We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Close to be perfect !” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Sareeraya Villas & Suites to your Saves list
Sareeraya Villas & Suites
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Close to be perfect !”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from a 6 night stay. Overall this is a great hotel !!
We started with a room on the third floor which was decent in size but we didn't like the fact that it was a corner room which had a lot of street noise and felt a bit remoted from the main hotel facilities. We upgraded (with additional cost) to a villa which was superb. The pledge pool wasn't very useful as it was extremely cold, but other then that its was perfect. We had some minor issues with housekeeping service, but after saying something to the front desk things were sorted. Breakfast is great. Generally the food was excellent, a bit on the expensive side, same for the drinks. Wait for the happy hour at 4pm for our cocktails. One point that needs improvement is the pool boys service. They aren't noticed enough and aren't providing the service you would expect in an hotel of this level. Beach was perfect , always clean. While we were there there were 2 weddings. One night loud music went till almost mid night. As this is a very small hotel, frequent events like this are very distractive for guest which are not members of this event. Gym is available but very small and limited in equipment.

If you are looking for a compact, cozy resort this is a good choice for you.

Overall, this is a very recommended resort. Both for families and couples.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Erannn,

Thank you for choosing Sareeraya Villas & Suites and for your positive comments on our accommodations and services.

Our Suite Jacuzzi rooms on the second and third floor are highly recommended by our guests, however, we understand that everyone have their preferences. Our villas are exclusive, private and beautifully furnished and we are glad you enjoyed your stay in one of them. The plunge pools in the villas are great for relaxing and cooling off on a hot day.

Our gym is equipped with a variety of modern facilities and different workout options, including cardiovascular and strength training equipment and exercise mats and balls, and it fulfills the needs of most of our guests.

Our Hotel offers a perfect setting for just about any occasion and every now and then we arrange outdoor celebrations and weddings on the beach. The volume of the music is turned down at 10 pm and each party finishes latest by midnight. We apologize for any inconveniences experienced during these events.

We are grateful for the pool feedback and promise to do better in the future.

We appreciate your business and certainly hope you choose Sareeraya Villas & Suites again in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

534 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    140
    42
    14
    12
See reviews for
76
323
8
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Upminster, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

We arrived home yesterday(22/3/13) after 11 nights at the Sareeraya so this report is being written with everything still fresh in the memory.


Location

Situated at the north end of Chewang which is more quieter and only a ten minute walk into the main strip which was more busier.

Check-in

We arrived in the late afternoon so are room ready for us so we only had the normal check-in formalities to follow, our bags were taken directly to our room. Check-in was smooth with no issues.

Room

We stayed in suite 309 on the 3rd floor, room was a good size, lots of space, clean. I read a few reports of the rooms being too small but I personally cannot agree with that. The outside deck/balcony had another bed to lay on and chill and take in the view of the sea. Another plus side of being on the north block was that the balconies could not been seen from the beach or pool area unlike the other block.

Food/Restaurant (chef's Table)

On the days that we did make it to breakfast we had no complaints, firstly you're sitting overlooking the sea/pool to start with! The restaurant caters for almost everyone, from Asian breakfast to a western one. The Chef will cook you anything that has an egg in it and anyway you want it! Waffles to Eggs benedict it was there to be cooked, you ougl also choose from - sausages, bacon, fried tomatoes, Cold meats, croissants, pastries, Cheeses, freshly cut fruit, smoothies (Banana was a favorite), fresh juices, cereals. I defy someone not to find something here!

As for Dinner we never actually ate in the restaurant but did have lunch around the pool and Room service and the food was fine, green curries, dried Red King Prawn Curry, Pad Thai, Satay Chicken and vegetable spring rolls being our favorites.


Pool/Beach area

Plenty of beds and towels for everyone, did make me laugh how some people still felt the need to get down early a reserve a spot, this was not necessary. In the first week there was just enough people there not to feel overcrowded in the small pool but in the second week the introduction of a few families meant the pool was often crowded and noisy. Beach area was ok, cleaned every day, sea was safe to swim in and warm although if you take a few minutes’ walk either side of the hotel had clearer waters.


Staff/Service

Cannot fault the staff in any shape, everyone was friendly and there to service you. Pool boys certainly deserved their tips!

Transit Room

Clean, air condition, lockers for your valuables. Well worth it if you have a late flight!

Negatives - The only real negative we had was the clientele, there were individuals/families who had no respect was the staff or anyone else having a holiday. Personally I think this hotel would be more suited to a couple’s only resort.

Room Tip: Get the hotel to pick you up at the airport, same price as taxi and much quicker. If you're in a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Gav8672,

Many thanks for your excellent review. We are delighted to note that you had a relaxing and comfortable stay with us and that we succeeded to meet your expectations in so many aspects. Our rooms are very spacious and we are glad to hear you enjoyed the perfect location our hotel offers.

Our hotel mostly caters to honeymooners and couples, as we do not have kids club on site or any other activities available for children. However, holiday seasons always tend to attract more families than usual.

Nevertheless, thank you for staying with us. We hope to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

Our fourth visit to Thailand we decided to have a break at a smaller boutique hotel.
Sareeraya was perfect.
We stayed on the third floor which enjoyed a beautiful view. On arrival which was early we were offered a downstairs pool access room as a complimentary upgrade.
We preferred the view so waited. Not disappointed.
Our room was beautiful, very well appointed with a great double day bed on the balcony which was very private.
The breakfast next to the beach was lovely ( need to get a better orange juice as I didn't like the one you have)
Pool great...the whole hotel was visually magnificent.
Not too far to walk to al the action.
One problem which is not the hotels fault was the dirty water just outside the hotel. The sand is cleaned every morning but the water is uncap pealing and with some nasty unseen sharp rocks...ouch !
All in all we loved it and the staff....nothing was a problem
Nearly forgot the nice little touch's of thongs sunhat and beach bag....very well done.
Highly recommended

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, April 2, 2013
Dear Trouter1,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites and for taking the time to post your wonderful review of your recent stay. We are very glad that you enjoyed all the various aspects of your visit, especially the accommodation and the breakfast.

During the summer months, the water sea level is usually lower than average and limits swimming possibilities around Koh Samui. The water is not dirty however; it simply reflects the color of the light brown sand underneath the water.

All in all, thank you for your recommendation and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

Mostly good, and has potential. The quirks were
1) Breakfast was very good for the price, with an excellent view
2) rooms were very very large
3) bathroom was extremely large
4) Beautiful rooftops and gardens - when it rains, it's very breathtaking, like a scene from a movie. Not many places has this romantic rain-gazing effect on me.
5) for chaweng standards, a very nice overall communal feel with a beautiful view of the beach

There were a few minor things that did make me say that value was not fantastic, but rather fair is that 1) most places that charge $200USD in low season would have sheets that feel crisp. Here, they were definitely damp, and a little soft.
2) The gym was very tiny, and you have to cross the busy road for it. As well as their Spa centre
3) Rooms felt damp, a little old, dark, and barren. Quality of decor was not entirely there for the price.
4) The waiting room downstairs wasnt not very pleasant at all... no windows, very claustrophobic, and we were left to wait in there for almost an hour, after being made to wait upstairs for almost half an hour. yet we did not arrive earlier than our estimated time of arrival. BUt it may be because it was very busy that day

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear iLiveToLive,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Sareeraya Villas & Suites whilst in Koh Samui and for taking the time to share your feedback. We are happy to learn that your stay with us was mostly good and that you in particular enjoyed our views, breakfast and the small boutique feel of our resort.

We regret that you did not find our rooms and room décor to be up to your standards. The rooms does get dark when the sun starts to set, however, the lights create a cozy, warm atmosphere in the rooms. We would also like to let you know that our bed sheets are 300 thread count cotton.

Our gym is equipped with a variety of modern facilities and different workout options, including cardiovascular and strength training equipment and exercise mats and balls, and it fulfills the needs of most of our guests. You are right the spa and the gym are located on the other side of the road, however, our security guards are on standby to assist our guests to cross the road.

We guarantee check-in time at 2pm and while we are happy to accommodate early check-in when we can, it is normally out of our control, as we rely on the check-out time (latest at 12 noon) of our departing guests to determine when rooms are able to be prepared for the new guest. Informing us of your arrival time beforehand helps us to allocate guest rooms upon arrival more efficiently, however, it does not guarantee an early check-in.

Whilst our transit lounge is located on the ground floor of our main building, it is equipped with bathrooms with showers and bathroom amenities, TV, daily newspaper, computers with Internet and comfy sofa chairs for our guests to relax in. It is a good option for those, who prefer staying inside with an air-conditioner to waiting at our open air lobby, pool or restaurant.

All in all, many thanks again for staying with us. We hope to be able to welcome you back sometime in the future.

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We stayed at Sareeraya for 6 nights on our honeymoon and it was a great location to be on in Koh Samui. We wanted to be close enough to restaurants, bars and shops but far enough away to get some peace and quiet. Sareeraya was the best location for that. A ten min walk to the main part of Chaweng, or 50 Baht per person in a shared taxi. It’s on a lovely part of the beach and while the beach isn’t private or owned by the hotel, it’s quiet. There is good security at the beach/pool area too to ensure that only guests use the facilities. This meant that our belongings were safe left by our sun lounger when we went for a stroll along the beach. The pool area is nice, no shortage of loungers and plenty of beach tennis sets to borrow too. The swim up bar is good, always staffed and the cocktails are excellent!
Breakfast is good, nice selection. We never ate in the restaurant in the evening, but we did have the beach buffet one night which was great, the staff were good and the food was excellent. Very good value for money, especially if you’re hungry!
Our room was very nice, huge, with a nice bathroom and we had a pool access room. We did request this room, but I wish we had chosen a room with a Jacuzzi bath on the balcony instead. The pool access rooms are on the ground floor and are quite dark as there is no view, just a concrete wall. It’s also not private, as we lay on our deck there were both staff walking by and people from adjacent rooms swimming up to our room. There is also a lot of traffic noise from the road.
Check in was good, and quick, we were given garlands, cold towels and drinks and the overview of our room and facilities was very good. The beach bag and hats were a nice touch and proved useful.
We were disappointed that we had no wifi in our room and mentioned this to staff on a number of occasions but nothing was done. We asked for a free airport transfer to make up for this and after a bit of back and forth the hotel finally agreed.
This is a nice hotel, maybe a little rough around the edges making it fall short of 5*

Room Tip: Not the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Flossykins,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience and for the good review. We are glad to know that you were happy with our accommodations, services and convenient location. We are really fortunate to be located on the quieter Northern part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance of a vast range of shops, restaurants and nightlife.

Our Pool Access rooms are ideal for guests wanting direct access to the pool from their room, however, they do not have views as you mention as they are located on the ground floor of our three story building. As the pool is shared, it probably has a little less privacy than other room types, nevertheless, it is still very much liked by our guests due to the convenience of the pool, Jacuzzi and the outdoor shower. Perhaps on your next visit, you could try one of the suites on the second or third floor, or one of our pool villas with a private Jacuzzi plunge pool.

We offer complimentary WIFI in the rooms and in all public areas of our resort for the convenience of our guests and apologize for the weak signal and internet connection failure in your room. The problem occurred nearby your room and unfortunately took us a little longer than expected to fix it. We apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused you. Please note that we have already rectified the issue and are also currently on process of upgrading our system. We are confident that you will experience the difference on your next stay with us.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We stayed at the Sareeraya last May/June 2012 and our trip could not have been any more perfect! We were in Thailand for 3 weeks, 2 of which were spent here as we were getting married at a private villa on the other side of the island- subsequently we had family and guests staying with us, all who have been nothing but complimentary towards the staff and facilities.

We opted for the pool villa (overlooking the pool/beach) as we were there for such a special occasion and upon arrival found that our suite had been beautifully decorated with rose petals and complimentary bottle of sparkling wine left on ice for us!

Pool was beautiful, breakfast yummy (especially the eggs benedict!) cocktails superb and the staff were wonderful to both us and all of our guests.... Three days before checkout, the hotel Manager greeted us in the lobby to offer us the Presidential suite for the remainder of our stay, a thoughtful touch to end our already wonderful time with Sareeraya!

We have recommended this hotel to any friends who have/are visiting Koh Samui and we hope to return one day- just the two of this time though!!!

Thank you to all the team at the Sareeraya for making our wedding stay a once in a lifetime experience <3

Room Tip: Pool villa with sea view if you can!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, March 24, 2013
Dear LivingVentures,

Thank you for choosing to stay in Sareeraya Villas & Suites last May/June and providing such a wonderful review. We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay at our resort, especially the service, the facilities and the restaurant. Glad you also liked the surprise room upgrade. It was a pleasure to have you here and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed here for 9nights for our 30th wedding anniversary and to relax after our daughters wedding 2 days prior. On arrival we had rose petals in our bath, a rose petal heart on our bed and a bottle of champagne. It rained for our first 2 days so we spent a lot of time in our room, swimming in our private courtyard pool, watching free DVDs supplied at the hotel and even a visit at the free gym. The breakfast was excellent each morning and the view across the white sandy beaches welcoming. It's location was perfect being within walking distance to shops but far enough away to be private and quiet. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We would definitely recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ekorpivu, Sales & Customer Relationship Manager at Sareeraya Villas & Suites, responded to this review, March 18, 2013
Dear Susan H,

Thank you for your kind review. We are glad you enjoyed your special anniversary break with us and that you found our hotel services and facilities excellent. The location of our hotel is ideal, we are set on the quieter northern part of Chaweng beach within walking distance of a vast range of shops, restaurants and nightlife. Thank you for your recommendation and we hope you will visit us again soon!

Best Regards,
Elisa Korpivuoma
Sales & Customer Relationship Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sareeraya Villas & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sareeraya Villas & Suites

Address: 100 / 1 Moo2, Chaweng Beach Rd., Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#18 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sareeraya Villas & Suites 5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Offering 49 exquisite suites and pool villas, Sareeraya Villas & Suites is conveniently set on the quieter part of Chaweng Beach within walking distance to the most popular shopping, nightlife and entertainment area. Each villa provides a private plunge pool while each suite features a spacious terrace with ocean view or outdoor Jacuzzi. The hotel facilities include Raya Spa, Gym, Swimming pool, Transit Lounge, Chef’s Table Restaurant, Read Red Bar, Her Bar & Free WIFI Access. The perfect environment for people who are looking for pleasure, exclusivity and relaxation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Asiatravel.com Holdings and Agoda so you can book your Sareeraya Villas & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sareeraya Villas Hotel Chaweng
Sareeraya Villas And Suites
Sareeraya Villas & Suites Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sareeraya Villas & Suites, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.