We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely will become your local!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Islander

The Islander
166/79 Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
+66 77 230 836
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #33 of 149 Restaurants in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Thai, English, Pub, Australian
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Definitely will become your local!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014 via mobile

Fab restaurant and bar right in the centre of Chaweng. Canadian owned with amazing British managers and really nice Thai staff. We went there many times for English food as we heard it was a hit but for those feeling cultured they serve up Thai food as well. When pre-drinking The Islander is the place to go! You won't find a great selection of cocktails for the same price anywhere in Chaweng (Blue raspberry kamikaze is a winner). Great sports bar for those into sport as it screens Aussie, British, American sports.
All-in-all a really chilled atmosphere and would 100% recommend! Off there for lunch for the billionth time this week!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

287 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    137
    95
    36
    11
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

Amazing staff, amazing food, amazing cocktails, at a bargain price and best of all it's right round the corner from the clubs charging 20000 baht a drink! Reccomended 100% enjoy!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Great drinks + pool, food mediocre at best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2014

We went to the Islander twice during our stay. Cocktails are cheap and cheerful and they have free pool! There's also terrace upstairs with a few tables where you have a nice view and get a breeze on those hot nights. Shame about the food though. Maybe we were really unlucky but it tasted from very bland (wrap) to inedible (tough, microwaved chicken wings). Overall, a nice place to spend your evening, I'd just recommend eating somewhere else beforehand.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Great, affordable food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2014

This was my go too place for breakfast! The staff are very friendly too and there are free pool tables up stairs

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Nice place.. Laid back experience..”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2014

Was here with my wife over the last weekend.. This is oneof the big joints on the Chaweng strip.. They have a huge variety of spirits complimented with elaborate & confusing Thai food menu.. As is the practice in all Chaweng resorts their spread of Conti is also good.. The staff are slow and a bit spaced out, maybe cos they were running full on the day of our visit.. Would surely recommend..

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Islander also viewed

 

Been to The Islander? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Islander, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.