We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We keep on coming back for more” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Green Bird

Green Bird
157/17 Moo 2 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 86 906 4638
Update restaurant details
Ranked #5 of 92 restaurants in Chaweng
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Private Dining
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“We keep on coming back for more”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

A quaint & lil cafe down an alley way... With authentic thai food, hospitality & service
We stumbled across this place last year.. And we couldn't wait to go back this year with our kids (aged 6 & 9) ... They loved it as much as we did .
My son got to place his drawing there .. & he can't wait to see it again next year :)
If you're after a good feed with good prices & genuine hospitality .. Then look no more ... Green Bird :)

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

89% Recommend
    360
    117
    33
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Shah Alam, Selangor, Malaysia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Not Nice”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Food here are not nice.
Tom Yam - salty and not spicy
Morning Glory Vegetable - old and salty
Cashew Chicken - tasteless
Overall dishes...not good..

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Don't be put off by the looks... the food is AMAZING!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

Ok, granted this restaurant is nothing to look at... HOWEVER... after being recommended by several reviews, we thought we would give it a try.
Amazing, quick service, not the mention THE BEST thai food we have ever had.
Sweet and sour is great, as is the fried rice.
We ordered 8 mains and 4 cokes, it came to a total of $19AUD !!! INSANE! If only we could get food this amazing in Australia, let alone at such a great price.
This is a MUST eat in koh samui!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Great little place for a feed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013 via mobile

We got referred to this place by a manager of a pub down the road. He said that if u want genuine cheap and good Thai food go here... He was correct in saying it was good food...
There were 6 of us and the total bill with drinks came to 200 baht per person. Most dishes 50 - 100 baht.. Definitely be back here.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne,
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

We ate at Green Bird more than anywhere else during our recent holiday in Samui. The whole deep fried fish with lemongrass, the rice paper rolls, Chicken Pad Gra Pow were highlights. Green Bird catered for our young kids, who loved the tempura fish with fries and the non-spicy Chicken Pad Gra Pow. The staff are efficient and friendly, and....the beer was extra cold! Love this place.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Green Bird also viewed

Chaweng, Ko Samui
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 
Chaweng, Ko Samui
 

Been to Green Bird? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Green Bird, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.