We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but not the right place for us” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Akyra Chura Samui

Save Saved
You added Akyra Chura Samui to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Akyra Chura Samui
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Bangkok
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not the right place for us”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2012

We were really looking forward to our stay here but found that it wasn't for us. We're traveling with two small kids, so most of the shortcomings I found were from that perspective. It's a nice, relaxing environment for that location, which is fairly close to the main Chaweng area. The place has a modern-in-the-tropics look, but it's a lot of gray concrete.

We stayed in the one-bedroom suite with an ocean view. It's the room nearest to the beach on the right side of the path. It was very nice to have two rooms to spread out a bit, and the front patio with the two sunbeds is a good place to lounge if you don't want to go to the beach or pool. It'd be a nice touch if they set up a water basins or jars to wash sand off your feet before going into the room. I can kind of see the attraction of an outdoor bathroom, but I'm not a fan. The water from the shower always ran into the area with the toilet, and I didn't want to get bitten by mosquitos out there.

Service was fine, most of the staff were friendly. The breakfast buffet had an adequate variety. We didn't try room service. Overall the place didn't wow me.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

445 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    240
    148
    39
    12
    6
See reviews for
28
260
22
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 12, 2012

Stayed in Feb 2012 and very pleased. From the moment you walk in you will be pleased. The hotel and rooms look like the internet shots. Great location, within walking distance to Chaweng, service is very helpful, attentive and unobtrusive. Very well designed and nice botique feel. Great varied breakfast. I recommend it as allot the other hotels along Chaweng are questionable or tired.
Will stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

If you like a boutique resort this is the place to be.It's located on the best part of Chaweng Beach,with good beach restaurants nearby.Great service,very attentive staff,nice modern rooms,good breakfast and fine cocktails at the swimming pool.That's all you need.The beach restaurant offers great food,a little more expensive,but worth the money.One tip,they have great housewines,reasonable priced (1100 Baht),a Chardonnay and a Shiraz.I would stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
117 reviews 117 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2012

Despite my callsign, I am no longer a "solo femme"--my husband and I travelled to Koh Samui and stayed at the Akyra. A solo friend travelled with us, securing a room of her own. Both rooms were spacious and had everything we needed. The bed was very comfortable, the sheets were clean and crisp, the TV was flat screen and had good channels, the patio was roomy and a fun place to hang out, the pool was beautiful, beach beautiful too--overall a really good find in Koh Samui. It's a short walk from bars, shopping, tattoo parlors and restaurants on the street side. On the beach side, there are awesome cheap massage services steps away from the hotel beachfront. We also enjoyed the restaurants on the beach side--excellent larb gai and steamed fresh fish next door. Breakfast was included and it was really good! They made us eggs however we wanted, plus there were plenty of local treats at the buffet. The staff set up a car service to take us touring, as well as set up an island hopping tour for us. We went in October 2011, just a few months after Akyra opened. Overall a great value and we recommend it.

Room Tip: Private pool villas looked awesome
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vilnius, Lithuania
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2012

We stayed at this hotel one week. Akyra is very nice hotel, everything is new and clean, cleaning staff does an amazing work every day, really. Has a private beach with new beach sunbeds (it stands out because all other hotels' sunbeds in Chaweng are very worn out...) and a pool. It also has a Japanese restaurant which is good, but a bit pricey.
You can also rent a scooter there at a very good price.
Room was very good except mosquitoes in the bathroom, you can smoke them out but it's still annoying. First day we got bitten pretty badly. Another con of the rooms are that they all face the path to the beach and to the restaurant which all guests of this hotel are walking, so if you want a privacy you must have the curtains closed at all times, otherwise everybody passing through can clearly see you in the room.
Despite these two inconveniencies everything else was satisfying and we really enjoyed our stay at this hotel.
But they could have the airport shuffle for free, cause taxis to the airport are ridiculously expensive, and the transportation hotel offered was even more ridiculously expensive.
To conclude however this is a fine choice in Ko Samui.

Room Tip: I'd advise to take a room on the second floor if you want more privacy (read my review why)
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2012

It's located in a quieter part of Chaweng but near enough to the center where restaurants, shopping etc can be found. Hotel is ideal for couples, stayed in the 1 bedroom suite, simple bedroom design but very comfortable, the bathroom is large and nice. Service is good, staff very helpful. There is a Thai massage opposite hotel which very good and inexpensive

Room Tip: Get suite nearer the beach, quiet and romantic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

We were really happy with this resort, and couldn't fault it. The service was 10/10 from start to finish; the rooms were so modern and clean and comfortable; the pool was great; great location just a 5 minute stroll from the start of the Chaweng strip of shops and restaurants but far enough away to not be too noisy or busy; great breakfast...we were so happy with our value for money we stayed back here another night in between islands on the same trip. Would definately recommend.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Akyra Chura Samui? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Akyra Chura Samui

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#7 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Akyra Chura Samui 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Celebrate the intoxicating blend of a luxurious, yet spirited, lifestyle resort with Koh Samui’s wildly beautiful beaches at akyra Chura Samui. Perfect for honeymoons, relaxation or just for rekindling your romance with travel, 61 stylish suites and rooms designed with exceptionally comfortable beds, ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, Splendia, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Expedia, HotelTravel.com and Venere so you can book your Akyra Chura Samui reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Akyra Chura Samui Hotel Chaweng
Akyra Chura Samui Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Akyra Chura Samui, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.