We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Truly memorable dining experience - not because of the food though!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Tree Tops

Tree Tops
92 / 1 Moo 2, North Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84140, Thailand (Formerly SkyHug Restaurant)
+66 77 960 333
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $15 - $60
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, International, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Special occasions
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: This unique restaurant is the most romantic dining option within the island where guests can enjoy the most luxurious setting amongst the tree tops which is perfect for an occasion to demonstrate one's love for each other. Guests can enjoy a menu inspired by Executive Chef, Matthias Mittnacht that encompasses carefully selected high quality fresh products brought together on your plate with all the years of his experience. The menu is complemented with our extensive award wining wine list which will be carefully explained by our in house Wine Guru.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Truly memorable dining experience - not because of the food though!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Anyone looking for a romantic or special occasion dining and not mind splurging must visit TT. Without repeating too much of other reviews, the service/level of attention is better than most other Michelin starred restaurants and I can attest that the setting is wonderful/magical/mind-blowing. We didn't book early and couldn't get the table with ocean view, nonetheless that didn't bother us too much. However the only let down was the food itself. For the price we have paid I am sure there are better restaurants on the island. The main I had was rack of lamb with bak choi on a pool of soya sauce. I like salty food thanks to my chinese roots, but this was a little silly and left me extremely thirsty after the meal. This isn't a deal breaker (one off?) and I still highly recommend TT to friends of TA - but don't think my gf and I will be coming again.

Spending: THB 4000 for 2 ppl (2 courses exc. drinks)
Tip: Book as early as possible and request for table with ocean view (only 2 tables available)

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Dear hybrid713,
Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am very glad to hear that you enjoyed the setting and service and the comparisom to a Michelin Star restaurant is indeed very flattering. We are certainly not the cheapest restaurant in Samui but we do select premium products which do come at a price once landed on our little coconut island but we do feel we are competitive with similar restaurants using similar premium products.
Apologies that you found the lamb dish too salty, normally a very popular dish that previous reviewers have raved about. I have passed your comments to the Chef and we will monitor feedback as we move forward.
Thank you for taking the time to visit Tree Tops,
Kind regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

679 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    520
    85
    43
    21
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Kent, England
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Tree Tops Restaurant - magical”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

WOW - what an amazing restaurant, fantastic views, fabulous food, not cheap - but worth the expense for an beautiful evening.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Michelle C,
Thank you very much for taking the time and effort to post a review. I am pleased to read that you had beautiful evening and do hope we have the opportunity to provide a similar experience next time you visit us.
Kind regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

We dined here last night and we rally enjoyed ourselves. Really beautiful ambience amongst the tree tops with soft lighting and relaxing music. The steak was so tender and delicious. Although a bit pricey for koh samui, highly recommend

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Dear Vixsta01,
Thank you for your very prompt review while the Tree Tops experience is still fresh in your mind, we are delighted to read that you especially enjoyed our Wagyu tendorloin and we do hope that you have the opportunity to viist us again.
Kind regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Wow... This resturant will blow you away :) so classy!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012 via mobile

On our last night here we ate at Tree tops... We didn't have one of the best tables with the views but we still thought it was amazing!!! Firstly the setting is perfect it is like your in a movie, insence burning, candles lighting every table and step, each table is on its own platform. Next the service, extremely professional and friendly, the compliemarty bread is unique and like its just been taken out of the oven!!! We had seafood black ink spaghetti and two way duck!!! Both flawless dishes!!! Only advice is bring lots of money, we thought because trip advisor says only $5aud to $50aud we had enough but it's more like $150-$200 aud if u want entree and dessert and drinks!! It's fine dining remember so of course the meals are smaller than your normal restaurants!!! Truly a magical place and experience!! Loved it :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Happyash A,
Wow! What a great review, I am really glad you were able to experience Tree Tops and that you appreciated all the little extras that are thrown into the dining experience. I hear your comments on the price point and will address that with TA directly to ensure it is not misleading and reflects the menu price, good feedback to receive, so thank you for taking the time to comment.
Kind regards,
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great for a special night out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We just ate at Tree Tops - all the reviews went on about the views and which tables to book and we could only get table 4. I'm not sure what everyone talks about because it was very lovely! The staff were so friendly, really knowledgeable and very polite. And the food was delicious! I got the scallops as an entree and my partner got the tuna, very tasty! For mains we got the lamb and duck two ways. Lamb was cooked perfectly but the duck was the definite winner!!! They also brought out yummy breads, we got a complimentary crispy chicken with teriyaki sauce taster and macaroons - again complimentary. It's very expensive compared to anywhere in Koh Samui but lovely for a special occasion.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
james h, Manager at Tree Tops, responded to this review, November 22, 2012
Dear Lisa_Aus,
I really appreciate your comments on TA. I totally agree with you that people have got too excited about which table they can book when the most important part of the experience is the food, beverage and service along with the intimate atmosphere that each individual hut creates.
Thank you for sharing your opinion and taking the time to visit Tree Tops,
Kind regards
James
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tree Tops also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Tree Tops? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Tree Tops, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.