We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Surprise!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chaweng Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Chaweng Resort to your Saves list
Chaweng Resort
18/1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #75 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Tampere, Finland
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice Surprise!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We stayed in one of the deluxe bungalows close to the pool area and beach. We were pleasantly surprised, bungalow was very spacious. Although the interior is a little bit worn out it still was nice. Huge bed, safety box, lots of space for our belongings. Bathroom is big with separate shower and bathtub. The only downside was there is no hot water and why have colored lights only in the bathroom?

Breakfast surprised us too, good variety with egg station and it was not the same every morning. The same restaurant is open also during the day but it's self service if you want
drinks or food in the pool area. We had lunch a couple of times and Thai food was OK.
They cleaned the small pool daily but they didn't clean the pool area around the sunbeds. It was windy the whole time and leaves were falling but still.

Resort is located in the quieter end of Chaweng so the beach is not too crowded. Small downside is that on the street there is not many restaurant nearby, 15-20 min walk to "center" of Chaweng where majority of restaurants are located. 7-11 is across the street with lots of other shops.

I would not advise to use their laundry service. They charge by the garment. It's easy to accumulate a laundry bill that is hundreds of bahts. Lot of places across the street with laundry service based on weight. With the higher prices they still delivered the laundry same way in plastic bag.

Based on my experience all the beach side resorts in Chaweng are overpriced. This is no exception, value you get is still average.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    8
    39
    12
    8
    16
See reviews for
15
36
12
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Lamai Beach, Thailand
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here for 5 nights in a " A/C hotel room " it was 2200 a night which now seems a bit expensive
Breakfast was included ..... But finishes @ 10 am , so i didn't make it
The gym looked great
On the beach front I was always able to find a sun lounger
I saw 2 swimming pools , most people preferred to swim in the sea
Most of the guests looked 35+
First night lots of Mosquitos , so I got some coils ( 160 baht ) the next day and didn't have any problems after that
The reception was very helpful
Lots of restaurants and bars nearby , but it's maybe a 10 minute walk to the busier part of chaweng ( Soi Green Mango)

Overall a bit too pricey :/

Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Israel
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2013

The typical Thai design is excellent and make it a very special place to stay in the island. Very nice and quite, excellent service and very clean.
The swimming pool is located very close to the rooms and the beach is almost part of the hotel which makes it a perfect location for quite and pleasure vacation. I'm strongly recommend this hotel !!

Room Tip: Try to be close you can from the pool and beach
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013 via mobile

Me and my fiancé had made a last minute trip over to Bangkok and the islands. We stayed in many hotels and styling at the chaweng resort was by far the best experience we had while traveling. The staff where friendly and informative the room was amazing. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

I stayed at the 'Chaweng Resort' in Koh Samui for three weeks, ..it was pretty awesome!

I was allocated my own private, spacious Bungalow, independent of other surrounding Bungalows. This made me feel like i had my own secluded space, with my own balcony overlooking an expanse of greenery. My space consisted of a beautifully air conditioned king sized bedroom, with a multi channeled large screen TV, with wifi access in room, a dressing table, a desk with a telephone, wardrobes and internal safe, ..a microwave, a fridge filled with refreshments plus a mini-bar, an iron, hairdryer, weighing scales, comfy summer pj's and an extensive bathroom.

The Bungalows are beautifully decorated, accentuating eastern design, immaculately maintained and needless to say, that attention is paid to every detail.

The Chaweng Resort is located on the quietest southern part of the beach, away from the "Madding Crowd" ! As my bungalow was close to the main reception, I could walk down to the beach within 30 seconds. This expanse of Chaweng Beach has a swimming pool, free sun loungers, and the most captivating view of the Sea. It is child friendly and attracts a multi cultural customer base.

I enjoyed going to the restaurant overlooking the pool and the white sandy beach. Breakfast was inclusive and other main meals ranged from traditional Thai dishes to a range of western specialities. Staff were lenient - incase you wanted to take food/drinks out of the restaurant.
Being health conscious, I was tempted to test myself in becoming a pescetarian to try and rejuvenate my system whilst i was there. This was merely because of the wonderful scope of fresh sea food, vegetables, fruits, juices and coconut water etc.

On the other side of the resort of the Chaweng strip are the most interesting never-ending markets.. full of jewellery, trinkets, art work, clothes, travel agents promoting day trips to other islands, massage spas, tailors (who do made to measure over night),..restaurants, bars and other retail stores including a seven eleven.

The internet facilities including free wifi are located in the reception area adjoining a big lounge. Above the lounge on the next level up is a fully equipped gym, which i enjoyed using every morning. In the reception area.. you would find a nuance of various leaflets/brochures promoting different activities and tourist attractions to visit on the Island. I booked a couple of day excursions and the highlight for me was "Funny Day Safari". This included elephant trekking, tiger petting and photo shoot, monkey and elephant shows, visiting the Buddha Gardens, and Temples, ..going to see the Mummified Monk, stunning waterfall sightseeing and all the other touristic attractions.. (Yeah, all in one day.. and of course, lunch too was included ) !


I booked at reception a ticket to the Annual Full Moon Festival.. where the hotel transported me by car and boat. This night festival is a must.. has to be done! A personal note, check out the massive Reggae bar with live band ..about a 15 minute walk from the Resort. You can also hire a Moped to zip around the Island - costing almost nothing!

For this review.. I was trying to think of things I could fault, but in all honesty,.. I really couldn't.

I'd say the service is sufficiently efficient.. as my laundry would be returned all done.. in an hour or two, max and the bungalows would be serviced and cleaned daily.

Lastly I commend the staff for their motivated friendly attitude and dedication. They are so sweet :). I would indeed,.. recommend the Chaweng Resort to couples, families with kids or tourists travelling on their own like me, as i met many like minded people.. each on their own adventure.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

We recently spent 8 nights in this resort - The staff were nice and the resort was in a great location near the south end of the beach - which is nicer than the north end. The pool is lovely and the breakfast was nice. All round this hotel was great value and we would choose it again. This resort also had a gym which was a bonus.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here! The breakfasts were particularly good with Thai and Western food available and I loved looking out over the water and the pool while eating breakfast. Not the newest bungalows, but really clean and only a few steps from the cleanest spot of sand on
Chaweng Beach! There are two good pools and a gym for the body conscious traveler that can't let a day go without a workout! The staff were very friendly and welcoming. There is a great Thai restaurant right across the road, but there are plenty of up scaled places to eat on the main road. I would definitely stay again!

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chaweng Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chaweng Resort

Address: 18/1 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#50 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Chaweng Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chaweng Resort Ko Samui, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chaweng Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.