We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We made the right choice!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Akyra Chura Samui

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Akyra Chura Samui to your Saves list
Akyra Chura Samui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Happening Tuesdays
Ranked #10 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“We made the right choice!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2012 via mobile

During our stay on 27-31 May, we were so glad that we have picked this hotel.
Well deserve the rating!
Airport transfer service: after we gone thru the immigration n luggage pick up, the driver is already standing at the pick up point waiting for us. No matter with luggage assistance, the condition of the vehicle, or driver's greeting, everything are just so good. Only 5 mins drive and we arrived at the hotel!
Hotel Lobby: nice interior design, although it not big but good enough with comfortable atmosphere, waiting area with seating and warm colors cushions. Refreshing towels and nice welcome drinks were delivered upon our arrival. However Check in time was a bit too long, took 25 mins until the whole thing is completed.
We stay at ur Grand deluxe room, it's bigger than we saw on the website, to us it's like a 1 bedroom suite, day curtain installed. Seating room with dining tables & chairs, TV with DVD players. Very impressive! Small Sofa keep slide down, not comfortable tho!
Bedroom, again is big! The bed n pillows r so so sooo comfortable. TV & DVD players are also available in the bedroom. The safe was not functioning, we told house keeping when they clean our room but no one ever follow up with that! Daily cleaning at the room: we did hav doubts whether the floor were swiped.
There were water on the floor near both bedroom and seating room window when we arrived. Not sure if it is a leak after the rain but the staff who escort us found out before we do and arranged someone to clean it right away.
Bathroom is nice with that space I don't understand why there are no bathtub on the plan when u build it. A little disappointed only 1bedroom suite have bathtub.
Big balcony but the floor was sticky.
Breakfast was not bad, i like the Fried eggs&ommelets fresh made on request.
2 mins walk to the Pool, it is small but good enough for us, very nice view facing the beach. Beach is great but not for ideal for swimming. Nice and quite location but only 15 mins walk to central.
Japanese restaurant is great, the sushi rice were abit too soft but taste very yummy especially the spicy tuna roll!
Check out procedure was simple and quick!
Overall is still very good and we did enjoy our stay with you.

  • Stayed May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, June 7, 2012
Dear EvelynLau,

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui & thank you for taking time to share your experiences with us regarding your recent stay with us at the resort. All the comments raised with in your review are shared with the whole team at the resort. I have made note on the points raised during your stay in terms of check in & the rooms. With regards to the point on not being able to swim in the sea, the tide at present is very low, due to the seasonal changes in the weather.

Once again thank you for staying with us & we look forward to welcoming you back, to the akyra Chura Samui

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

574 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    189
    50
    17
    7
See reviews for
37
336
33
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (152)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2012

Friendly staff, clean hotel. About 20-30 minutes walk to/from Chaweng Centre (100B for two ppl) with Songtheauw. Quiet strech of beach. Pool is on the small side.

Room has hairdryer, fridge but could have provided more floor towels. No bathtub. Fabulous mattress. I have deluxe room with a big balcony with a bit of seaview. No lift.

Good selection at breakfast - 2 local dishes and the usual western affair. The prics of small beer is about 12THB. Not cheap. Afterall it is a mid-high range hotel.

Spa has only two masseurs, so I am not able to get a slot on the day itself. Too bad.

Japanese decor makes it looks chic but it is definitely lacking the luxurious feeling.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 30, 2012
Dear roslina,

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui, & we thank you for staying with us & the feed back on your stay with us, which we share with our team at the resort, on the cleanness & the service offered.
We are sorry that you where un - able to experience a massage at our spa.

With regards to the pricing of our beverages, they are set at a competitive rate within the area of Chawing. As a side note to this, all our prices in Food & Beverage, from the 1st July 2012, will be inclusive of service charge & local prevailing government taxes.

Once again thank you for staying with us

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2012

Amazing hotel, all hotel employers were extremely nice , amazing pool, spa, sushi and rooms.
No vegtables at breakfast abit dissapointed.
Well enjoyed

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 24, 2012
Dear doveram,

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui, we thank you for staying with us on your recent holiday in Koh Samui & taking time to share your holiday experiences with us. We value your feed back given & have taken not on the points.

Once again, thank you for staying with us.

Warm Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out from the akyra hotel in koh samui - we paid the upgrade to a one bedroom suite with sea view looking for a touch of luxury after a hectic three nights in Bangkok and four in Phuket.

The hotel markets itself as luxury - I'm afraid in my opinion they fail to deliver on that score. I did see the size and layout of the hotel's standard rooms and am glad we chose an upgrade as I am certain my score for the hotel would be much less if not in the suite.

Although a good size I feel the designers of the hotel and these one bedroom suites in particular did not design and build the rooms with the guests in mind...

The lounge area of the suites consists of a padded area with loose cushions against a concrete wall - far from comfortable.

We do not go on holiday to watch tv but it is a nice facility to have however the designer of the hotel chose to place the tv on a wooden cabinet that is only visible of sitting on the very uncomfortable padded area - if you sit in bed you will not be watching tv in these rooms!!! I am not suggesting the room have two rooms but for a relatively new hotel why not have the tv fixed to a turntable?

The bathroom in a one bedroom suite is out doors and includes rain shower over bath, separate shower and his / her sinks - a nice touch but in mosquito season each time you went to / from the bathroom you had to slide a door open giving the mosquito free path into your room. The hotel do supply a plug in repellant and a citronella burner for the exterior but neither is particularly effective. Also who'se idea was it to put only cold water at the two sinks in the bathroom??? When I shave or wash hands I like to have the option of hot water!!!

Pool area is adequate but the hotel has no facilities for families and I was surprised to see young children playing in the pool when couples were trying to relax - the hotel website states it is "Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel" if they plan to achieve this they seriously need to consider having a policy of children over a certain age.

The hotel states two restaurants and can say we had a fantastic meal at the hotel's Japanese restaurant which the chef should be commended however the other restaurant is actually a couple of tables set up next to the pool and the rest on the beach. Lunch was fair at this restaurant but we didn't opt to go for dinner here.

Breakfast was adequate but either from a supply issue or cost saving exercise bacon was only available for two days breakfast at the end of our stay?

The hotel is relatively clean however we had a very good room attendant for most of the stay but on one day she was replaced by a younger member of staff who scarcely touched the room.

Areas for the management to look at would be for a senior member of staff to check room cleanliness before a room attendant says it is clean. Our room had light bulbs out and a broken plug on arrival - although quickly fixed a check earlier in the day before guests check in would be an idea.

Ir management read this review also look at the beach towels provided - they are of a poor quality and never smell particularly clean...

There are masses of hotels and resorts in koh samui with more added all the time - would I stay at akyra chura? Probably not for the money paid and issues stated.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear tim-bpool.

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui
And thank you for staying with us & the feedback given, with regards to your recent stay with us.

I have gone through your review, on your points raised in order to discuss the suggestions with our team, on the TV set up, cushions, points on the bathroom & the room cleanliness, along with the other points on breakfast & beach set up, towels & with regards the age of children in the resort.

We do appreciate the comments made, with regards Suikin restaurant.

Thank you again, for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Warm Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Spending both solo time & with family at Akyra the friendly & efficient staff were very welcoming & made my/our stay a great experience. The rooms were v. clean & comfortable (love the extra free soft drink cans & water in the fridge a nice touch) & the bathroom products were excellent being some of the best experienced across Asia. .Although April is mosquito season (& these initially posed a problem in the room) suggest net background screening all the bathroom window as this would assist in eliminating this issue. Breakfast was excellent & the staff present each day were great, especially appreciated when travelling solo. The bar on the beach was a disaster & embarassing when having friends over for drinks. Obvious lack of experience in mixing cocktails/bar etiquette was present. 'Happy hour' or 2 for 1 usually means 2 drinks of your choice for the group at the price of one not, given two drinks of the same choice to scull quickly oneself as warm cocktails are a no, no! Be aware that this great resort is on the side of a steep hill & consists of many steps to access the street level as I noted some senior people having a fitness struggle. Pool is small & often too kiddie friendly but the beach is superb. On the beach in front is really wonderful, security on site & lack of hassling. Easy access to shopping, beaches, spas, restaurants all excellent. All in all I/we would definitely return to Akyra for a chilled out vacation in a caring environment

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear HelenaNZ

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui

Thank you for staying with us & the feedback offered during your recent stay with us.
I have made a note on the points raised on the bathroom windows & the service offered
with regards to the service of beverages & we appreciate the constitutive feed back given.

Thank you again, for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Warm Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay @ Akyra - rooms were simple but modern, staff were very friendly & the breakfast was great. only issue is the holding deposit, which they hold for the entire stay, and then debit your card for the full stay 4 days after you leave, which we weren't too happy about, but the actual hotel itself is stunning. We expected a little more considering we had booked for our honeymoon, but that is a minor matter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear CarlyBillingham.

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui & thank you for your feed back, on your recent stay with us, & your points raised to the set up of the resort & the service offered from our team.
With regards to taking the deposit on your arrival at the resort, this is a standard practise, followed across the world in resorts in hotel, for services & dining during the guest stay.

Once again, thank you for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've stayed at Akyra Chura Samui for 10 wonderful nights! The place itself is amazing -- designed somewhat in a Japanese style, very very clean, with very pleasant rooms that each has a balcony. The overall atmosphere of the place is very relaxing, airy and clean.
The swimming pool is just a meter over the sea shore, all within maximum 2 minutes walk from whatever room you're in. The staff is extremely kind and helpful -- at the reception, through house keeping, restaurant and pool bar staff. The hotel is located some 10 minutes walk from the 'center' of Chaweng beach. You could easily walk or take a kind of a taxi that runs back and forth the Chaweng beach for 50 baht per person. So everything is very accessible but you're a bit distanced from the noisy clubs and drunk tourists :-).
Being with our 2-year-old child we were a bit concerned about distances, accessibility, the size of the room etc. Akyra Chura turned out to be just perfect! Upon our arrival the room was already set the way we've asked it to be. When we've asked for a bigger room a couple of nights later, we were able to move into one in just a few hours, with no extra charge for the upgrade. The place is very clean (I know I'm repeating myself but that's really important when travelling with a toddler), the food was great and fairly priced. The staff, the location, the setting, the swimming pool, the food – was just great!
Great hotel, great people, great vacation!

Room Tip: All rooms have AC and a balcony. All clean and have heavy curtains to keep sunlight out when needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Lianne B,

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui, Thank you your your comments with regards the services offered during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay with us.all the feedback raised is shared with the team here.

once again thank you

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Akyra Chura Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akyra Chura Samui

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akyra Chura Samui 4*
Number of rooms: 62
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the intoxicating blend of a luxurious, yet spirited, lifestyle resort with Koh Samui’s wildly beautiful beaches at akyra Chura Samui. Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel, 61 stylish suites and rooms designed with exceptionally comfortable beds, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Akyra Chura Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akyra Chura Samui Hotel Chaweng
Akyra Chura Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akyra Chura Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.