We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good basic accommodation, good location.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow

Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow to your Saves list
Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   132 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
West Coast
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good basic accommodation, good location.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Great location, minute walk to beach and town. Not noisy. We went for the top kind of room. Was basic, bathroom a bit dated, but clean and cheap. Pool was good, always clean. Good food, reasonable prices. Curries are very good! Would stay again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    8
    5
    1
    1
See reviews for
1
7
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2013

Rattana is great value for money. The owners are friendly and helpful and the rooms are clean and affordable. Short one minute walk to the main road aswell as a short one minute walk to the beach.

What stands out here is the incredible food. The woman in the kitchen is a magician with curries especially. Even after i left Rattana for another guesthouse in chewang, i would still come back here every morning for the yellow pineapple and shrimp curry.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Great location. Room basic but clean, bathroom is very dated. We stayed here in feb 2013 for 5 nights. We have come to koh phangan but have decided to go back to rattana for the rest of our holiday. The location is great, near the beaches and bars but set back so is quiet at night. Pool area is nice and always clean! Staff very helpful and do a nice breakfast!

I recommend for anyone on a budget especially young couples

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2012

We originally were thinking about staying at the O.P Bungalows next door but had noticed Rattana after not been happy at O.P.
We got a great walk up deal, 900 baht a/c room. The guesthouse also has a great pool which is very clean.
Location is a quieter section of the beach and easy walking to bars and restaurants. It's also only 1 minute walk to the beach.
Like a lot of hotels on this beach you will hear planes, though I cannot remember 1 before 9:20am.
Service is good once you get round the language barrier as it seems only 1 person speaks english.
Overall very happy with the value.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow

Address: 132 Moo 2, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda and Odigeo so you can book your Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rattana Guesthouse & Bungalow, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.