We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food value for money” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
161/10 Moo 2, Chaweng - Choengmon Road, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 92 447 4837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 95 restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Thai food prepared using only fresh ingredients. MSG FREE. SET LUNCH MENU CALL FOR RESERVATION. CLOSED ON SOME SUNDAYS
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Good food value for money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013 via mobile

After reading the review, I was so excited for the food.

They were very busy so food took a while to come, but that was fine. We sat outside and people watched.

The food was way to spicy for my taste, however my husband loved it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    134
    29
    10
    3
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“A fantastic second try”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

I had the opportunity to come back to Samui and I did not miss a visit to Na's Khaw Glong. This time I went with my family and group of friends from Italy. You know how italians have always great expectations at table time. Everybody was astonished by the freshness of the ingredients Na, the chef, is used to combine, but this time she pushed herself even further. She prepared for us giant prawns in a tamarindo sauce: unbelievable! The best prawns of my life ever! Just go for it !!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice food worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013

I read the reviews on Tripadvisor for Khaw Glong and it is definately worth a visit. The place is only small but it was clean and we were well looked after. The food was very good and quick service and CHEAP! The prawns in tamarind sauce are a must!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Sorry not for me”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

Read the reviews and went along expecting great things. The noodles in my phad thai had been 'fried" in reused oil and was the worst phad thai I have had. Pity, it seemed a nice place maybe I was unlucky.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Owner at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, August 3, 2013
Dear Longmarch,
we are sorry to read that your experience was not to the level we want to give to ALL our customers. We have to apologize for not having satisfied you but we have to stress that we do not "FRY" pad thai and do not re-use oil. Our small kitchen is open to anyone that wants to see it in any moment of the day so as to give our customers also the possibility to check on the ingredients quality. We also have a 100% MSG free policy. So if you are still in Chaweng we would be pleased if you would like to give us a second chance.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Linton, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Superb food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Small menu and basic cafe but excellent food and friendly service oh and did I mention it was super cheap

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.