We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing dining experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly SkyHug Restaurant)
+66 77 960 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 148 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $27 - $75
Cuisines: Seafood, International, Contemporary, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one’s love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Matthias Mittnacht that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
A TripAdvisor Member
“Amazing dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Definitely a must do dining experience when in koh samui. The views are beautiful. The staff are excellent & the food is delicious. The salt & knife guru was a big hit. This was a highlight of our holiday. Don't forget to book!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for dining with us and leaving such a positive comment about your experience.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    606
    105
    58
    25
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“lovely meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

We had our last night in samui dining at this restaurant. It was a lovely setting, felt quite private as other tables are spaced a nice distance away. Service was fantastic, the salt sommelier was a novelty touch, and some of the salts offered were really good! We had the tasting menu and was very tasty. Would definately return if we are in samui again

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear laura w,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and looking forward to your next visit.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Food was fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

The food here was excellent and easily the best food we ate whilst in Samui. It is however expensive (£150 for 2 with wine and a cocktail each). The service was excellent and the staff were both friendly and attentive. They asked, when we booked, if it was a special occasion and presented us with a free dessert marked up with 'anniversary' on. It isn't the best value for money, but if it is a special occasion or if money is no object, then eat here.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Blok103,

Thank you very much for dining with us and congratulations on your anniversary again.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnborough
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

This is a lovely restaurant in a stunning setting, We found the offering of different salts and showing us which knife to use rather pretentious and a gimmick to justify the high prices. The service and food was good and I can see why clients would go there for a special occasion

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear lozza7,

Thank you for your visit and comments.

As you might see in other reviews, most of our guests appreciate the pretentious gimmicks of salt and knives (we are adding music now!!). The imported salt is in fact very expensive but is not the only reason why we are priced above the average.

Nevertheless, I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the overall experience.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Romantic Honeymoon Dinner in the trees”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Our experience at the Tree Tops was exquisite! My wife is a foodie and I love to tag along occasionally to enjoy great food. The service was top notch and they pulled out all the stops for us and our romantic evening! They custom made and served us some 'honeymoon' desserts on top of the included desserts. Everything was amazing - atmosphere, food, service, etc... It was like eating a in world class Chicago Restaurant while seated in the 'Swiss Family Robinson's' home.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food

Review collected in partnership with this restaurant

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, June 21, 2014
Dear Jay U,

Thank you very much for the perfect score… highly appreciated!

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Tops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.