We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not sit down” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Otaru Sushi Japanese Restaurant

Otaru Sushi Japanese Restaurant
Next to Siam Commercial Bank | Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
077 601222
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #61 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $1 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: We do best with traditional sushi and sashimi, including some incredible melt-in-your-mouth Otoro. Open daily 11.30 - 22.30
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Do not sit down”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2014

Hi guys
Me and my partner walked in and set down , after a quick look at the menu we changed our mind and decided to go.
One of the staff member started to complain that we set there and didn't . Order anything .

Will not go back there anytime
Soon

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    48
    23
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ko Phangan, Surat Thani, Thailand
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never fails”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

Been here many times and love everything from the style and latout of the restaurant to the food itself. Definately the best available on Samui.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
146 reviews 146 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Average sushi for an average price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013 via mobile

If you are in Chaweng and looking for Sushi this restaurant is an option. Nothing special, nothing bad and nothing different. Just "good" sushi, sashimi and so on. You will not find anything special or different. So OK to go and at a price you would expect.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nola
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good Japanese”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

Otaru in Chaweng offer good basic Japanese dishes, nice ambiance even if sometimes very quiet...pricy for the grade of rice and quality of fish, nevertheless a good Japanese restaurant in Koh Samui.
Service friendly and attentive.

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ramat Hasharon, Israel
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Nice place not to nice food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2013

Got to the island and wanted none Thai food... We are already in Thailand a week so we wanted to eat something different.... We saw the nice reviews and decided to go.
The restaurant is designed amazingly, clean and good service. The dishes didn't come at the correct order, i got my very not crispy tempura before my sushi. The green tea was not good.
My California roll was too greasy. Sorry, we did not enjoy.
Daniel - Israel

  • Visited November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Otaru Sushi Japanese Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Otaru Sushi Japanese Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Otaru Sushi Japanese Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.