We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place for social people” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Ark Bar Beach Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Ark Bar Beach Resort to your Saves list
Ark Bar Beach Resort
3.0 of 5 Resort   |   159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #46 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Daegu
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good place for social people”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

After reading many reviews, I stayed at Ark Bar for a week in late August 2012. There were no problems during our trip. The rooms were clean and the staff was friendly. It's definitely not a place for people looking for a quiet vacation (go to Fisherman's village); but for travelers that like to soak in the beach, both day and night, this is a great place to be.

The Good:
- Location (right in the middle of Chaweng)
- Rooms (clean, spacious, free water)
- Service (one of the staff ran over to my room with the wifi password that changes everyday)
- Atmosphere (met lots of good people at the Ark Bar pool)
- Free Hotel Pickup (Make sure to send them an email a few days ahead and get confirmation)

The Ok:
- Quality of Pool (that's one dirty pool. But if you can get over that, there are no problems)
- Towels (watch your towels because people take them, thinking that they belong to the pool and not the individual)
- Not Free Hotel Departure (300 THB was a little unreasonable, but the bigger problem was waiting for the van to arrive. If you're in a hurry walk to street and get a taxi)
- Breakfast (It's ok, but there are better options)

Room Tip: Try to stay closer to the lobby.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

667 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    247
    130
    55
    50
See reviews for
17
187
50
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

We stayed in June and arrived just as the Wednesday pool party was starting, so a great introduction to the hotel, very lively with live dj and band and free BBQ. The location in Chaweng was great, but if you want a fun holiday with good music, food and drink then you don't really need to leave the hotel!

Our room was a junior suite and away from the beach so was nice and quiet. Very clean, good size, nicely decorated.

We'll definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the beach if you want a good night's sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stuttgart
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

The hotel is right at the beach front with nice pools and offers free and fast Internet.

After having booked I asked per email for a room farther away from the noisy bar – never got an answer but they placed me right next to the bar and toilets in the older part of the resort. Probably booking.com customers get the oldest rooms. c
My room / bungalow was small and with old furniture; bathroom absolutely not at standard; toilet dirty; lights and AC not working properly; AC very loud. I made a complaint and asked for an other room. The first person was arrogantly smiling, the second was helpless and the next day the third let me change into an other room after having shown photos of the dirty toilet and the washbasin in my room. The new room was better but certainly not at a 3 star standard: weak light and therefore reading a book was nearly impossible; lights only on the ceiling not even one light at the bed; you can only switch on/off at the door. I didn’t like breakfast (189 Bath) as you get only one cup of tea/coffee and you can choose five items like eggs, bread and butter, sausages, baked beans etc.; not very tasty and every day the same!

Staff in total not very friendly (but few were!). On arrival you have to sign a long contract written in very small letters and hard to read. You also have to pay a deposit of 1000 Baht for the key which you get back the last day – very sensible, especially when flying home the same day; several signs were in my room saying how much you have to pay when losing the different item or making something dirty; very unpleasant atmosphere. There are much better hotels even next door (e.g. Chaweng Garden Beach Resort).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melksham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2012

We stayed here for just 2 nights as part of a large wedding party. On arrival late Tuesday evening I was surprised of how lively the resort was in ark bar 3 . We were checked in very quickly & whisked off to our first floor room.

The room was very well presented with large bedroom area & shower facility but sadly the noisy air con ruined it.

Breakfast was very good with a list given to people to tick off what 5 items you wanted & then it was cooked fresh to order. You could eat each morning overlooking the sea pure bliss.

The resort had 3 pools one freshwater which was lovely but I only managed a quick dip. The whole area came alive at night with food & drink being served throughout. The hotel is an ideal cheap base for sunbathing & clubbing

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

We stayed in a junior deluxe suite, a few blocks from the Beach, we asked for a quite room during check-in. Wednesday's and Friday's The Ark Bar is hosting a Beach party from 2 pm to 2 am, and includes a free BBQ at 4 pm. Our room seemed to be newly renovated, and cleaning was spotless. The Hotel has a very big Restaurant where they offer a good variety of good freshly made food. But if you are not into House and Lounge music, you should find yourself another Hotel, because they only play this types of music. We would for sure go back if we take another trip to Samui. Go and enjoy.

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for two nights. Lazing by the pool during the day, close to the shopping strip, and right on the beach.

The cocktails are average as is the food. The fire twirlers were wicked. Getting hassled repeatedly for photos with monkeys and lizards gets tiresome.

Good place to go with a group of friends to watch the bar come alive at night.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

I loved Ark Bar! Clean room, good bar/restaurant serving wide range of food and drinks, beach parties with fire displays, immaculate toilets by the pool and bar area.

Whoever said that they play techno all day long clearly doesn't know the difference between techno and funky house. I loved the music, and really enjoyed the live saxophonist and percussion who played alongside the DJ most afternoons. The sunbeds are transformed in the evening into reclining tables with table cloths and they put up flower lights. It looks beautiful.

Initially we booked for three nights, but then decided to extend our stay for another four nights.

The restaurant serves good food. The 'big breakfast' is pretty good value too. I thought the staff were lovely - if a little overworked as it was so busy at times.

The negatives: some beach vendors are very persistent. They would wake us up by banging their wares on our sunbeds!

I didn't hear the music late at night (our room was on the top floor) but the hotel is under the flight path for the airport and was woken every morning from about 6am onwards by the sound of planes taking off and landing.

We didn't leave our hotel for most of the week as we loved the restaurant and bar here. Everywhere else felt sub standard. However, when we moved on to the next place, we realised we had been in a little Ark Bar bubble and that there was a lot more to explore in Chaweng.

As we left, the hotel was (justifiably) fully booked for several weeks ahead.

Read the reviews below. If you don't like house music, busy atmosphere, lots of twenty somethings larking about, this may not be for you. I'm a lot older but really enjoyed it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, away from the bar area if you want a quieter room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Ark Bar Beach Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ark Bar Beach Resort

Address: 159/89 Moo 2 | Chaweng Beach, Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ark Bar Beach Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
"ESCAPE YOUR WORLD AND PLAY IN OURS" We invite you to ARKbar Beach Resort and over 100 metres of spectacular beachfront. Here, at ARKbar, you can enjoy the tropical beaches and climate, meet people from all 4 corners of the world and party or chill in a unique relaxing yet vibrant atmosphere.ARKbar Beach Resort is conveniently located in the centre of Chaweng Beach and boasts over 250 rooms, the largest beach restaurant in Thailand, 3 beach bars, International DJ's, live musicians, fire shows and constant activity. During the afternoon, you have the choice of relaxing or partying at any of the 3 swimming pools or on famous Chaweng Beach, while enjoying a meal, a cold beer or perhaps indulge in a famous ARKbar cocktail. After this experience you will understand why we say "Afternoons at Ark Bar R Compulsory".As the evening sun sets over this tropical paradise, the beach transforms into a stunning and unique venue with a combination of dining, drinking, socialising with spectacular free entertainment every night. It is here that you can be a part of the world famous ARKbar Wednesday and Funky Friday Beach Party's."Escape Your World and Play In Ours" ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Ark Bar Beach Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ark Bar Beach Hotel Chaweng
Ark Bar Beach Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ark Bar Beach Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.