We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place To Party” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ark Bar Beach Resort

Save Saved
You added Ark Bar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Ark Bar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Best Place To Party”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

OK not that I have sufficient time to go anywhere else to party in Koh Samui due to short trip. But this place is highly recommended for party people. Better to be there 11pm onwards and get the best spot. The DJ spins great music and there is a fire show.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

537 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    149
    194
    108
    47
    39
See reviews for
16
156
40
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

We stayed at the ark bar resort for one night as a stop over back to Bangkok and although it was very lively the rooms were spotless and the staff were fantastic. There were different pools available to choose from so you could get away from the loud music if you wished. Perfect location in terms of restaurants and bars and only ten mins from samui airport which was perfect. We had a room away from the bar which I would recommend if you wanted to get an early night. Would definitely recommend this place.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Ark bar--- what can I say.. I've been coming here for 11 years, and it's evolved, let's say! ... Typically grown into something Western, yet still has great staf and views to die for. The sea is a milky colour at sunset and music is amazing, free BBQ's... Staff are the nicest ever met, so worthe a visit... Immaculate and the owner Mario is a first class chef!!! Get to know Pat, she's great... from Bangkok and speaks excellent English.. GSOH!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Best thing about this place is the music, the party atmosphere and the location and Lovely attentive staff! The best way to describe the ark bar resort is...."too easy a place not to leave..." you want to go experience other places but there is something about it which keeps you there! Beds are a tad uncomfortable (too hard) but the rooms are clean. Food and massages are good and reasonably priced! Drinks are strong, and the beats are brilliant! Will definitely be visiting again! (Ark bar is not recommended for families or light sleepers)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

We had a great time staying at Ark Bar Beach Resort. It was really centrally located, with shopping, food stalls,restaurants, convenience stores, beach etc all in close vacinity. The resort has an awesome party pool area and a see through pool for your more chilled down time. The food is reasonably priced and suited for all palettes. You can grab a beer and play a game of pool at your leisure and relax back at the pool or beach which is a trundle away. Great place, I would recommend it to any one who doesnt mind a bit of a party vibe, but I do suggest that if you want to get some sleep in the night ask for a room further away from the walkway to the beach and bar.

Lastly, the dutch guy at the tour desk next to reception was really friendly and helpful, and can sort out all your must see activities for Koh Samui in 2 day trips... fantastic experience! Thanks Ark Bar :)

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed here for 2 nights in July and had a good experience but nothing amazing. It is a great party hotel if that is what you are looking for but if you are looking to feel like you are really in Thailand and relax a little then this probably is not the place to stay. The one really annoying thing for us is that you are not able to start a tab at the bar even if you are staying at the hotel. This is really annoying when you having to worry about carrying around your money when you are going in and out of the pool and ocean. Our room was very clean but small and it is very centrally located to all the madness of Cheweng.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

We stayed here as we arrived late in Koh Samui before heading to Phangan the next day, and it was awesome!

Shared taxi van from for 200 baht per person, seemed fair. Was an awesome van with party LEDs and super friendly driver - sure you can haggle a taxi at the pier but we were tired and worn out, so we agreed to a fix price with a little man on the bus to the ferry who was doing the rounds (smart).

Arrived at the hotel around 830pm, there we're heaps of people checking in and one very frustrated looking woman trying to serve everyone. We waited for about 20 minutes until our turn, to be told that because we were 'premium' room customers, there was a separate check in for us around the corner. The guy was soooo sorry we waited and made stuff happen fast for us. The premium deluxe rooms/service is pretty fast and efficient, with guys to help move bags etc.

Our room was huge and brand new looking, with a very large balcony overlooking the walkway. Great for sitting on, having a beer and watching drunk tourists (one of my favorite hobbies) on their way/on their way back from the massive Friday night party they had there.

There was a security man stationed right outside our room which added a bit of comfort.

The TV was massive, 50" I believe, not that we were there to watch TV but I was surprised they had such a huge one. Lots of english channels.

Stocked minibar with beers/whatever and snacks reasonably priced for a minibar.

The bed was pretty standardly Thai firm which I enjoy!

Big bathroom, nicely decorated... it was the perfect hotel room in my opinion.

Even though we were tired we headed down to the bar for a look as it seems to be pretty famous!

We ordered some food from their massive selection, and it came super fast. Wide selection of drinks available too... the party had started at the other end but it was far enough away to enjoy a nice meal.

They had so many staff working it was crazy.

Food was excellent, we asked for spicy and got it... was a challenge but a fun one.

After dinner we relocated to the beach front for a last drink. I told the woman who was in charge of accounts and she said no problem, but some dude came down within a minute with our full bill. I asked if I could pay it later and got a stern "No, Now" which I thought was odd, so I paid it then ordered another drink, to which I had to pay then and there. I later sparked up a conversation with him and he said sorry, but so many people order and then slip away as the beach front is dark and you can just bolt off in any direction, that they have to ask for payment each time, which made lots of sense.

Because of the extensive traveling and long dreads I can appear to have a hobo "I'm going to rip you off" look so I don't blame them :)

He was really cool and we spoke with him for a while, he could have just been looking for an excuse to get off working but he made our stay more fun.

Hawkers on the beach we're respectful and left immediately if you weren't interested. Few guys with animals (monkeys/huge lizards etc) that looked freaked out which was slightly depressing, however I'm sure you have your own opinion on that sort of thing.

We went and had a look at the party, it was pretty full on... loud music, quite cheesy stuff, bad mixing unfortunately... dancing girls, fire dancers, drunk tourists... good for a laugh but not totally our scene. Def check it out if you're there on a friday or wednesday.

Check out was fast, they we're helpful in arranging a taxi to the pier for us and took our bags (not very secure) while we went had lunch.

This place is great if you're after a party atmosphere, however you could totally avoid the party side of things if you wanted to just chill out.

It's a bit more expensive than other places, but you really get what you pay for here, I'll try somewhere else next time just for the experience, but I found nothing wrong with this place. Great work Ark Bar.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#24 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort and over 100 metres of spectacular beachfront. Here, at ARKbar, you can enjoy the tropical beaches and climate, meet people from all 4 corners of the world and party or chill in a unique relaxing yet vibrant atmosphere.ARKbar Beach Resort is conveniently located in the centre of Chaweng Beach and boasts over 250 rooms, the largest beach restaurant in Thailand, 3 beach bars, International DJ's, live musicians, fire shows and constant activity. During the afternoon, you have the choice of relaxing or partying at any of the 3 swimming pools or on famous Chaweng Beach, while enjoying a meal, a cold beer or perhaps indulge in a famous ARKbar cocktail. After this experience you will understand why we say "Afternoons at Ark Bar R Compulsory".As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, the beach transforms into a stunning and unique venue with a combination of dining, drinking, socialising with spectacular free entertainment every night. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ark Bar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.