We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“terrible hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Ark Bar Beach Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Ark Bar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ark Bar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Munich, Germany
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“terrible hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

my girlfriend and me stayed for two nights. clean but terrible.- you look to the neighbours balcony. if you want to party in chaweng stay in a cheaper hotel and go to the clubs or the beach. the music of the pool dj was horrible and it stopped around 5 am (i use to go to ibiza and i know what i am talking about) at checkout the staff wantet to sell us taxi and boat tickets for around 100 bhat higher than normal. avoid this hotel! at least the rooms were clean and the aircon worked well. avoid it!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TerryAB, Manager at Ark Bar Beach Resort, responded to this review, February 20, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your personal experience at Ark Bar Beach Resort.

You are correct, our guest rooms, like the majority in Chaweng do face each other.
This is because the plots of land are long and narrow, allowing beach access to more properties. The rooms are separated by a balcony and pathway that have a combined width of between 5 and 12 metres.

There are 9 DJ's in our team and I am not sure which DJ you did not like. We have a policy of playing various styles of House Music and this never varies. We are sorry if this genre of music does not appeal to you. What style of music would you prefer?

I have to correct your statement about the music finishing at 5am.
The music stops promptly at 2am, never later. I know this for a fact as our license finishes at 2 and I am responsible for making this happen.

As for the taxi prices, we do not own any taxis and our staff simply quote the price that is told to them by the taxi driver. There is no compulsion to accept this price, in fact to save money, we encourage you or anyone else to get multiple quotes for the purchase of any goods in Koh Samui.

We will pass on your compliments of the clean rooms at Ark Bar to our house-keeping department.

Regards,
Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

781 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    286
    150
    61
    60
See reviews for
19
212
59
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (167)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Geelong, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here with my wife for Australia day and over the Full moon party in January 2013

This place is amazing ! Make sure you spend a little extra and get yourself a junior suit... Breakfast on the beach every morning was amazing... Great party beats pumping out from the DJ's while you swim/tan/drink

The food was also great !

I was very impressed and felt right at home when they played the tripple J hottest 100 and had and special Australia day party :)

Only bad points... When drunk people come home from the clubs between 2-4am it can get a bit noisy

Can't book up food and drinks to your room.. Have to carry cash.

I'll be back !

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2013

Good looking rooms and efficient staff make your Arkbar experience a ready time. They have a huge restaurant / bar and a very nice pool which has a awesome sunken bar in it ! we hear about the noise factor and desired to book only of the room closer to the back . and had no problem what so ever with noise. Over all a very satisfying stay, at a well organised resort, which will be even better once they finish the building.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bodrum City, Turkey
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

nice location and food.

beach partys is very noisy , cant sleep and be careful for your belongings in there.

all customer is young people 17-25 years and all night they are drunk , disturb and hassle to others. if you pay 3000 - 4000 bahts is 100 dollar - 100 euros you want stay peaceful place but here is not. pool is very small and 100s people around pool. not clean

rooms is expensive and very closer to eachother , when you sit balcony face to face with others


restaurant and bar is nice , but too many alternatives around there.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Great location, great pool, great food and great beach partys but unfortunately no sleep until 3-4am becuase of the Djs and 18-25 party people.

So, if you want a party vacation and to sleep until 1pm everyday, then you will have a great time It is expensive at 3500-5000baht the rooms are nice.

Otherwise, if you need your sleep, then come for the party and stay elswehere.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jersey, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Although I did not stay at the Ark resort we came here on new years eve for some drinks before heading to the green mango, however when we paid for our first round of drinks with 1000 baht we were given change as if we'd paid with 500 baht! Although mistakes can happen behind busy bars we clearly gave the girl behind the bar 1000 baht, however she denied this and refused to give us the correct change. She was also extremely rude, I would not recommend this bar based on this. The location however was extremely good and there was a great atmosphere, if you do drink here I would advise to watch your money and your belongings carefully!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pretoria, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Sonkrang Festival in Koh Samui / Chaweng Beach were amazing!! Get a room as far away as possible from the Bar / Swimming Pool.. The Party carries on till early mornings.. The rooms were clean and comfortable.. Food and Drinks at Ark Bar is very expensive and over crowded. For a more relaxed environment walk down the beach to Heaven on Earth for a cocktail and some local food! Rent a scooter from the Hotel and do some sightseeing. Overall not a bad stay apart from the noise..

Room Tip: Far away from the pool and bar unless you want to stay awake till 2am every night..
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#32 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort, in the heart of Chaweng, the ideal location to explore and enjoy this tropical paradise. Enjoy your days under the sun on our 100 metres of spectacular beachfront and 3 swimming pools, while listening to the latest tunes being played by our resident DJ's. You will meet people from all 4 corners of the world here to party or chill in our unique, relaxing, yet vibrant atmosphere. ARKbar Beach Resort is within walking distance to the new Central Plaza Shopping Complex, all the major entertainment venues and hundreds of boutique shops, cafes and restaurants. You can dine on the beach in our beachfront restaurant and relax at any of the 3 beach bars. From 2pm our main swimming features live music while the other 2 pools are more laid back. As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, you will witness the beach transform into a spectacular and unique venue offering a combination of dining, drinking and socialising with free musical entertainment, dancers and fire displays. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ark Bar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.