We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So handy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moby Dick Guesthouse

Moby Dick Guesthouse
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Moby Dick Guesthouse to your Saves list
Moby Dick Guesthouse
168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #49 of 62 Chaweng B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“So handy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

For young travellers who want a great located hotel and a good standard of rooms, this is where you need to stay! As a traveller, I have paid for and stayed in some pretty awful places. It's place made me feel as if I was on holiday. A table and chairs in our room was brilliant along with a fridge and storage area for our clothes. The bathroom was fine, trust me I've been in a lot worse. Shower was good pressure and enough room to wash. Bed was a little soft but ive travelled all over Vietnam in a sleeper bus so an form of bed is bliss for me! All nice and clean, no problems with the room, maybe a full length mirror could be good? But not a problem at all :)
Granted, you wouldn't want to stay here unless you like to party, I stayed here over New Years and it was excellent. Right next to all the clubs so we could roll in and out when ever we wanted.
The music is loud yes, but nothing headphones or another drink can't help!
The owners were also lovely :) helpful and cheery. The thai people who worked there were also lovely and smiley which does make a difference!
Great place for party go'ers or just generally fun people!

Room Tip: Book in advance!! That's what saved us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
Thank you ever so much for such a nice review. It makes me happy that some people take their time to write nice things about our guesthouse. We are located in the noisy night time entertainment area and we can't change that. But this is the right place if you want to party!! Thank you very much!! I wish you all the best where ever you are now!! Tuula Fitzpatrick and my staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    5
    4
    5
    9
See reviews for
Families
0
8
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I'm a 27 year old single male, I go to Thailand with the boys to take a much needed break from the stresses of work and let my hair down. I like to excessively drink, I like to party until the sun comes up and most days I'm getting out of bed as the sun is going down.. If that sounds like you then look no further than the moby dick! It's smack bang on soi green mango so in the heart of chawengs action and next to one of the biggest clubs on the island. Music is banging until at least 6am so don't think you're getting a good nights sleep unless you've passed out drunk or you're leaving the club as it closes!

As for the hotel itself, I'd say cheap and cheerful.. Don't expect the ritz but its clean and comfortable, air con, fridge, warm water and satellite tv for around 600bhat a night, bargain! A tip, if the rooms at the very top floor are free ask for these, they're bigger and there's a massive balcony area good for chilling out on!

The staff are absolutely amazing, from the owners right through to the cleaners.. So welcoming and accommodating and a good laugh. The bar area is well stocked and serves food and once you're friendly with them you can put your own music on the sound system and turn the place into your own little rave! They even put on a 21st birthday party for a mate of mines with balloons, cake, BBQ and curries.. Was a memorable night we won't forget (although it was pretty hazy!!)

I have stayed here 4 times now and can't wait to go back when I'm back in Thailand in February!

Thoroughly recommended!

James
England

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012

My son booked into the Moby Dick for 3 nights, on entering the room it was disgusting, beds looked like they had just been slept in dirty towels on floor etc. He was only out of his room the first night for a couple of hours when he returned is room had been broken into and his money,wallet and driving licence was stolen, he went down to report it to the owners and all they could say were sorry. i would not reccomend this guest house and don't let the pictures on the web site fool you.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chaiyaphum, Thailand
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2012

The rooms were unclean, the beds uncomfortable and the bathroom stank. There is no lift, so you have to carry your suitcases up lots of stairs. Don't be tempted by the price, because in the long run you will lose out. Surrounded by at least 5 bars there is nonstop club music until 6am. Our room was NEVER cleaned despite several requests.
Lastly, do NOT under ANY circumstance, no matter how desperate you are, book your travel from here. We were sent on a stressful journey that took us on taxis, tuk tuks, boats and buses back to Bangkok. When we got there, however, we found out our group had £600 cash, £200 in travellers' cheques, a passport, a digital camera and an ipad stolen while on the bus.
AVOID THIS PLACE AT ALL COSTS.

Room Tip: Don't book here! You'd be better off paying 50 baht more for somewhere away from the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tuulakohsamui, Owner at Moby Dick Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 9, 2013
I am very sad to get so bad review from our guesthouse. Since May 2012 things have changed. We have renovated all our rooms (November 2012) and they are lovely and clean, freshly painted, new mattresses and pillows, bedding and towels, new air-condition units and bathrooms are fixed and scrubbed. We are one of the cheapest places to stay in the central Chaweng with a short walking distance to everywhere. Unfortunately we are located in the heart of the night time entertainment area called Green Mango so its noisy. There is several bars and nightclubs around us. We are about 10 minutes walk away from the beach.
I am very sorry that you got robbed in the bus on the way to Bangkok. I will never book tickets from this bus company again. As a tip to everyone who is travelling in bus I would recommend you always to have a small bag with you to carry your valuables close to you and never but anything valuable in to your suitcases (even if you have lock on it).
If i remember right we did book you tickets to go Fullmoon party in Koh Phangan and that worked out ok.
I am very sorry you had so bad time in our guesthouse. All the best, Tuula and staff from Moby Dick Guesthouse
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Our first impression of this room was somewhat disappointing. The tv was faulty, the fridge had ants living in it, the electrical sockets hung of the wall, the bathroom door wouldn't close or lock properly, and then we found a used condom wrapper on the floor. A quick check under the bed revealed that the method of cleaning is just to sweep everything under there. The sheets and towels were stained, though we think washed!

Then at night it turns out you're next door to the latest opening, loudest club in town, and the sound insulation is poor, so even earplugs probably wont do the trick.

Believe it or not, you can kind of live with all this, and if you're in Chaweng to party, and want cheap accomodation, this place would do the trick. Otherwise, its a no go.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012

Ok rooms at decent rates which cater for the backpacker on a budget. However, the noise at night is loud! We both had ear plugs and could still hear the bass thumping through our ears!

Would also add that we went for a air con room (600 baht), as these rooms were on the floor above the pub and had access to the WiFi router (positioned in the bar), I would not recommend doing this - the WiFi is the worst I have ever used - off more times than it's on and when it did work it was slow!

In summary, good place to stay if you want no frills place, perfect if you plan on going out at night and sleep in the day! Hotel is located nearby all local bars and clubs.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2012

My freind had stayed at this hotel for five times previous years and always adviced it. It is not the ritz but it has everything you want from in thailand, aircondiditoing and chang when ever you want it plus food. The staff are amazing the bar girls are amazing. If you want to sleep at night dont stay here as there a night club next door and music gets played untill early hours of the morning. But I had a blast there. I had my 21st Birthday there and they threw me a party and it was superb, everybody had a great time! definitely stay here if you want a party thai exsperience!!

Room Tip: There is rooms on top floor which i advice to take they are a bit more exspensive but worht it
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moby Dick Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moby Dick Guesthouse

Address: 168/37 Moo 2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #49 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Central location in Chaweng Beach Road in the middle of night time entertainment area called Green Mango. Short walking distance to the beach, spas, shopping, restaurants and night clubs. Free Safety Box and WiFi. Restaurant and Bar. All rooms recently renovated in November 2012. Best place in Koh Samui if you want to party!! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, Priceline, Agoda, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Moby Dick Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Moby Dick Guesthouse Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moby Dick Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.