We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel to your Saves list
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #22 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.0 of 5 stars 289 Reviews
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012 via mobile

Came here to finish my trip to thailand with my girlfriend.
After a month backpacking this was all we could wish for. we had had enough of bungalows, bugs, cold showers.,
Great rooms, great pool area, nice staff.
2000baht per night.
High quality for a relatively low price!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

289 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    150
    37
    4
    2
See reviews for
30
128
35
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Bergen, Norway
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

This was a nice hotel, just outside the "noicearea" of Chaweng. Loved the design of the rooms, but no balcony. The poolbar was closed, since it was lowseason. I feel that is just lazy!

The hotel is on the main street. And the beach is just over the road.

Room Tip: Standard room was nice, and quit placed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

This is by far the nicest hotel we stayed in so far in S.E Asia. Excellent value, location and service from start to finish. Beautiful large room, spotlessly clean, large LCD tv. Great swimming pool and fantastic (and filling) breakfast everyday. Staff all very helpful. 5 min walk to action of chaweng but definitely far enough for a good nights sleep. Have recommended to everyone on our travels and would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

Beautiful hotel except that there are a couple dirty buildings in front of some of the hotel rooms. The dirty buildings are so close that I can nearly reach out and touch them. If it weren't for that I would give the hotel an excellent rating. Staff, food (Japanese restaurant) are very good.

Room Tip: Rooms at the far end of the hotel have dirty buildings in front so try to get near the front of the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I spent 3 nights here during October 12.
I recommend this hotel and would probably stay here again.

Pros: Friendly, helpful and polite staff. Very close to the beach (3 min walk). Free WiFi, strong signal. Beautifully decorated. Located in a quiet part of Chaweng beach. Next to a 7-11 shop.

Cons: Not a very central location; walking distance of 20 minutes to central Chaweng. Cleanliness is not perfect - my towel had what looked like a blood spot on it; a dead mosquito remained on the mirror for a couple of days.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012 via mobile

The hotel looks nice and clean with AC and good room. The room has a safe,hot water shower, and nice in overal.

Hotel is a bit far from the center of chawang, about 30min walk or taxi 100 bhat.
Hotels on the sea front looks better and nicer, so if its not too much more money I would go for one of them...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alesund, Norway
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed seven nights, very satisfied with the hotel. Our room was quite spacious, despite what some of the reviewers in here say. Cleanliness was good, except the room smelled a bit like pee when we arrived. But so does all of Chaweng, really.. Nice, big bed - big bathroom, safe in the room, as well as storage space for our backpacks. The pool area was awesome. Nice, cooling pool with a swim-in bar, and sun beds and umbrellas.

Most of the staff was great, with the exception of one woman at front desk, who seemed to think we were there merely to waste her time. But other than that the reception and restaurant staff were very friendly and service minded. We had some issues with the shower (clogged drain), and the remote control for the TV didn't work, but the staff sorted that out quickly. The nasty pee smell in our room disappeared when the drain was fixed as well.

We tried the breakfast buffet once, but decided it wasn't worth the 200 THB. Very poor selection of everything. If you have to eat breakfast in the hotel, I'd recommend ordering from the à la carte breakfast menu.

Location is good, toward the end of Chaweng's main street so it's not noisy at night but still close enough to walk anywhere in Chaweng. About a 2 min walk to the beach.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel

Address: 37 / 97 Moo 3 | Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Best Value Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana, has 80 modern Thai Design rooms equipped with modern facilities, enhanced with a beautiful landscaped garden, our petite outdoor swimming pool offers you comfort and relaxation. Located at the vibrant and exciting "Chaweng" with many entertainment spots and shopping streets, ideal for short stays or long vacations, our trained friendly staffs are always ready to make you feel at home. And of course with their local Thai charms and smiles ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo, ACCOR, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mercure Samui Chaweng Tana Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.