We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was just okay. But go elsewhere.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Mamma Roma

Mamma Roma
Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
077230649
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 148 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $7 - $22
Cuisines: Italian, Thai
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Copenhagen, Denmark
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Food was just okay. But go elsewhere.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013 via mobile

The food served had no taste at all. Making a pizza, that looks a little interesting for the person to eat it its not very difficult.

The pasta looked like something pulled out of a can.

Don't waste your money here. The staff was also extremely negative, impressive as we were the only couple in the restaurant they should take care of.

Waste of money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    37
    17
    7
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

This restaurant is disappointing. Don't waste your money. There are plenty of alternatives close by selling pizza and pasta that are not only much cheaper but also of better quality. The pizza I had at Mamma Roma was no better than something that you would by from a supermarket in a box. Base was ok but the topping was extremely disappointing.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ulsan, South Korea
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
“OK Food - 3 Baht per Fry...”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

The food was OK, not great Italian food but tasty enough.

The set menu is quite good value at around 250 - 350 Baht for entre, main and drink.

The french fries were very overpriced. We could literally count how many fries were on our plate.

The bruschetta / garlic bread was also very sad looking - two thin pieces of bread drenched in oil.

Won't bother coming back here, there are better Italian places around e.g. The Empire.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great value or money”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Very tasty and clean. Good variety of Italian dishes. Friendly service. Also good or kids. We took Pizza, chicken breast and a salad and enjoyed all!

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tel Aviv, Israel
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“So bad!! Was throwing all night”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013 via mobile

Please! Dont go to this resturant! I'm seroius! As i finish my pizza i was starting to feel bad. It took me 2 hours to throw up badly. I'm sure it was from that piZza cause i havnt eaten all day till that dinner.
They pretend to be like a real italian resturant? Disgusting place!!
Dont even think to eat there!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mamma Roma also viewed

Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Mamma Roma? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mamma Roma, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.