We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent food with great price!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
157/17 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 86 906 4638
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 711 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Herzlia, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“excellent food with great price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

It was the best food we ate in Samui (and it's really hard to find good food in low price there). Also very nice people who works there!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    466
    163
    50
    17
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Awesome food, great value for money.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Sought this out after reading TA reviews and we enjoyed it so much that we came back 4 times in the week were on Koh Samui.

First time we arrived, there wasn't any tables available, though one became free after a while. There wasn't much vegetarian food on the menu however they were able to adapt almost any dish to use tofu instead of meat and they even made up some fresh springrolls without meat. The food itself was very tasty and 2 courses each with 2 soft drinks each never came to more then £4 each.

After our first visit, the staff would sort a table out for us straight away (even if that meant moving things around) and would get the veggie spring rolls on the go straight away. The food was good across all the dishes we tried.

The place is like a cafe but has a friendly and fun vibe to it. The fact it was so busy when places around it were dead is testament to how good it is.

My one tip would be to check on Google maps where it is before hand, as it is a bit tricky to find. Oh and if there is a wait for tables, then wait as it's well worth it!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
scotland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Green Bird”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Food and service was excellent, very friendly little restaurant. Great value for money. We visited several times during our 2 weeks in Koh Samui.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“The best thai food in thailand (and I went all over), a visit here is a must!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

Having travelled all around Thailand, eating at many recommended places, I have to rate this place as THE BEST! The food is simply outstanding and is well worth seeking out. Our plans to try many restaurants on the island were thrown out as we just couldn't resist going back for more and more! The menu is massive but we did our best to get through as much as we could, made possible by the very good value. Every dish we tried was lovely, the massaman curry was divine, tasty n silky smooth. The steamed sea bass beautifully delicate and moist. However one dish you must must try is the curried prawns, the best dish in thailand. Honestly I cannot begin to do this place justice, just make sure you go. 5*

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“yummy and cheap”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

a bit hard to find so: get ti the Regent Chaweng hotel, it is on the other side- look for their sign. it is inside an alley.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.