We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic choice !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Akyra Chura Samui

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Akyra Chura Samui to your Saves list
Akyra Chura Samui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Happening Tuesdays
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
New York City, New York
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic choice !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

The islands in Thailand are an absolute paradise but no matter how beautiful a place may be, it’s the people around you who can determine how the real experience will become.

First heard about Akyra from my younger brother who stayed there in October 2013. His warm recommendations of almost anything about the place have created very high expectations for me which, to my surprise, were actually all topped by the real experience.

The staff (each and every one of them) is beyond just professional and kind, they are truly amazing. They’ve made sure, throughout our entire stay and always with a smile, that we are fully satisfied.

The hotel is in a great location on Chaweng Beach, just a short few minutes’ drive from the airport and I would warmly recommend renting a motorcycle which will get you easily and in no time to anywhere around the island.

The rooms are spacious modern and clean. The outdoor round bathtub (in the One Bedroom suit) is a unique and highly recommended experience.

Lastly, the pool and of course, the beach, are super clean and above all other things - quiet. This makes a HUGE difference to anyone seeking an ultimate relaxing vacation.

I would recommend this hotel to anyone visiting Samui and not even think twice.

Will definitely come back here.

Room Tip: The one bedroom suits are significantly larger, quieter and closer to the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Eyalms,

Greeting from akyra team.

We are very happy to read that you have enjoyed and relax at our resort.

Thank you very much for this wonderful review and hope to welcome you again in our property.

If you need any assistance for future booking please do not hesitate to contact me at rm.akks@theakyra.com.

Best regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

576 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    190
    51
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
337
33
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chiang Mai, Thailand
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

This Hotel has a Japanese theme which explains the "spartan" rooms. But being all done in stone gives it a really different feel. I liked it! However, the room we booked was, presumably, a standard which provides little space - there was only a bedside table on ONE side and had to watch TV (the World Cup and Wimbeldon were on) from the bed - the view from the sofa was less than ideal. But, the overall experience was excellent. The breakfast buffet was more than adequate, the Noodle Bar was good and the 3 beach restaurants next door were fantastic - cheap and delicious - from the Happy Hours between 3pm and 9pm and the Seafood Platters - OMG!! It was hard to patronize the Hotel when the places next door offered such cheap alternatives. It is a bit of a walk to town but the beach is easy to walk along too - although the tide was a problem at the north end because it was a long walk to the deeper water. But I can't fault the cleanliness of the water and beach and the standard of our Hotel Pool overlooking the Beach - just fantastic! And Kudos to the staff - from May, the Receptionist to the boys at the Pool and Bar - just wonderful people.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 6, 2014
Dear Robert,

Greeting from akyra chura Samui,

Thank you very much for having spent the time of writing us this great review.

We are trying to compete as much as we can with our neighbors as you mentioned it and it’s a difficult war. But as you mentioned we are trying to give the best value for money in terms of service excellence and product quality.

We hope to welcome you again with us and if so please e mail me directly at rm.akks@theakyra.com for best available rate.

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

Stayed for one night only between koh panghan and uk. Our room was absolutely fine but the minimalist finish was not really to our taste.

We ate in the restaurant and had some difficulty making ourselves understood. The food was ok but nothing compared to the other hotels we stayed at in Thailand.

The main issue we had was not with the hotel but with the area - it is seedy to say the least and we felt totally disappointed. So much so that we ended up going to a local shop and buying a couple of yogurts and some beers and going back to the room. This was not how we had wished to end our wonderful holiday.

We would recommend exploring other areas of koh samui before choosing Chaweng - possibly Fisherman's Village would be a better option

Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 7, 2014
Dear Westwoodsiders,

Greeting from akyra chura.

We are glad to read that you enjoyed your stay with us but the room and the area were not to your taste.

Chaweng is the main area of koh samui and we are luckily located at the north quiet part of it which is the reason why most of our guest picked us.

We do hope to welcome you again and if so please e mail at rm.akks@theakyra.com, also if you do have any additional comments please send them to me directly.

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
minneapolis
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

My husband and I stayed here for eight days this past March. We chose this hotel for two primary reasons 1. No kids 2. plenty of lounge chairs on beach w/ umbrellas. We were not disappointed with our decision...at all! The rooms were lovely and they had made a special arrangement on the bed in honor of our anniversary. The room we stayed in was near the gym facilities so it was a hike to the beach, the advantage was our patio was completely private....those on the beach had lots of foot traffic. We also liked the DVD rental....sometimes you just get tired and want a night in!

The pool and beach areas are well kept and we never had an issue getting a set of chairs (in shade!) and there are plenty of fresh towels. The bar service wasn't bad either....though they cost is much higher than outside the hotel which is expected. The gym facility was clean and equipment was updated.

The only negative was the breakfast. It wasn't bad, but it wasn't good and the service was horrible. Tons of flies all over the food too....I know, I know it is a tropical place but so was everywhere else we stayed in Thailand and we didn't have that issue at hotels 1/3 the price.

The hotel also arranged to have a cake in our room for my husband's birthday which was very nice touch.

Would we stay again? Probably not...a little overpriced for the accommodations. Did we enjoy our stay? Absolutely...we walked down the beach at night to go out and lounged by the ocean all day!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Tandoori,

Greeting from akyra chura Samui.

We would like to thank you for having taken the time to write us this great review and we do hope to welcome you again.

If you wish to return please contact me directly at rm.akks@theakyra.com

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We have enjoyed 12 days at Akyra and couldn't fault our stay in the One Bedroom Seaview Villas!
Seph, the Acting Manager, is an absolute asset to Akyra and did anything he could to make our stay as perfect as it could be. Thanks Seph! It was our 12 year old son's birthday and they arrived at his villa door with a beautiful cake in hand, singing Happy Birthday. A very much appreciated added touch!

Room Tip: Seaview villas worth the little bit extra
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Davis,

Greeting from Koh Samui.

Thank you very much for your comments and i will definitely share it with Seph.

If you or friends are planning on returning to Koh Samui please mail directly for best available deal at rm.akks@theakyra.com

Best regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

We stayed for 2 nights - 1 night each side of a 7 night holiday in Koh Phangan - and had 2 different experiences as part of our honeymoon. First of all we have to say the hotel overall is beautiful and well maintained, fantastic beach and lovely pool (though a bit small) with very friendly and helpful staff. Our first room was...ok. The decor is rustic and the hotel was clean however the bathroom reminded us of a public toilet - in smell and appearance. If we were staying for more than one night we would have asked to move room. The night we stayed on our way back from Koh Phangan was much better - being upgraded to one of their largest rooms which was beautiful, clean and 10 times better than our first room. We ate at the restaurant once, the food was nice however the staff could have been a bit more attentive - more so considering we were the only ones in the restaurant! Overall a nice place however glad we were only staying 2 nights. Would recommend on the basis of the larger room.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the larger rooms slightly away from the pool as the music they play can be loud if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Mr & Mrs M,

Greeting from Koh Samui.

Thank you for having taken the time to share with us your comments and We will ensure to improve on those specifics points.

If there is anything else we could do for you please do not hesitate to e mail me at rm.akks@theakyra.com

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

We really couldn't recommend this resort enough! The staff were wonderful, very welcoming, very helpful, the rooms were beautiful and spacious, all close to the beach, just 3 minute walk max depending on where you're located. A great hotel if your wanting a quite getaway without the noise from the kids nor expensive beach side prices!
We will without a doubt be using them again if we choose to return to Koh Samui, no complaints at all

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear Marissa,

Hello from sunny Samui.

On behalf of the team we would like to thanks you for this great review and we hope to welcome you again in our resort.

If so please e mail me directly at rm.akks@theakyra.com

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Akyra Chura Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akyra Chura Samui

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akyra Chura Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the intoxicating blend of a luxurious, yet spirited, lifestyle resort with Koh Samui’s wildly beautiful beaches at akyra Chura Samui. Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel, 61 stylish suites and rooms designed with exceptionally comfortable beds, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Akyra Chura Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akyra Chura Samui Hotel Chaweng
Akyra Chura Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akyra Chura Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.