We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are looking for that something different and special” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly SkyHug Restaurant)
+66 77 960 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 682 Reviews
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one’s love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Matthias Mittnacht that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
Essex, England
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“If you are looking for that something different and special”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went to the Tree Tops with friends to celebrate their first year's wedding anniversary and it was definately something special and memorable
It is not cheap, but the price reflects the setting and the extra special service
Lovely setting looking out over the top of the hotel to the sea. The staff are very warm and welcoming; attentive but not intruding
We are rather fussy eaters but it was nite to eat something different, but would rather see a slightly bigger menu
If you are looking for that extra special touch then Tree Tops won't disappoint

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear LorraineCarl,

Congratulations to your friends for this first milestone! Thank you for making Tree Tops part of it.

All our food is carefully sourced and in order to ensure freshness and highest quality we limit the menu to what we believe is a small but well spread choice of dishes for every taste. We also put a lot of training in each dish and with the menu changing every 2-3 months we would have to make sacrifices in the quality in order to expand the menu further.

Thank you once again for dining with us and we are looking forward welcoming you back.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    522
    86
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“A unique and special dining experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

With only a small number of tables each within its own private tree house, Tree Tops is a very special and unique fine dining experience. The service here is second to none - you really do feel as though you are the only people the staff are attending to! The menu is limited, but has enough choices to satisfy all tastes. The food we had was exceptional, and the selection of knives and salts offered to enhance your meal was very impressive. People have complained that the restaurant is overpriced, but clearly these people had unrealistic expectations considering this is a fine dining restaurant located within a 5 star resort...

Tip: request one of the higher tables for the best view.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Adam S,

Thank you very much for dining at Tree Tops. In particular we appreciate your understanding that quality comes at a price.

We hope you enjoyed your stay on Samui.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
97 reviews 97 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Very nice, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We had booked this restaurant well in advance of our trip to Koh Samui as we wanted to ensure that we got the best table, and we did, table 7 I think. We made our reservation for 6pm as we wanted to see the view in both daylight and darkness. When we arrived at the hotel it was suggested that we go for a drink in the pool bar and a golf cart would collect us shortly after. We went to the pool bar and wished we had booked that hotel for our stay in Koh Samui instead!
There was some meet and greet event on so there were free drinks and we met the hotel/restaurant manager who was very nice. At about 6:15 we were collected by golf cart and taken to the restaurant and to our table. Staff were extremely welcoming and friendly. The view was lovely and as there were just two of us and we were on honeymoon it was great to have the privacy that the tables offer.
Although there was a special 7 course taster menu on offer for the Samui fine dining festival we decided to go with the standard a la carte.
Home made breads were delicious (although too much for just two people!) and the sea bass amuse bouche and sorbet between courses was very nice.
I can’t actually remember our starters but I know we thoroughly enjoyed them! We had cod and wagyu beef for mains and they were perfectly cooked.
The salt sommelier and choices were a novelty, but we couldn’t really tell the difference between them all. My husband also had a choice of knives for his steak which was also a nice novelty.
Wine selection is good, but as in all of Thailand wine is very expensive, cocktails are also good. We shared a dessert which wasn't great apart from the ice-cream.
I would recommend this restaurant but be prepared to pay European prices, I think we paid about €250 for 2 starters, 2 mains, 1 dessert, 4 glasses of wine and 3 cocktails.
Staff are great, and we were even offered a complimentary transfer back to our own hotel which was a really nice touch.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Flossykins,

I remember meeting you during our Management cocktail and having a chat with you about Dublin and your upcoming dinner in TreeTops.

Great to hear that you enjoyed it that much, even though I have to apologize for the desert which seemed not having impressed you that much. We will work on this and I might have to go through some additional workouts in order to compensate for the extra tastings I will have to do.

I hope with the complimentary pre-dinner drinks as well as the obviously offered transfer back to your resort the pricing became more bearable.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent food, service and atmosphere - worth a booking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

The best food, service and atmosphere of any restaurant I have enjoyed.
My Seafood and wine selections were excellent.
The 'truffle salt' suggested by the 'salt expert' for other dishes smelt divine.

A true fine dining experience. We were lucky to snare Table 5 for Friday night and would recommend Table 7 for the best views and private dining.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear PhilW,

Thank you for sharing your compliments about your dining experience here on TripAdvisor.
Great to hear that you enjoyed it that much.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Up in the canopy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

If you want feel that you are special and the only ones in the restaurant head here. You will need deep pockets but it is well worth it.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GeneralManagerALS, General Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, March 28, 2013
Dear Michael1050,

Great to hear that you enjoyed your dinner with us and that the pockets have been deep enough so you didn’t have to regret it.

With kind regards

Lars Kerfin
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Tops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.