We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine sky dining” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly SkyHug Restaurant)
+66 77 960 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one’s love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Matthias Mittnacht that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Fine sky dining”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Great food, served with excellent presentation by helpful and friendly staff. Advisable to book early and try to get the booking for around sunset to make most of the view on the high tier.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear dippatel15,

Thank you very much for your visit and positive feedback, which is highly appreciated.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

680 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    521
    85
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Fabulous service & great food in an amazing location !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

This was not our first visit to 'Tree-tops',....and,...won't be our last ! Third year running now and it's getting better by the visit ! Exec Chef Mathias excelled once again !

It is a shame that he is leaving, but I understand his qualities have been 'poached' (no pun intended!) within the 'Anantara' group, so well done Mathias !! His successor has a lot to live up to !!

That all said, for the first time, we went 'a la carte'',....we usually do the taster menu, but this year, we were just spoilt !! The main-event for us was the Wagyu beef, and, we were not disappointed,....amazing to think you can achieve so much taste from something as familiar as 'beef' !! However, it is all the little-bits, that add not just the detail but indeed the experience.

From the knife & salt guru's, small things, but definitely just as important, but the entire team seemed to be so well aware of our visit, made us feel very special indeed !

Can't thank Lars and his great team enough, for making what was also a special birthday for my partner, the most wonderful of evenings.

In my humble opinion,...Tree-Tops is high in the top 5 restaurants in all of Samui,....and there are a number of great restuarants !! If you're there,...you've got to go,....but book well in advance,.... with only 8 tables, nos 7&8 are highly sought after ! Enjoy !!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Double100,

Thank you for visiting us… again! We appreciate your loyalty with Tree Tops.

It is true that Chef Matthias will be transferring to our sister property Anantara Riverside Bangkok in the near future but I can assure you that our replacement pipeline has been thoroughly worked on in order to have the best possible replacement for him to bring Tree Tops to the next level.

Let me know when you return and I will be delighted looking after your booking personally again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Smithton, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Special Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

We were here on our last night on Koh Samui, which was also our 35th wedding anniversary!! We were so overwhelmed, the atmosphere was just lovey & we were treated as if we were the only people in the restaurant!! Attention to detail was just superb!! Don't have enough words to explain this experience!! We were even offered desert plus extras to take away!! SO APPRECIA
TIVE!! XX

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, July 15, 2014
Dear Rosemary H,

I’m glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner at Tree Tops that much and that we could make a special impact on your Anniversary day.

Hopefully we don’t have to wait another 35 years to welcome you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Setting tops, food doesn't work”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

The setting and ambience is very nice, especially if you can book one of the higher up tables. 6pm to 9pm may be a better choice as you get to experience the sunset, while the sky will be black during the 2nd seating starting at 9pm.

I enjoy cooking myself and frequently dine out in fine restaurants all across Asia. However we were rather disappointed with the food. While the produce is fresh, and the presentation artistic, the flavours just didn't work together. Serving a smokey flavoured pork (which on its own was nice), together with vegetables cooked on coconut milk and goat cheese with chorizo powder, all on the same plate, was a conflict with every bite. Rather than work with each other, there was no harmony between the flavours. The lobster bisque was ok, but far from the best i had, with too much oil floating on top. It was served over one a seafood cannelloni, which was soggy and lump and had no flavour. The Tuna 2 ways, a carpaccio and tartar was presented nicely and the carpaccio was yummy, but the tartar was bland and uninspiring.

I also didn't quite get the thing with the salt and knife presentation. in a fine restaurant i don't really want to be presented with a box of knifes to choose from, but have the correct cutlery for the meals prepared. Same goes for the salts, in a meal like this i expect the chef to choose the perfect salt for his dish.

It is a stunningly beautiful restaurant, i cannot say the same for the food.

Plenty better choices in Koh Samui.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
Dear Jules F,

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the ambience and our service even though the food and some of our special touches haven’t been to your liking.

We appreciate your comments and hope that you still enjoyed your vacation on Koh Samui with its huge variety of excellent dining options.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“3 and a half actually, great experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014 via mobile

The setting is lovely, overlooking though only a distant view. We sat at the end table at 6pm, told we had to be out at 9pm. We chose the set menu, with wine pairings, though they only give you a soupsong of wine and do not fill as should be to the widest point in the glass, a bit mean for 4000 baht! They set you off with a whiskey sour and caper, the superb little salmon amuse bouche. The first course, was the least impressive, a lukewarm crab cake, and cold lobster canneloni, seemed it had been prepaired ages before, though the pairing with the riesling was good. The scallop in creamy soup, was delicious but poorly paired with a sauvignon blanc. The foie gras was sublime, but again poorly paired with a rose. We had different mains, my husband the beef cheeks and I seafood plate, both were delicious, as was the paired malbec. The dessert though impressively served, coconut brule and mango sorbet, the brule in underside of dessert cover, was a disaster, paired with bubbly labresco. Service was good, but very slow, their failing to tell us the next sitting had been cancelled, you feel a bit to much out on a limb, only seeing staff, when they serve the next course and the wine tots so tiny, you have to nurse everything slowly!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, July 9, 2014
Dear Tania D,

Thank you for dining with us and sharing your valuable feedback with us.

As mentioned in other comments, the high wine taxes in Thailand make it sometimes difficult to find the absolute best suitable wine for a dish without exploding the costs on it, which would mean a higher price for our guests. Our goal is to deliver great value for money on the degustation menu and I would like to apologize if we have missed a couple of marks in your case. In terms of freshness I can guarantee you that all our products are done fresh.

Because we are known as a romantic restaurant my team will try to balance between required privacy and table presence as good as possible. Once again my apology if you have felt left alone from time to time which is usually not the case but might be caused by the ability of my team to provide maximum privacy.

We appreciate your feedback and will work on improving in order to reach a perfect score for your next visit.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Tops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.