We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Small place but great food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant

Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant
161/10 Moo 2, Chaweng - Choengmon Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand
+66 92 447 4837
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $5 - $8
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: OPEN 17:00-22:00. CLOSED ON SUNDAYS Thai food prepared using only fresh ingredients.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Small place but great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013 via mobile

We were yearning for some Thai food cooked by Thai people (most places in Chaweng are run by Burmese) and after checking trip advisor and eating here for lunch we were not disappointed. Highly recommended!!! They got the bill wrong but in our favour (forgot to add a dish) but we were honest and will probably go back soon.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    186
    44
    12
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Best Authentic Thai Food in Thailand!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013 via mobile

After 2 days in Bangkok and 2 days in Chiang Mai this is by far the best Thai food we found thanks to TripAdvisor. Great authentic Thai flavors, friendly and curtious service, and no frills little restaurant. Also has free WIFI.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Proprietario at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Rsmukler, we have appreciated having you and your girlfriend in our restaurant, we have been happy to deal with your appetite and your curiosity about recipes. We are happy to see that we have satisfied you.
Thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“One year later this place has really kept its promises”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

I was here one year ago and this place was really amazing we had meals here almost every day. Coming back this year we came to see if quality was still the same... Well if possible it got better. Much better than most similar Thai eateries in Chaweng this place is outstanding for freshness and friendliness!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Proprietario at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear monica c
Thank you for having come back to visit us almost one year later. We are happy to see that our efforts during this years to keep our food quality as high as possible have paid off and that you enjoyed our food once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013

Just set off the main road you are likely to walk past and not think much about it. If you do walk past you are missing a treat. Not much to look at but it is excellent basic Thai food served quickly, hot and fresh. And to top it all it is very cheap and better value and tasting than some of the classier places. Will be going back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Proprietario at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear TraveliingD, all the staff here at Khaw Glong wants to thank you for your patronage and for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rome, Italy
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Wonderful food and very nice service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

It is a simple place, but the quality of food is excellent. Daily fresh produce and graciously mastered thai cooking make a wonderful final result. A good list of light and tasty dishes you can choose from. So good food along with very light prices and a nice and attentive service make me say that it is by far the best place in Chaweng. And I must say that, in about a week of stay, I have experienced quite some.
Just go for it.

Per gli italiani: mangerete benissimo ed in un posto pulito, come non e' facile trovare. Il servizio è molto simpatico e la padrona di casa attenta e premurosa.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isareeyaporn Y, Proprietario at Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, responded to this review, March 29, 2013
Dear Magistercylindrus,
thanks for your very nice words, on our food an don our staff. We hope to welcome you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Khaw Glong Thai Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.