We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Crazy Party Resort!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ark Bar Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ark Bar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #29 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Crazy Party Resort!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This resort is exactly what it says so I had no surprises. It's loud, busy, loud and a big party. The rooms are really nice, I stayed in a Premium Deluxe (I think) and it was great. Queen size bed, really nice bathroom and decent internet. If you think you can stay here and relax, think again. The music pumps all day, the restaurant is right on the beach which is cool but always has mucis playing. The beach chairs are all crammed together and the music is loud! Then at night the place pumps till 2am and is busy, crazy and like schools on heat! It's awesome if you want to party. I was here for NYE and it was great. Wild and fun. I only stayed 2 nights which was enough. However- The drinks are strong and well priced, the food is good, the pools are clean and fun and the DJ is always great. Enjoy!

Room Tip: The 'better quality' room you pay for the nicer its going to be. Some rooms have single beds...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

541 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    194
    110
    48
    40
See reviews for
16
156
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

Had a great time at ark bar, it's not for someone who wants a quiet holiday but if you enjoy a few beers and party then it will be right up your ally. Chaweng beach is beautiful and ark bar is right there in the thick of it. When it hits dusk the sun lounges are turrned into a more casual chill out area with random light poles all around and beats pumping. Quite a few swimming pools around as well you can take a dip in but we stuck to the ocean. We paid a little bit extra for a superior room and didn't regret it, our mates just got the basic room and they were a lot tinier but you really don't dint spend much time there with such a good beach on your doorstep. I didn't think the noise was such a problem and we were only about 30m from the beach. Pretty close to everything else koh samui has to offer and will be staying here again when we visit in June.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atherton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Over priced this place has ruined koh samui bottles and waste all on beech not a great place to be go somewhere a little more civilised. Also the rooms are really not worth the money damp in places and not my idea of a tropical paradise to stay.

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

If you like to party a lot this hotel is a paradise for you, but I don't like to party... loud music all day long, loud and shouting people - this is not a place I want to rest in.
Rooms are quite ok, they have few standards - cheaper are very average, other are better.
Nice beach with sun beds - it was what I liked.
I recommend that hotel only for people who like to drink a lot of alcohol and party a lot.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

If you class yourself as an alcoholic this place is paradise.
Rooms are as bang average as it gets, although our shower head leaked and splashed everywhere, the tap and mirror collided every time you attempted to turn it on/off. The air conditioning sounded as if we had a diesel generator in our room through the night although outside the rooms is very loud until as late as 4/5am. The room has many services which you pay over the odds for.
The swimming pools are of an average standard, the bigger one below the pool DJ booth has a rough stoney entrance which hurts to walk and sit on - not a good design. The Dj starts his sets from around 2pm in the afternoon until early hours in the morning and you can probably guess the playlist as he repeats loads of songs throughout the day which is very annoying. The food bar area is always busy and the food is ok and very overpriced, the same if not more expensive than back in the UK.
The whole atmosphere and feeling around the pool throughout the day is awkward and intimidating, probably due to the amount of steroid infested meatheads that just staring at their competition for their stay.
Could go on but getting bored now..overall overpriced place but very popular to groups of immature young people who evolve their lives around alcohol. ;)

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lucerne, Switzerland
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2013

If you wanna do honeymoon choose an other hotel. I've been here with friends and was that place to be during day and night.
The room was very good for a 3 star hotel. More as expected.

I would definitly come again here.

Stayed December 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2013

If you're looking to party and you're pretty laid back then Ark Bar is perfect for you. Although we weren't looking to party ourselves we enjoyed the fun atmosphere. Great location on the beach, nice pool bar and decent breakfasts. That said, we couldn't have hacked the thud thud thud from the bar for more than our 3 days stay as we are old fogies. Although it isn't played all night, on party nights it sometimes does go later than they say. Rooms are clean, no frills but you have everything you need. The place is excellent for what it is, a party place and super fun in a group. Price is decent too. However, if you are looking for a relaxed or romantic boutique break then you would book The Library down the beach. I have only two criticisms of this place 1. The Namuang 'safari tour' they sold us was a rip off and cruels to animals please DO NOT BOOK THIS TRIP!!! We left after 30 mins completely horrified. I know the hotel will stay that they are not responsible for the tours but we all need to stand together against animal cruelty and not help pay those who conduct it. 2. The 'house' music really got tedious after a while. I am musical myself and if I had had a metronome with me I could have proved that each and every song throughout our entire stay had the same tempo. Sometimes you would here a song just about to go into its normally awesome only to find it had been 'remixed' or rather ruined with the same repetitive stupid house beat. We wanted to dance on party nights but felt this flattened the mood. All in all though good fun, vibrant place to stay in Cheweng.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort and over 100 metres of spectacular beachfront. Here, at ARKbar, you can enjoy the tropical beaches and climate, meet people from all 4 corners of the world and party or chill in a unique relaxing yet vibrant atmosphere.ARKbar Beach Resort is conveniently located in the centre of Chaweng Beach and boasts over 250 rooms, the largest beach restaurant in Thailand, 3 beach bars, International DJ's, live musicians, fire shows and constant activity. During the afternoon, you have the choice of relaxing or partying at any of the 3 swimming pools or on famous Chaweng Beach, while enjoying a meal, a cold beer or perhaps indulge in a famous ARKbar cocktail. After this experience you will understand why we say "Afternoons at Ark Bar R Compulsory".As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, the beach transforms into a stunning and unique venue with a combination of dining, drinking, socialising with spectacular free entertainment every night. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Otel so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ark Bar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.