We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Orchid Restaurant & Bar

The Orchid Restaurant & Bar
167/28 M2, Chaweng Beach Road, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui, Thailand
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 137 Restaurants in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 160 Reviews
Price range: $4 - $23
Cuisines: Asian, Thai, International, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Victoria, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great place!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

We didn't discover this gem until our 2nd to last night, otherwise would have made this our "regular". The food was great and the service even better. Small place, but well worth the visit. Menu has everything and anything you could want. Next time in Samui, we'll definitely be going back!

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    51
    11
    8
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, South Africa
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“DELICIOUS THAI FOOD”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2014

Lovely “family run” restaurant in central Chaweng. Delicious Thai food cooked by family members and nice interaction with UK/English speaking owner & good service. Found their prices for imported (bottle) wine some of the best while in Chaweng. Good food + good wine = VERY NICE!

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
“Excellent Quality, Excellent Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

The restaurant is part owned by (Andy) an ex-Brit, After finding this place we looked no further and went back every night. Andy was friendly and helpful as were the rest of his staff. The food was of excellent quality, excellent value and 'safe'.If you are there this year try it for a meal you will not be disappointed.

Visited January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karratha, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great food, great service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2014

We ordered a beer, 1 soft drink, 2 curries and 2 rice and the bill came to 485 baht! Service was friendly, and fast. Will definetly come back here next time we are in samui.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ashford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food and friendly staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

I ordered a Penang and it was excellent and I didn't want it to end it was that good. The green curry was okay and have better. The portion size wasn't the biggest but the value was excellent. The cheesy garlic bread was very tasty and garlicky. I would defiantly recommend and go back 656bht for a meal for two (2 mains 2 soft drinks and a starter)

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Orchid Restaurant & Bar also viewed

 

Been to The Orchid Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orchid Restaurant & Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.