We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“At $40 AUD a night,You can't go too wrong with that!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Verticolor

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Verticolor to your Saves list
Samui Verticolor
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   19/16 Moo 3, Haad Ngam Rd, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly The Verti Color Chaweng)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #47 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Geelong, Australia
Top Contributor
141 reviews 141 reviews
59 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
199 helpful votes 199 helpful votes
“At $40 AUD a night,You can't go too wrong with that!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed 3 nights,August 2013

This resort is located 15 mins from the airport,transfer cost $120 b,each person shared van 5 person ,or take a private taxi for 400 b.buy taxi coupon at airport.See Samui airport website for other prices to other drop off destination around the island

This resort is very modern an fairly new to koh Samui.Its the sister hotel to Samui resortel & spa ,just 10 min walk down the road ,south way.We stayed at Samui resortel last time,twice,it's very nice,but more expensive as its on the beach.Chewang best beach!!!!.we thought we would give verticolour a try this time.it's a 10-15 min walk to the main hub of all the expensive restaurant,but the eating outlets down this end are more cheaper to dine in an nice an quiet too.

Check in was smooth,with welcoming staff ,we got a free up grade to a deluxe room,which was great,overlooking the pool an in a quiet spot of the resort.

The room was spacious ,good size bathroom,air con,etc...... Hard mattress,but still manager a not bad sleep.......The door to the room an bathroom door was very dirty with hand marks,due to the fact the doors were all white,white doesn't stand a chance in any hotel or house !!!! .......

Free wifi only in the foyer was a available,there is 4 Internet computer to use in the foyer,if you don't have your own iPad,etc. it's fast wifi too.

The pool is of a big size,it's is bigger than its sister hotel,heaps of deck chair an sun shines all day over this pool.There is a pool bar with good price drinks.There is showers an toilets by the pool as well.I can't understand WHY a pool would open at 9.00 am only,I miss out on my early morning swim an seeing the sun rise.You can also use the beach deck chair at Samui resortel on the beach,buy drinks there too.The BEST BEACH of koh Samui .!!!!!!!!

Breakfast was served by 7 am to 10 am only ,it was basic,but ample for us!!! .There was 2 juices,toast ,jam,white toast only!! ,eggs,sausage,ham,salad , fruit and noodle chicken veg.tea,coffee.i think it was better than basic.

Overall this resort represent fantastic value that's for sure,it no 5 star,it's more like a tunes hotel standard ,but with bigger rooms an more services available an nice pool an the beach is straight across the road,though another resort.

Would stay here again,maybe yes for a quick cheap holiday,but I would choose the 2 room suite.

PS : if you want my taxi drivers number,who I have use 3 times now,just inbox me an I will send it.He has a motor bike shop too to hire bikes from,cheap ,cheap !!! He's does transfers to airport too.

Ciao

ELISA. Australia

Room Tip: We got upgraded for free to a deluxe room ,that was overlooking the pool at the end of the hallway,w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear sir/Madam

Thanks your very much for chosen our hotel Samui Verticolor as your destination for Vocation. We are very pleasure and enjoy to have you as one of ours value guest during your vocation.

It is a very pleasure to have you back as our returning in our group guest with such a positive feedback from our value guest. I will share your comments with our team and staff. I am sure that this deed back will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as well as strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services. Even we have such a positive feedback from you, we will never stop improvement our standard and services for your future stay and make your holiday perfect and a better day for your holiday vocation.
also pleased accept my apologize for the schedule time of our swimming pool and also our breakfast.
Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

224 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    95
    32
    18
    20
See reviews for
13
80
29
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

This hotel is located towards the quieter end of Chaweng, which suited us fine as we didn't want to be in a very busy area. However, it is still on the Chaweng strip and you do not have to walk far to get to restaurants, cafes and shops. It is not a beach front hotel and the beach is a good 10 minute walk away. It is important to note that if you do want to get to the more 'buzzy' part of Chaweng, it is about a 25-30 minute walk. turning left out of the hotel. However, you could always get a taxi or bus.
The hotel itself is set back from the main road and you walk past a building site to get to it, but the noise from this is negligible. The hotel is clean, airy and spacious. We never used the pool, but it looked clean and there were always people using it. Our room had comfortable twin beds and a very good shower and toilet. There was plenty of space for our toiletries in the bathroom. We slept well in spite of the fact that the walls seemed very thin and activities in the adjoining rooms and corridor could sometimes be heard. The room had a fridge and the air con system worked very efficiently. However, the room lacked some important things that would have made our stay more comfortable. There was very little natural light coming in as the window was covered by palm trees. We were on the second floor in the side block (the Thais called the ground floor the first floor). So ask for a room that is at least on the third floor if you are taking the cheaper rooms. Generally even the artificial lighting in the room wasn't great - not so good if you wish to read. We also had no balcony. This is very inconvenient when you are on a beach holiday as you need somewhere to dry your towels and swimwear. Furthermore, there were hardly any hooks inside the room and limited storage space. The more expensive rooms in the main tall block you see in the promo pics do have balconies and rails for your clothes.
It's really important to note that if you want a great beach experience in Chaweng, you should really book a beachfront hotel. Otherwise, you are unlikely to get a sunlounger on the beach as these are all owned and controlled by the various beachfront hotels. One hotel (Centara Grand, I think) wanted to charge us 500 baht (over £10) to use their sunloungers. This might not seem much but we were travelling around Thailand for 3 weeks and had to budget. Other hotels said their sunloungers were only for their hotel guests and one place charged 100 baht, but was in the busier part of the beach. There is no one independent on the beach that will hire out sunloungers to you and you cannot buy or hire a beach parasol from anywhere on the Chaweng strip in spite of the hundreds of shops and stalls! My advice is to get a beachfront hotel and ensure it has sunloungers for your use. We were unable to get such a hotel because our booking was made quite late.
The staff at Verticolor were OK. One member of staff was particularly friendly; the others were professional and just getting on with their job, but didn't particularly try to create a holiday atmosphere. One thing to note is that the hotel is very particular about getting its towels back, however thin and well-used they may be! On one occasion, one of my hand towels was hidden under my large floppy hat and obviously the housekeeping staff couldn't find it. We returned to the room later that day to find a note asking us to resolve this matter at reception or otherwise we would be charged for this old towel. We did resolve the matter quickly having done a little detective work, but just be sure to leave your towels in full view!
The breakfast here is very basic and really not satisfying for vegetarians. There are a couple of cafes nearby where you could get something to eat. If you're a meat-eater, you'll probably be alright.
In summary, this is a good and popular hotel and I do think it's good value for money. However, if having a sunlounger and parasol is important to you, then you must book into a beachfront hotel.

Room Tip: Main block with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thanks your very much for chosen our hotel Samui Verticolor as your destination for Vocation. We are very pleasure and enjoy to have you as one of ours value guest during your vocation.

It is much regret we heard such disappointment during your stay about our Hotel whether we do not have our own beach for your relaxation during your stay, we are trying our best to provide what we do not have to satisfy every value guests with shuttle bus to the public beach and sister hotel beach.

With positive comment we are very pleasure that you are very happy with our hotel accommodation during your stay. With positive feedback I will share your comments with our team and staff. I am sure that this deed back will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as well as strive to continuously improve and maintain the quality of our services. Even we have such a positive feedback from you, we will never stop improvement our standard and services for your future stay and make your holiday perfect and a better day for your holiday vocation.

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galway, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We loved our stay at this hotel. It was incredibly friendly, clean and the location was perfect. The staff couldn't have been nicer. The pool is very big and has a bar located conveniently next to it. The rooms are very large and clean with lovely ensuites. They were very accommodating to us and gave us joining rooms so our party could stay close together. We didn't eat here very much aside from breakfast and that was quite good. Couldn't recommend this hotel enough. Amazing!!!

Room Tip: If you have more than 3 travelling in your group, you can ask for connecting rooms. They are very ac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Ms. Fiona,
Thank you for your sharing excellent comment regarding your stay at Samui vericolor.

Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our staff work hard to ensure that all guests leave with positive impression of our hotel,I will pass on the positive comments to all department.
and hope to take care of you again in the near future

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Almaty, Kazakhstan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed 10 nights, and remained very happy with this lovely time. The room was very nice, swimming pool was perfect and the design is very modern. Special thanks to manager, Mr. Yod, who found good decision for our request. Good quality for good money. Hotel has a realy successful location - in the middle of Chaveng. Also it has transfer to the beach near Resotel with clean white sand and comfortable sunbeds.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam

Thank you for your sharing excellent comment regarding your stay at Samui vericolor.

Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our staff work hard to ensure that all guests leave with positive impression of our hotel,I will pass on the positive comments to all department.
and hope to take care of you again in the near future.
and also i am pleased to Thank you for remember me and my name.
Wish you have a good day all the time.

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casier, Italy
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

This is a good hotel, with a very good Relation price/quality.
The service is very gentle, the laundry service is really quick (also the standard).
The only thing, is that The floor in the room were not cleaned by the room service. The toilet was clean, nothing to complain.
Excepting that, I find the hotel very good for the category.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Mr. Zometta,Damiano

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
for not clean in the floor of your room from our room service that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for one night, and have to say the room is lovely, and the hotel is nice and modern. It also has a lovely pool and poolside bar. Having stayed further up chaweng beach before I didn't find the location excellent. You walk past a building site on your way in and it's a good 10/15 min walk into the centre of chaweng. Having said all that the hotel is very nice and it's quite so you should get a good nights sleep. Wifi only available in reception.

Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 31, 2013
Dear Value guest,

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to fill in our guest comment form in tripadvisor and for your kind input. We also would like to thank you for having chosen Samui Verticolor for your recent vacation.
I also sincerely apologise that you felt your vacation with us was not the ultimate,
our internet access that you had hoped for. In your particular case, our services were obviously insufficient to ensure a pleasurable stay at our hotel.
and pleased accept my apologize for our hotel a bit so far from the centre.

Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We stayed 5 nights in this hotel. The staff were so good to us and advised and helped us with all our queries.As there was 5 of us we requested rooms close to each other - the manager was able to give us connecting rooms which was fantastic. Rooms were very clean, spacious and bright. Bed clothes and towels were changed daily and bins emptied. Fab pool. Walking distance from centre.Close to beach, shopping area and restaurants. 2 weeks later we stayed in this hotel again for 1 night as we enjoyed our first stay so much!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiVerticolor, General Manager at Samui Verticolor, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Family Bernard,

Thank you for your sharing excellent comment regarding your stay at Samui vericolor.

Concerning your comment about our service, Your feedback is very important to us on implementing hotel service standard and we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.
Our staff work hard to ensure that all guests leave with positive impression of our hotel,I will pass on the positive comments to all department.
and hope to take care all of your family in the near future
and please pass my letter to your twin daughter and Julian
Best regards,
Yodpetch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Verticolor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Verticolor

Address: 19/16 Moo 3, Haad Ngam Rd, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly The Verti Color Chaweng)
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Samui Verticolor 3*
Number of rooms: 151
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Colorful hotels location of the quiet Southern section of Chaweng Beach with 152 building room well equipped, elegantly appointed guestrooms offering spectacular mountain and sea view for a refined retreat and relaxed swimming pool holiday experience. Well placed in the beaches area of Samui city, Samui Verticolor provides a most conducive spot for you to take a break from your busy days. The hotel lies 1.0 kilomater from the city center and provides accessibility to important town facilities, for those of you who want to venture out, The Samui Institute of Thai Culinary Arts, Thai Boxing Stadium, Pru Chaweng are just some of the attractions available to visitors. The Samui Verticolor is a 15 minute drive from Lamai Beach and Samui Airport. The Big Buddha Temple is a 20 minute drive awayThe hotel offers a restaurant. Complimentary wireless Internet access is available in public areas and an Internet point is located on site. The staff can provide tour/ticket assistance, tour assistance to explore the surrounding area, and translation services. Additional amenities include a fitness facility, laundry facilities, and room service (during limited hours). For a surcharge, guests have access to a roundtrip airport shuttle during limited hours. Guest parking is complimentary. A total renovation of this property was completed in November 2011.Important thing we do have free shuttle bus two times per day to sister hotel Samui Resotel and Chaweng Cove to relax at the beach club. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Samui Verticolor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Verticolor Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Verticolor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.