We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Almost perfect"” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 290 Reviews
Sydney
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“"Almost perfect"”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

The welcome at the front desk is polite and very Thai. Once you are checked in, you are taken up modern elevators to very spacious, well maintained and clean rooms. In room safe, HUGE beds, excellent security and gorgeous bathrooms. The front door actually has an alarm on it incase you don't close it properly upon leaving or entering the room. The pool is small but definitely clean and lovely. I would have appreciated a gym, but I know that is not to everyones taste. Access is to the beach is via a vacant lot to the right down the road a bit. Not perfect but thats not the hotels fault.
The free Wi-Fi is patchy, which is quite annoying for the facebook generation, but again, won't make or break your holiday.

I couldn't more highly recommend this hotel to: the weary traveller looking for affordable luxury, the seasoned visitor looking for excellent access to the Chewang markets/beach and night lifebut far enough away that it's quiet at night.

The food is delicious!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your great review following your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, and we delighted that you had a wonderful stay in our hotel. You feedback is very helpful for us to ensure that our hotel and facilities are comfortable and safe for our guests. We have taken your appreciated suggestion and important remark regarding speed of Wi-Fi for our service improvement planning.

Your review also gives us a great motivation to do our best to please our value guests like yourself. In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

290 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    151
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
129
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haifa, Israel
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013

Me and my wife stayed at the hotel for 2 nights. The hotel is very classy and looks new (I don't know if it is). The rooms are modern and clean and the swimming pool id nice. The only disadvantage is the location which is not in the center of Chaweng but around 10-15 minutes walk.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 17, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for sharing you experience of your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana.
Is nice to know that overall you had a comfortable stay with us, and you are satisfied with our hotel and facilities. We are sure that your feedback is a great motivation for our team to improve our services continuously.

It would be a great pleasure to welcome you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taipei
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2013

Excellent hotel, professional team, Tum at the front office knows his duties better than anyone. The room is much better than your average Mercure. Wi-fi signal was a little weak in my room. No other complaints, and definitely will come back again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your review following your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana.
We are delighted to read your feedback and learn that overall you had a pleasant stay with us. It is very grateful for your appreciated compliments to our staff, particularly Khun Tum at Front Office. We ensured your kind message is sent to him. We have also taken your good note regarding the speed of Wi-Fi for our further service improvement. Your feedback is very helpful to us and we are happy to hear you are planning to come back again.

In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,

Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perugia, Italy
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

nice and stylish room and bathroom..comfortable bed and very clean...tv,a/c, hot showe,r coffe and tea facilities...nice swimming pool area..
good location: cross the main road and you are on the beach.
Wi-Fi doesn't work properly very slow (at least on my room 3° floor).
the service so so : i asked a cup to drink coffe in my room several time every day...didn't come...
i booked king size bed (advance payment) they gave me 2 single bed..
noisy and drunk people 5am in the hotel...i had to go out and speak with them...nobody said anything from reception or workers...
the last very bed: you have to be locked in your room...you can't open the window or the balcony!!! so you have to use a/c.. what stupid think????? if you want to open you have to ask
the reception ...it's a problem..

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you for your feedback, we were delighted to read your review following your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are sorry to learn that you found inconvenience in some areas during your stay with us, and we sincerely apologize for all inconvenience caused. We are grateful for your important remarks which we have already taken your good message to rectify for our further service improvement planning.

Nevertheless, it is nice to know you are satisfied with our hotel location and facilities. Your feedback certainly encourages us to do our best to continue in improving services in our hotel. Thank you very much for once again for choosing us and hopefully we will have another opportunity to serve you again. Meanwhile, we are looking forward to welcoming you again soon.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

stayed here for 5 days across new years 2013.

pros
- awesome rooms, nicely styled and big.
- great pool with swim up bar
- staff are very helpful

cons
- located at the bottom of chaweng beach but 2 min stroll to beach
- ordered a hamburger by the pool and there was a hair in it.

tips/ inside knowledge
- tuk tuk into main chaweng is about 50 baht each
- mai thai boxing ring about 5 mins walk away although costs 2000 baht and not worth it.
- japanese restaurant attached to hotel is awesome, great value for money.
- hotel staff do not linger around swim up pool so you are waiting a long time for your drinks. also they dont let you open up a tab so each order has to be signed for.
- breakfast closes at 10.30am but you can order items such as pancakes if they dont have it out.
- right outside the hotel lobby is laundry for 40 baht a1kg. takes 1 day though.
- when hiring a bike, they take ur passport ( common practice on the island).

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manager_MercureSamui, Manager at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, responded to this review, April 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,

Thank you very much for your feedback following your stay at Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana. We are happy to learn that you had a comfortable stay with us and you are satisfied with our services from our staff and facilities. We also learn that you found inconvenience in some areas and we would like to thank you for your important remarks that help us to rectify to do our best for services improvement in the hotel.

Thank you very much for choosing us and hopefully we will have another opportunity to serve you again on your next visit. In the meantime, we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Yours sincerely,
Vachiraporn Ngamsaprung
Secretary to General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012 via mobile

Have stayed here in December and January.
The rooms are very nicely decorated, clean and with decent air con. Bathroom is nice and modern and a lot nicer than some previous more expensive hotels I've stayed at in Chaweng.

Hotel has a nice small pool and even though the hotel was very full you can still dive in for a cool dip. Half the pool is in shade so water temperature is refreshing compared to some other hotels where the pool gets all day sun and is very warm. If its crowded getting a sun lounge could be an issue but most guests come and go during the day so not something to dwell on.

The pool bar while not open / attended has been mentioned in a previous review it's not an issue as the staff at the hotel restaurant will happily bring you drinks while you're in the pool so it's not really an issue.

The hotel is not on the beachfront but there is easy beach access only a few meters away from the hotel to the south through a currently undeveloped lot, just walk on through.

Fuji Japanese restaurant attached to the hotel is pretty good and in my opinion reasonably priced compared to similar places back home.

As also mentioned in a previous review there are no balconies in the majority of rooms though the corner rooms do seem to have small ones so if that's important for you pay the extra and book a corner suite.
Rooms at the western end from about 215 and 315 face another building when coming out of the room door so requesting a room closer to the pool is advisable.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nieuwegein
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

The Mercure Tana Hotel is situated near a shopping street. Chaweng beach is on 150-200 metres walking distance. The rooms are clean and luxurious. The service is excellent, the staff is very friendly.

The food in the Thai restaurant is good, the breakfast is ok. The swimming pool is not that big but good enough. Main thing of this hotel is that everything is on walking distance. There are several supermarkets (7/11) and ATM Machines. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to the night market/big shopping street with many restaurants. Enjoy your stay in this great hotel !

Room Tip: If you take the rooms ending on nr. 20 or higher you will stay at the end of the corridor, which is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, EasyToBook, ACCOR, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.