We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Just average - expected much more” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akyra Chura Samui

Save Saved
You added Akyra Chura Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akyra Chura Samui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Just average - expected much more”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012 via mobile

Just checked out from the akyra hotel in koh samui - we paid the upgrade to a one bedroom suite with sea view looking for a touch of luxury after a hectic three nights in Bangkok and four in Phuket.

The hotel markets itself as luxury - I'm afraid in my opinion they fail to deliver on that score. I did see the size and layout of the hotel's standard rooms and am glad we chose an upgrade as I am certain my score for the hotel would be much less if not in the suite.

Although a good size I feel the designers of the hotel and these one bedroom suites in particular did not design and build the rooms with the guests in mind...

The lounge area of the suites consists of a padded area with loose cushions against a concrete wall - far from comfortable.

We do not go on holiday to watch tv but it is a nice facility to have however the designer of the hotel chose to place the tv on a wooden cabinet that is only visible of sitting on the very uncomfortable padded area - if you sit in bed you will not be watching tv in these rooms!!! I am not suggesting the room have two rooms but for a relatively new hotel why not have the tv fixed to a turntable?

The bathroom in a one bedroom suite is out doors and includes rain shower over bath, separate shower and his / her sinks - a nice touch but in mosquito season each time you went to / from the bathroom you had to slide a door open giving the mosquito free path into your room. The hotel do supply a plug in repellant and a citronella burner for the exterior but neither is particularly effective. Also who'se idea was it to put only cold water at the two sinks in the bathroom??? When I shave or wash hands I like to have the option of hot water!!!

Pool area is adequate but the hotel has no facilities for families and I was surprised to see young children playing in the pool when couples were trying to relax - the hotel website states it is "Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel" if they plan to achieve this they seriously need to consider having a policy of children over a certain age.

The hotel states two restaurants and can say we had a fantastic meal at the hotel's Japanese restaurant which the chef should be commended however the other restaurant is actually a couple of tables set up next to the pool and the rest on the beach. Lunch was fair at this restaurant but we didn't opt to go for dinner here.

Breakfast was adequate but either from a supply issue or cost saving exercise bacon was only available for two days breakfast at the end of our stay?

The hotel is relatively clean however we had a very good room attendant for most of the stay but on one day she was replaced by a younger member of staff who scarcely touched the room.

Areas for the management to look at would be for a senior member of staff to check room cleanliness before a room attendant says it is clean. Our room had light bulbs out and a broken plug on arrival - although quickly fixed a check earlier in the day before guests check in would be an idea.

Ir management read this review also look at the beach towels provided - they are of a poor quality and never smell particularly clean...

There are masses of hotels and resorts in koh samui with more added all the time - would I stay at akyra chura? Probably not for the money paid and issues stated.

Stayed May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear tim-bpool.

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui
And thank you for staying with us & the feedback given, with regards to your recent stay with us.

I have gone through your review, on your points raised in order to discuss the suggestions with our team, on the TV set up, cushions, points on the bathroom & the room cleanliness, along with the other points on breakfast & beach set up, towels & with regards the age of children in the resort.

We do appreciate the comments made, with regards Suikin restaurant.

Thank you again, for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Warm Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    148
    40
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
261
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2012

Spending both solo time & with family at Akyra the friendly & efficient staff were very welcoming & made my/our stay a great experience. The rooms were v. clean & comfortable (love the extra free soft drink cans & water in the fridge a nice touch) & the bathroom products were excellent being some of the best experienced across Asia. .Although April is mosquito season (& these initially posed a problem in the room) suggest net background screening all the bathroom window as this would assist in eliminating this issue. Breakfast was excellent & the staff present each day were great, especially appreciated when travelling solo. The bar on the beach was a disaster & embarassing when having friends over for drinks. Obvious lack of experience in mixing cocktails/bar etiquette was present. 'Happy hour' or 2 for 1 usually means 2 drinks of your choice for the group at the price of one not, given two drinks of the same choice to scull quickly oneself as warm cocktails are a no, no! Be aware that this great resort is on the side of a steep hill & consists of many steps to access the street level as I noted some senior people having a fitness struggle. Pool is small & often too kiddie friendly but the beach is superb. On the beach in front is really wonderful, security on site & lack of hassling. Easy access to shopping, beaches, spas, restaurants all excellent. All in all I/we would definitely return to Akyra for a chilled out vacation in a caring environment

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear HelenaNZ

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui

Thank you for staying with us & the feedback offered during your recent stay with us.
I have made a note on the points raised on the bathroom windows & the service offered
with regards to the service of beverages & we appreciate the constitutive feed back given.

Thank you again, for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Warm Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We really enjoyed our 5 night stay @ Akyra - rooms were simple but modern, staff were very friendly & the breakfast was great. only issue is the holding deposit, which they hold for the entire stay, and then debit your card for the full stay 4 days after you leave, which we weren't too happy about, but the actual hotel itself is stunning. We expected a little more considering we had booked for our honeymoon, but that is a minor matter.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 7, 2012
Dear CarlyBillingham.

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui & thank you for your feed back, on your recent stay with us, & your points raised to the set up of the resort & the service offered from our team.
With regards to taking the deposit on your arrival at the resort, this is a standard practise, followed across the world in resorts in hotel, for services & dining during the guest stay.

Once again, thank you for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui.

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2012

We've stayed at Akyra Chura Samui for 10 wonderful nights! The place itself is amazing -- designed somewhat in a Japanese style, very very clean, with very pleasant rooms that each has a balcony. The overall atmosphere of the place is very relaxing, airy and clean.
The swimming pool is just a meter over the sea shore, all within maximum 2 minutes walk from whatever room you're in. The staff is extremely kind and helpful -- at the reception, through house keeping, restaurant and pool bar staff. The hotel is located some 10 minutes walk from the 'center' of Chaweng beach. You could easily walk or take a kind of a taxi that runs back and forth the Chaweng beach for 50 baht per person. So everything is very accessible but you're a bit distanced from the noisy clubs and drunk tourists :-).
Being with our 2-year-old child we were a bit concerned about distances, accessibility, the size of the room etc. Akyra Chura turned out to be just perfect! Upon our arrival the room was already set the way we've asked it to be. When we've asked for a bigger room a couple of nights later, we were able to move into one in just a few hours, with no extra charge for the upgrade. The place is very clean (I know I'm repeating myself but that's really important when travelling with a toddler), the food was great and fairly priced. The staff, the location, the setting, the swimming pool, the food – was just great!
Great hotel, great people, great vacation!

Room Tip: All rooms have AC and a balcony. All clean and have heavy curtains to keep sunlight out when needed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Dear Lianne B,

Greetings from the akyra Chura Samui, Thank you your your comments with regards the services offered during your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that your family had an enjoyable stay with us.all the feedback raised is shared with the team here.

once again thank you

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in a deluxe room at Akyra for 8 nights along with 4 other friends. All in all we had a lovely visit, Akyra is close to both the main strip in Samui (Chaweng Beach Road) and just a stones throw away to the beach. They have 2 resturants of their own in the resort, one serving a fantastic buffet breakfast each morning which is included in your room price. They are also very close to many more resturants that are along the beach, you'll find most things are within walking distance and the staff were always friendly with most speaking a bit of english which can make the world of difference in Thailand :) Only downside we found was that the pool area is quite small and there were never enough pool chairs to accomodate even 1/2 the guests of the hotel. But with the beach a couple of metres away it didnt seem to bother too many people, definitely recommend if you want a quiet place to relax with the option of being in the heart of the city within a short tuk tuk ride

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, April 26, 2012
Dear Kellie B,

Many thanks for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui & the positive feed back revived, on your recent stay with us. We are glad to hear that you had a relaxing stay with us. We have noted the point with regards to space available, around the pool area & we are working on ways, to resolve this matter.

Warm regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wengepenge
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We have been staying for 10 days at the Akyra Chura Samui beginning of April 2012. The hotel is still very new and everything is in good shape. We have stayed in beach bungalow 107 and really enjoyed the space and design of the room and especially the open bathroom with the giant bathtub.
I have been reading the reports on tripadvisor and noticed that the managment has started to pick up the suggestions from the guests and have already taken care of a lot issues mentioned before....
All staff especially here to mention Bee have been very friendly and efficent. Housekeeping and gardeners did a great job too. Breakfast was a good variety and good qualtiy of the food. We also had lunch and dinner at the Barracuda restaurant at the beach and the Suikin Japanese restaurant. In both restaurants the quality of the food was very good, but also the prices are on the high side, especially since 10% service charge and 7% taxes are added to everything. If the they would like to have more guests dining with them they should offer special discounts for hotel guests as they do in other hotels. The Swimming pool was very nice and refreshing and we enjoyed hanging out there. The only thing we did not like was the beach and the water. The beach was dirty (although they did they best to clean in in front of the hotel ) and the water hat a lot of brown algae in it........

Room Tip: Go for the beach bungalows! The open air bathroom and the nice terrace is worth the extra.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Dear Wengepenge,

Many thanks for taking time, to share your feed back on your recent stay, with us at the akyra Chura Samui. The team here, are constantly striving to improve the services offered, to our guests, within the resort from the room set up, to the genuine Thai hospitably offered in all areas, & the special praise for K Bee in Food & Beverage.

Your point raised, on the 10 % service charge & 7 % government tax, this is a standard across all resorts & hotels across Thailand. We offer a range special offers in food & beverage through out the day within the resort, & also on our themed nights, in the ever completive market of Chawing.

With regards to the brown algae in the sea, we are striving to solve this concern, this is caused by the changing of the seasons that we are going through at this moment & tidily currents

Once again we appreciate your comments & feed back on the resort
& we look forward to welcoming you back, to the akyra Chura Samui

Kind Regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

We stayed here for one night of our honeymoon before transferring to Koh Phangan. The staff were absolutely fantastic, particularly the front of house staff. They were so warm, welcoming and couldn't do enough for us. Our room was ok, nothing fancy; functional for a one night stopover. It was meant to be a 'deluxe' room but was very small with a view of the room across the path. In my opinion the pool was much smaller than it seems on the website. The hotel is in a very quiet area. I can't comment on the restaurant food as we're too late to have dinner so we had a drink a few doors up from the hotel on the beach. The breakfast was lovely and again the staff were fantastic. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for a honeymoon as, for us, it didn't have a wow factor.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RMakyra, Manager at Akyra Chura Samui, responded to this review, April 23, 2012
Dear CorkBride2Be2011

Thank you for staying with us at the akyra Chura Samui & taking time to share your feedback on the resort especially with regards the service of our team in the resort, have noted your comments on the room that you stayed in.

Thank you again

warm regards

Colin Healy I Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akyra Chura Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akyra Chura Samui

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akyra Chura Samui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the intoxicating blend of a luxurious, yet spirited, lifestyle resort with Koh Samui’s wildly beautiful beaches at akyra Chura Samui. Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel, 61 stylish suites and rooms designed with exceptionally comfortable beds, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Akyra Chura Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akyra Chura Samui Hotel Chaweng
Akyra Chura Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akyra Chura Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.