We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
161/10 Moo 2, Chaweng - Choengmon Road, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 92 447 4837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 95 restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Thai food prepared using only fresh ingredients. MSG FREE. SET LUNCH MENU CALL FOR RESERVATION. CLOSED ON SOME SUNDAYS
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“TERRIBLE.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Where to begin...

My boyfriend and I were so excited to try this restaurant based on the great TripAdvisor reviews. We could not have been more disappointed.

After eating at The Green Bird which was fantastic- delicious food, quick, cheap and very high quality- Khaw Glong was awful.

The waitstaff was very rude, trying to upswell us any chance they could get. For example, they ran out of a shrimp dish we ordered and instead of offering to substitute the shrimp that they had in stock, said that we would have to pay a substantial amount more to get the dish we wanted.

We ordered crispy fried pork which was lousy. The second dish we ordered came out 35 minutes after the first and turned out to be the entirely wrong dish that we ordered. When the correct fried noodle dish did come, it was tasteless.

Finally, during our meal a customer collapsed which was very sad. The wait staff did little to nothing to assist and a fellow customer was forced to step in and take charge of the situation.

This was by far one of the worst restaurant experiences I have ever had and definitely the worst meal I have had in Thailand. DO NOT GO!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Owner at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 12, 2013
We are sorry to read your review. We understand that we have mistaken one of the dishes that you ordered and that you did not like our food... We are sorry but we respect your opinion, luckily other customers have different opinions... on the other hand there are a couple of things that you wrote that are extremely unfair and to which we have to respond.
1. Yes shrimps were finished so we could not prepare the dish that you had chosen, so we proposed you if you wished us to cook the giant prawns in the same manner but of course the price was different... I cannot understand how you can expect that to happen for free... Maybe you do not know the cost difference of the two kind of ingredients.
2. Yes one customer collapsed, and it was not an easy moment. That customer was supported by the staff and its family. A fellow customer has offered advices from his table being probably expert of first aid and we have happily followed his advices by bringing to the fainted customer a fresh towel, sugar water and smelling salts... Following the family advice we then packed their food and cancelled the dishes that were not ready ... You might not have noticed these details.

We also want to stress that our dishes are always cooked on the moment and that therefore when the restaurant is full, waiting times might be long. Our food is MSG (mono sodium glutamate) free.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    133
    29
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After reading the review, I was so excited for the food.

They were very busy so food took a while to come, but that was fine. We sat outside and people watched.

The food was way to spicy for my taste, however my husband loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic second try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to come back to Samui and I did not miss a visit to Na's Khaw Glong. This time I went with my family and group of friends from Italy. You know how italians have always great expectations at table time. Everybody was astonished by the freshness of the ingredients Na, the chef, is used to combine, but this time she pushed herself even further. She prepared for us giant prawns in a tamarindo sauce: unbelievable! The best prawns of my life ever! Just go for it !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read the reviews on Tripadvisor for Khaw Glong and it is definately worth a visit. The place is only small but it was clean and we were well looked after. The food was very good and quick service and CHEAP! The prawns in tamarind sauce are a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sorry not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Read the reviews and went along expecting great things. The noodles in my phad thai had been 'fried" in reused oil and was the worst phad thai I have had. Pity, it seemed a nice place maybe I was unlucky.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Owner at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Longmarch,
we are sorry to read that your experience was not to the level we want to give to ALL our customers. We have to apologize for not having satisfied you but we have to stress that we do not "FRY" pad thai and do not re-use oil. Our small kitchen is open to anyone that wants to see it in any moment of the day so as to give our customers also the possibility to check on the ingredients quality. We also have a 100% MSG free policy. So if you are still in Chaweng we would be pleased if you would like to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.