We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good small family place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
161/10 Moo 2, Chaweng - Choengmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
+66 92 447 4837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 148 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Open Monday to Saturday 5pm to 10pm. Closed on Sundays. Homestyle Thai food cooked only with fresh ingredients.
San Jose, CA
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good small family place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

I loved that this place is family owned and run. Everybody was so sweet to our baby, and our first night here when we erroneously ordered something spicy for the baby, the cook went back and made something else. Our second night one of the "kds" in the front of the house even occupied the baby for a few minutes to allow me to finish eating on peace. Food was tasty as well.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

343 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    252
    61
    16
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Very good food great value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Great low key Thai food. Great value friendly staff! Clean. Just off main strip in chewang. Not fancy dining but authentic small Thai eatery.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very nice.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

Walked past it a thousand times, over 3 trips to Samui, but only noticed it thanks to the high rating it has on Trip Advisor.
Took my folks, and no one was disappointed.
Very good quality meat made me disappointed that I chose a chicken mince meal. Everyone else on my table had meals that looked (and tasted) excellent.
Small, humble little place, with excellent food, presentation and value.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great Thai Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2014 via mobile

Visited this very small Thai restaurant situated at the northern end of Chaweng beach. Not exactly fine dining. A sort of place you get your beer in a stubby holder, regardless the food is tasty and very well priced. Service is good. Worth a visit if staying down that end of Chaweng.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo, Norway
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Just what we expected - delicious!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

went here after reading the reviews and were very happy we did. A tiny little place with only 5 tables, they make everything fresh. The massaman curry had complex flavors and they hit my spice level spot-on. And super reasonable!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.