We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A modern and nice hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Save Saved
You added Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Paris,France
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“A modern and nice hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

This hotel is located on the main road about 25 minutes walk from the lively area. The noise of cars and motorcycles can be a problem for the rooms on the road side. This hotel is not on the beach. To go to the beach you have to cross the road and go through a beachfront hotel. However, no one can promise that this solution will always exist. The rooms are spacious and comfortable. The staff is very nice and helpful.

The breakfast is too expensive especially when the hotel is not busy because there is no buffet but just a few selection of food available on request.

There is a swimming pool but its size and the limited number of chairs are not suitable for peak periods.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for taking your value time to review your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are very happy to know that you had a pleasant and comfortable stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with pleasure and will be conveyed to all of them. It is grateful for your kind recommendations which we will certainly take your good note to ascertain and for our service improvement planning.

Thank you very much once again for choosing us to be at your service. Your valued satisfaction rating even more encourages us to improve our services continuously. In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    76
    125
    29
    4
    1
See reviews for
21
103
33
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Peak District, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

I found this hotel to be above my expectations for the advance booking price. Very well decorated and maintained with super beds and bathroom. Very quiet at night as just off main drag. However, that advantage came with the disadvantage of it been a good walk up to the main restaurant and bar zone in the heat and humidity for the evening.
Personally, if you want to be in Chewang, I would stay here again but if I go back to Samui I would stay up at Fisherman's Village on the North Coast. Much nicer with evening atmosphere and good restaurents and bars but without the considerable hassle and constant high pressure selling of the Chewang strip. - depends what you want really.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 5, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for your value time to write a good review following your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are delighted to learn that you are satisfied with your recent comfortable stay in our hotel. Your kind review and value satisfaction rating also encourage us even more to continue in doing our utmost to extend our best service and attention while taking care of our valued guest like yourself.

Thank you very much once again for choosing us to be at your service. Meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you back again in the near future.


Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

good location, easy accessible to restaurant, shops and tour agents, all within walking distance. not very noisy at the night, definitely a quiet choice in chaweng area. it has a swimming pool but not a beach front hotel. Room amenities includes water boiler, hair dryer, bath robe, etc. we booked it during accor hotel sales so we get a good price.

Room Tip: room facing swimming pool with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Dear Ms.Joey,

On behalf of our management and staff, we thank you for your value time to review your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chawent Tana. We are happy to learn that you are satisfied your recent stay with us. We are also grateful to know that you had an enjoyable stay at our hotel with comfortable facilities and in convenient location.

Your kind review will certainly encourages us to continue in doing our utmost to extend our best service and attention while taking care of our value guest like yourself. Meanwhile, we look forward to be at your service again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn N.
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maroochydore, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel for 4 nights and although not directly on the beach found the location at the quieter end of chewing beach suitable to our needs as the beach only across the road through a vacant lot. Hotel was fairly new and clean, could have benefitted with brochures or literature in room informing us of local attractions. Only downside of hotel was that the pool was closed for 2 days due to maintenance which was certainly a let down as you could not cool off from the oppressive heat. Hotel was value for money for us being Accor members and if in Samui again would probably stay here.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, General Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you indeed in taking some of your valuable time to send us your kind review. We are most happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay with us recently. Please accept our sincere apology for our swimming pool not being available for your use during your stay. This non scheduled pool closure of 2 days was activated due to an unexpected mechanical error in our pump system. that forced us to have the system shut down for emergency repair and cleaning. We sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused.

We do wish and look forward to welcome you again in the near future, and we assure you of our utmost service and attention at all times.

Yours faithfully,
Terry Butt-Gow
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013 via mobile

We stayed there for 1 night only as we arrived late on Samui and had an early flight the next morning. Our room was pretty clean, though a bit smelly. The design of the room is nice. Staff was friendly, airport transfer promptly organized. It's on the quieter end of Chaweng, so not as noisy as in the middle. The location is good if you don't mind not to stay at a beachfront property.

It's not a place where I would consider to stay for a longer period but for an overnight stay absolutely satisfying and a good value.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 4, 2013
Dear Madam,

On behalf of management and staff, we would like to thank you for taking your value time to write a review following your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are delighted to know that you had a comfortable stay with us. Your kind remarks regarding our staff and services are received with our pleasure and have been conveyed to them all. It is also grateful for your kind suggestion regarding the smell in the room and we have already taken your good note to ascertain for our further improvement planning.

Your value satisfaction rating even more encourages us to improve our services continuously. Thank you once again for choosing us to be at your service and we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013 via mobile

Veteran thai traveler here again.

This hotel used to be thana, however since 2010 it was taken over by the mercure hotel group.
Overall its still a wonderful hotel. However, the staffs were changed from thai to mostly Filipino. This causes alot of issue, mainly communications, so don't expect the best service.

The rooms themselves are quite nice, with everything you would want from this type of accomodation.

The lication in chaweng isnt exactly the best place to bring your loved ones or family.

Recommended for backpackers and such. But for vacationeers, there are better values for your money elsewhere on koh samui.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 10, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of management and staff from Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, we firstly would like to thank you for sharing the feedback of your recent stay at our hotel. We are sorry to learn that you found unsatisfactory, and would like to sincerely apologize for the inconvenience caused. We are grateful for your remarks that we have certainly taken this good note for our service improvement.

It is good to know that our rooms meet your satisfaction and your kind review also encourages us even more to continue in improving our services. Thank you very much for choosing us to be your service. We hope we will have another opportunity in the near future to welcome you again on your next visit to Samui with our pleasure.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

I loved this hotel. But you should be aware of several things before you invite him room. The hotel is not in the center chewng only 20 minutes walk away (3 minute taxi ride). The property has no private beach, and in fact he is not right on the beach. Although the beach is a short distance away and easy access (you only need to cross the road). All these things I did not bother. Quite the opposite. The hotel is quiet, cozy, decorated really nice and elegant. Pleasure. I'm definitely going back to this hotel again. Incidentally Another important recommendation. On the ground floor of the hotel is a sushi restaurant called FUJI (part of the chain restaurants located throughout Thailand). The restaurant is very very very Recommended.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 9, 2013
Dear Sir,

On behalf of management and staff, we firstly would like to thank you for your feedback following your recent stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and glad to hear that you are planning to stay at our hotel again on your next visit in Koh Samui. We are very happy to know that our hotel services meet your satisfaction and the location is convenient for you.

Thank you very much once again for choosing us to be at your service and your appreciated feedback also encourages us to improve our services continuously. In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you again in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#16 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, ACCOR, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Venere and Otel so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.