We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not quite satisfied” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Charming

Charming
13/3 Moo 3 Chaweng Noi, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
0858853846
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #66 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 87 Reviews
Cuisines: Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Austria
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Not quite satisfied”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

The coffee machine did not work so we didn't get any coffee and the meal was extremely spicy. We did not order it this way and it was not written spicy in the menu.

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    32
    7
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Not quite charming”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2012 via mobile

The best part of dinner was the coconut shake, tough it was a tad too sweet.

For starters, we had a shrimp glass noddles salad and a lobster soup. The shrimp was over boiled and not too clean. The salad was soaked with lemmon juice as dressing. The soup was completely tasteless, and the bits of lobster were over cooked.

Our mains included BBQ prawn, stir fried noodles with vegetables and beef, and a red curry beef. The BBQ prawns had too much raw garlic on it. The noodles were dry and boring. And the curry was reasonable, but not too rich in flavor.

All in all, don't hesitate to skip.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“This is the place to go to eat in Samui.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2012 via mobile

We have been regular visitors to Samui for five years and this is the best!! Delicious food, amazing value and lovely family running it.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
los angeles, california
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“They have moved across the street”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

This restaurant has moved from the beachfront location, about 500 meters north on the ring road, across the street. The new location is spacious, and the food is still quite good. Recommended.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Best seafood in the world!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2011

My husband and I spent our honeymoon at the Impiana Resort in Koh Samui and Charming restaurant is just a short stroll along the beach.

We ate here 5 times in 5 days. The best seafood ever!!

We picked our fresh seafood from a boat filled with ice, sat on beach chairs with our feet in the water watching the sun go down, eating all the seafood you can think of. Crab, lobster, calamari, prawns (giant!) etc.

We asked them to choose how our food was cooked, and they suggested to have crab in the black pepper sauce. OMG! Best taste we have ever tried! We have tried cooking it many times since coming home, but can't match it! We would go back to Koh Samui just to eat here!

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Charming also viewed

 

Been to Charming? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Charming, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.