We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful resort, not so helpful staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirikayan Boutique Resort

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Kirikayan Boutique Resort to your Saves list
Kirikayan Boutique Resort
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
melbourne
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful resort, not so helpful staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

We stayed at this resort between 10th June 2013- 13th June 2013 in one of the two the Jaccuzzi Suites.
The room was stunning, absolutely beautiful furnishings however the standout would have to be the private balcony area including outside jaccuzzi overlooking the beach. This room type is fenced off from passing traffic which meant it was very quiet.
Unfortunately you are only povided with one key which operates the airconditioning and as such, it gets very, very humid in the room and takes some time to cool down. This is due to the beautifully high ceilings.
The breakfast is pretty average, however being a boutique hotel my expectations were not high.
The only really downside to this hotel is the staff. There are many, many steps up to the hoptel reception and no help is given to bring you bags up for check in, or down to street level when checking out.

Room Tip: The jaccuzzi suite is a must. I would only stay in this room at this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    71
    50
    21
    6
    13
See reviews for
23
89
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2013

The hotel is located at the quieter end of Chaweng beach. Rooms are somewhat trendy but they do not have sea views or a balcony since they are side ways on located. Since each room entrance is located on a common walkway access, room blinds have to be kept close which makes the room dark.

Towards the beachfront, there is a swimming pool and a patio with sun beds, and nice red umbrella’ however in some respects, the swimming pool feature is bad, as it tends to attract groups of noisy people. There are a number of sun beds located down on the beach, which are much quieter. The beach here is very good, fine sand, shallow water that makes it very kid friendly.

One rather has the feeling that this hotel is trying to be abit too fancy and while the hardware is in place, staff were generally found to be ho hum and nothing special. Service at the pool area was very slow, however there is a happy hour 5 – p.m. which offers a very good cocktail selection.

Room Tip: Ask for room on second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland, New Zealand
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

We stayed at Kirikayan Boutique last year and we loved it. This year when it came time to book our honeymoon we wanted to return, but we were concerned because there were some low reviews on tripadvisor at the time, and we considered booking somewhere else. After much discussion and research we decided to go back to Kirikayan, because we loved it so much last time and we think that some reviewers are not happy with anything.

On entering our room, after a quick and easy check in with a complimentary cold drink and towel, my husbands reaction was 'man, what do some people want?', the room had been decorated for our honeymoon with petals and towels shaped as swans, champagne and a cake, besides that, it was a lovely room, large with cool decor. The resort was still beautiful, the staff polite and efficient, we just couldn't see why anyone would not be happy, especially for the price. Yes the pool is not huge and the breakfast selection isn't huge either, but there is a clue in the name of the resort, 'boutique', it is simple economies of scale, and both the pool and breakfast are perfectly adequate.

The beach is also very nice at this end of Chaweng, at the north end the sand isn't so nice and the water stays shallow for ages, but the south is good for swimming and sunbathing. We also enjoyed the daily happy hour at the pool, and the massages at the resort, which were reasonably priced. We would happily stay at Kirikayan again.


The only thing that I didn't enjoy about the resort was the music at breakfast, they seemed to only have one CD, which they played constantly. By the end of our stay it was doing my head in.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2013

We had 8 nights here and planned to do alot of other things besides relaxation in this beautiful Boutique accommodation.
the staff and location was just so beautiful we could do nothing but relax and enjoy the ambiance of the place.
The rooms had a special feel & touches.
Wiw would not hesitate to return and stay longer!! Loved it. !!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porto
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Our wedding cerimony was on Chaweng Beach, planned and organized with the kirikayan staff. It was the best day off our life. The staff was great. Everything was perfect. food, decoration. All aranged by email. We had a trueTthai show during the dinner with dancers and local music. Very nice. Kirikayan is located on the best point off the beach, far from noice and. cocktails at the swimming pool are very good. the music on the reception is lounge type. I recommend you to stay here if you want a truely Thai vacations.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

We had 3 nights here and wish we had the whole 12 nights here. Greeted at the front with our bags taken straight to our room. We got there two hours prior to our check in time and they were not bothered at all.

Massages are great, location is the best, hotel rooms are funky and most of all is the service. The gay guy at front reception was a pleasure to deal with and had my misses giggling and laughing.

Well done guys you all do a great job!

Rob and Gin

Room 1/4

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane, Australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2013

My Husband and I stayed here in March and found this "Boutique" Hotel to be just what we expected. Sure the Hotel Pool is not large but there is on huge ocean just steps down to the beach and this is what we came for. Water was just glorious. Rooms have everything you could want and we upgraded to the upstairs area which gave us a separate lounge area. We found all the staff were very pleasant and helpful. Breakfast was great in the open air area and everything we required. Loved the location and would certainly come back again. If you had to find something wrong it would be not to expect a balcony with a sea view as this is not the way the Hotel is laid out. All in all a great stay

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirikayan Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirikayan Boutique Resort

Address: Chaweng Beach, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84330, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#15 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#34 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Kirikayan Boutique Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook and Tingo so you can book your Kirikayan Boutique Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirikayan Boutique Hotel Chaweng
Kirikayan Boutique Resort Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirikayan Boutique Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.