We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hakuna Matata Hotel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Chaweng
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hakuna Matata Hotel
119/22 Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #18 of 42 Chaweng B&B and Inns
walsall
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Average hotel!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Booked this place for 11 nights and ended up checking out after 5. This wasn't just because of the hotel but mainly because we didn't like chaweng and preferred bophut.

The hotel is very cheap so you can't expect much, however we had a fan room and found it so hard to sleep with the heat as the fan didn't cool us down much.

Try to get a room with air con if you stay here.

The staff were lovely and helpful and can't be faulted. They even refunded us the cost of the days we weren't going to stay there when we checked out early which we weren't expecting!

Would recommend staying here if you are on a budget as its a 10 min walk to all the action and has wifi, it's just that chaweng was too busy & over crowded for us.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Owner at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, March 21, 2013
Dear emily r,

thank you for staying with us! As for the Fan room for some of our guests it's really difficult to stand the tropical heat living in the fan room though that rooms are cheaper. Still the other guys travelling a lot around Asia prefer to stay not in A/C room because they've already acclimatized and afraid to catch a cold in A/C. So when booking the room you need to decide first which room will be better personally for you and we'll be happy to provide you with the room you've booked.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    20
    16
    13
    4
    6
See reviews for
6
16
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
133 reviews 133 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013 via mobile

I spent two days over new year here and loved the place... Almost!

The staff were very kind and got us checked in earlier than expected and were very helpful with us checking out at 5:30am!!!!

The room was great! Clean as a whistle, lovely spacious bathroom and awesome balcony! The room had a fridge which was handy for us travelling types and a kettle! It even had a tv but to be honest they dont bother me! Nice touch though!

Internet within the hotel was great!

The bar area was also a nice little hangout with a good pool table and the prices for food and drink were more than reasonable!

A couple of negatives...

I'm not usually one to moan about location as I look up places to stay before I book them however this accomodation is a little way along the strip if that's what you're after! I'd say it's a good kilometre or so but the added bonus' are that it does have a 7-11 directly across the road, booking tickets to other places in Thailand is cheaper along here than in the centre and the god awful smells of the strip are not as bad! Yes koh samui centre absolutely stinks! Oh it does run adjacent to the beach though!

My only other negative is price! Yes hotels, hostels and all other accomodation hike prices during these periods but what for apart from exploiting people is beyond me! The bar was shut before 12 on new years eve! It's ridiculous to sell a room at 3x the price and do nothing for it! It sounds petty but as a traveller it sucks! £30 approx for a room that is generally about £10 is annoying and at the end of the day I can only rate a hostel or room based on what I get for the money I pay, new years or not! Especially when on koh phangan I paid £10 for a double room per night over Xmas... It's just greed!

Summary

Although I do have issues with pricing and find it shockingly offensive, I would recommend this hotel at its usual rate! I would certainly stay here again but in all honesty you couldn't pay me enough to go bac to samui, it's rotten!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Owner at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear John M,
Thank you for your reasonable review! And special thanks for mentioning that the location doesn’t stink like the Samui center :)
As for the pricing during the New Year Eve I can tell you honestly that all the hotels are making money during the Peak season to keep afloat during the low season when the prices are low, the hotels are empty but you still has to pay salary to your staff, rent fee and government taxes. And Hakuna Matata hotel rates for the Christmas - New Year period were comparable to other Chaweng hotels.
Just hope one day you return to Samui and will see it’s not rotten and you will like our small island!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2012

I have booked a 2Bedroom apartment to share with my partner and a friend.
The rooms were very spacious and we have been very happy about the choice.
10 minutes walking from Chaweng night life, there was not need at all to book taxi to go back (and taxi can be very expensive at night).
We had few issue soon after check in, which were resolved in a very efficient and professional manner by the manager (I guess her name was Elena). They made us feel quite unsafe though.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

A good value hotel, but not the best we stayed in on our trip. We had the big room with double balcony which was a nice size, and had a sea view, just. Nice and clean, basic, one of the beds was broken on arrival but quickly replaced.

We found the staff very cold, didn't engage in conversation at the bar and kept their heads down, pretty much ignored us. We found the bar a little pricey, and when we were there had no atmosphere, certainly not the local we were hoping for. 7 eleven 24 hours across the road is very useful, and the hotel next door does very reasonable food and is the cut through to the beach.

Chewang is lively we enjoyed it, and this hotel is close but not too close to the night life. Be careful of the pick up taxis, in fact all taxis, they are a rip off, get the meter on if you can. One irritation of chewang is its very hard to get through to the beach from the town unless your in a beach front hotel, there is very little public access (i found one) the rest is privately fronted and guarded - not good for tourists. Go to the big market at the end of town (cut through mcdonalds for access) the street food is good, cheap cocktails and bands.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Owner at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, December 15, 2012
Dear Norrisg24,

I’m really sorry that you felt ignored in our bar. Yes, it doesn’t have the special atmosphere like some bars in the Chaweng nightlife center have. But such bars are very noisy in the night time. We’d like our guests have a good sleep and good food. That’s why the bar closes at 10:00 p.m. and the guests who want to party all night have a lot of options nearby (after having a good dinner in the hotel bar ;) One small advice for our future guests: taxis are very pricey on Koh Samui and the drivers do not use meters. So that’s why in the day time it’s better to use songtew (open pickup trucks) and in the night time try to negotiate a good taxi price.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beersheba, Israel
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

We stayded there for 2 nights. our room was on the first floor and had AC. The room was big but basic, the bed wasn't comfortable at all. The bathroom was big but also very basic.
TV didn't work, but we didn't mind.
The Wifi connection is not working in the rooms.
The staff was friendly and you can find nice russian plates in teh restaurant.
The location is very good, you can go to the beach in two minutes, but the beach close to the hotel isn't so good.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Front Office Manager at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Silvia s,

thank you for your review. We're happy you like our food. As for the broken TV I'm really sorry you don't inform the hotel staff (if we knew we could fix it).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2012

Was very good value for money, rooms were basic but clean. The beach is literally steps away and is lovely with great bars and restaurants! would recommend to travellers! staff very friendly and helpful to!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Front Office Manager at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, October 3, 2012
Dear beth_a_belle,

thank you for your kind words about our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Me and my partner booked to stay at Hakuna Matata for a few days, and we had such a lovely stay that after 1 night at an awful hotel, we returned for another 3 nights. We stayed in a fan room at first however when we returned we booked an air conditioned room as we don't cope with the heat very well. Rooms are basic but have all essentials: good bathroom, tv, fridge, towels and bedding. There is also a balcony and a hammock which we liked to sit out on a night on. You can pay to use the swimming pool and beach beds from the hotel next door from next to nothing for the day. The staff and lovely and friendly and you are just across the road from a 7-eleven mini supermarket store, there are restaurants all along the beach, and you are around 10-15 min walk either down the beach or main road from from all the bars and restaurants in central Chaweng! Would definately recommend staying here if you want a cheap and relaxing stay in Koh Samui!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cricetus, Front Office Manager at Hakuna Matata Hotel, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Dear Leoni772,

thank you for staying with us! And thank you for your tip about the Fan and A/C room. Some of our guests claim that it's too hot in the Fan Room (it can happen when you're not accostomed to the tropical heat) but still don't upgrade to A/C room. Hope next guests will take your sensible advice :)
Hope to see you in the future!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Hakuna Matata Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hakuna Matata Hotel

Address: 119/22 Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Ko Samui, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 42 B&Bs / Inns in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Hakuna Matata Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hakuna Matata Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hakuna Matata Hotel to your Saves list