We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what i expected” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akyra Chura Samui

Save Saved
You added Akyra Chura Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akyra Chura Samui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Not what i expected”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

The hotel was less than what we had expected in regards to previous comments. We were offered a room on the ground level which you can see everyone walk by there were also at least 10 mosquitos in the room when we arrived. We asked to be moved to a higher floor which was better. Breakfast was alright, nothing special, The location on the beach was nice and close to a few good restaurants which were very close. Staff were not that helpful when asking for recommendations on restaurants in the area. We also had a late flight and asked for a late check out and was told we couldn't as they had guest coming into that room however, the hotel was not full. It rained the day we were leaving so we had nowhere to go for 6 hours! All in all it was an o.k hotel however, the other hotels we stayed in when in thailand were better.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephane C, General Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 15, 2013
Dear Wyziws,

Greeting from akyra Samui.

Thank you very much for your comments as it will help us on improving the property.

I am very sorry to hear about your experience. Since your last visit we have done some major improvement in terms of room privacy and mosquitoes condition.

Concerning the late check-out we do offer it to customer with a half day charge upon request at the front desk.

I will be please to personally welcome you here again to witness all the improvements.

If there is anything I can do you could contact me directly via e mail at rm@theakyra.com.

Best Regards

Stephane C
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    148
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
260
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2013

I've never felt so chilled in my life as I did wen staying here room lovely styled open planned bathroom 2 sink tropical shower lovely shampoo conditioner body moisturizers smelt amazing bathrobes n slippers provided balcony area brilliant to chill on sitting here listening to birds thought I was in the rain forest will definitely return not to b missed in quiet location but not far from main shops n hustle n bustle

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambridge
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
164 helpful votes 164 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

In the end we really liked this small hotel. When we first arrived it seemed plain & small, however the rooms were small but very clean & comfortable bed with reasonable facilities. We had an upper floor room which we preferred as the lower ones had a balcony with guests walking by. The pool looked a bit murky but seemed ok & leaves etc were cleared regularly, sunbeds always seemed available. Was nice to sit by the pool & look out over the sea. Breakfast was ample & choice good for a hotel catering for small number of guests. It is a bit on the edge of the main town but that was ok for us & could jump on one of the transport open trucks which only cost about 50p each. Staff were all very friendly & helpful. Generally a good hotel if you like small hotels rather than large ones.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Antwerp, Antwerpen, Belgium
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Very quiet, peacefull hotel in the noorth of Chaweng Beach. Just 10 minutes walk to the center of Chaweng where you can find the noise, the shops and the bars.
Great atmosphere for relaxing. The staff is very friendly and helpfull. The hotel itself is very well maintained. No old paint or whatsoever. The garden/ walkingarea is also beautiful and very well maintained.
I would recommend this hotel to people (couples) who want to relax in the day and don't mind to walk a little (or take a bemo) for getting to shops etc.
We have not tried the restuarant, but it looks great and romantic in the evening on the beach.
I had a great suit made in the hotel boutique.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2013

Hotel is lovely and staff couldnt do more to assist. Rooms spacious and clean. Close to airport and no noisy planes flying over the hotel. Pool lovely, restaurant amazing! My only critism is the beech had washed up debris on daily basis however this is cleaned up daily by staff. Made me realise how messy us humans are!! Keep the oceans clean people!! Beach 100 meters down from the hotel is much nicer. 10 min walk from Chaweng town. Noisy at night as a result of bar next door. Despite this we had a great stay and a fantastic holiday!! (we stayed for 6 nights). Breakfast was yummy!!

Room Tip: It appeared that pool side/sea view rooms were limited.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen,Scotland
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

We upgraded our room before leaving the UK to Grand Deluxe Seaview and were very grateful that we had- many of the other rooms would seem to be very dark (although some might say shaded). As it was though, our room was great- beautiful view over the pool to the beach, literally a stones throw away. Being on the first floor we had the advantage of a refreshing breeze from the sea right on to our veranda - much appreciated in the intense heat. The décor is Japanese style minimalist, which is initially a bit disconcerting, but after a day or so we began to appreciate the functional simplicity. Good sized bed ,couch, TV etc plus a large wet room with a great shower (no bath though) and a large veranda with comfy seats and table.
Staff were great, very friendly and helpful and the breakfast was fine.
As we often do, on our first night we ate in the hotel- in the Japanese themed restaurant. Sadly this was a real disappointment - the food was really nothing special and (compared to many other restaurants nearby) overpriced. This seems to me to be the one real problem here, there are so many other places to eat that the slightly elitist feel of the restaurant might put many off. Perhaps they could concentrate less on the emphasis on their fine wine cellar and more on the
accessibility of their food.
Back to the location - the hotel is situated on the northern edge of Chaweng which for us was perfect - far enough away from the touristy main drag, but an easy walk along the beautiful beach if you wanted to get into the bars and clubs(literally ten minutes). I've seen criticisms of the beach on these pages but have to say for us the standard was very high, cleaned daily and so nice that we swam in the sea rather than the pool. The sun loungers were always well kept and we had no problem obtaining a space provided we were there before 11 am or so. Taxis in the town are abundant and very reasonable provided you agree a price before hand - ten pounds or so for ten miles seemed about average - unheard of at home!.

Room Tip: Can only speak for ours - room 202 was great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2013

Spent 12 nights here in Feb this year.... We had booked , through Trailfinders, a 'Grand Delux Double room, first floor and near to the sea. On arrival we were shown to a ground floor room , near the back of the hotel, and worst of all , as you opened the room door , the smell of 'damp' was overpowering....We refused to take this room, explaining why. They eventually found us a first floor room,again at the back of the hotel, overlooked by the dining room, ( no privacy at all ) and as far away from the sea as was possible. AND again NOT what we had booked. It wasn't until the 6th day that we eventually got the type of room we had paid the extra money for.
What we couldn't understand was ,on the day we arrived, we had booked in early, .(.before anyone else..) ....why we couldn't have been allocated the correct type of room straight away because we know there were vacant rooms available !!!.
Even the manager, who we believe is English, was not very helpful until pushed.
However...we enjoyed our time here, the rooms are very clean, the staff polite, and the setting ideal.

Room Tip: Beware of the 'damp ' smelling rooms !!!!..someone else has mentioned the problem so we are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akyra Chura Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akyra Chura Samui

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akyra Chura Samui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the intoxicating blend of a luxurious, yet spirited, lifestyle resort with Koh Samui’s wildly beautiful beaches at akyra Chura Samui. Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel, 61 stylish suites and rooms designed with exceptionally comfortable beds, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Akyra Chura Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akyra Chura Samui Hotel Chaweng
Akyra Chura Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akyra Chura Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.