
Before returning home we stayed a few nights in Bangkok at a five star hotel. Lovely and staff very professional, but no comparison to Amari Palm Reefs happy friendly crew.
Yes, it looks as though we will have to return.

Room Tip: Have stayed both sides of resort, our personel choice is the Thai Village. but all areas great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PalmReefAmari, General Manager at Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Dear Funky12,

Thanks a lot for your really great review. Your nice comments have been passed along to the team and we look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Koh Samui.

All the best till then,

Martin Kunzmann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui

Address: 14/3 Moo 2 Tambon Boput, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui 4.5*
Number of rooms: 188
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cushioned by soft white sands and sparkling waters, Amari welcomes you to one of the most idyllic islands in the Gulf of Thailand. A gem set apart from the rest of the world, Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui on Koh Samui invites you to live out your days on island time, where there is always time for another dip in the pool or another walk on the beach. Turn off your clock, enter our time zone, and let Amari take care of the rest. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Amari Hotels, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Hotel Chaweng
Amari Palm Reef Hotel
Amari Palm Reef Resort
Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Amari Palm Reef Koh Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.