We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value for Chaweng Beach” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Samui Resotel and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Samui Resotel and Spa to your Saves list
Samui Resotel and Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   17 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #30 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Mermaid Waters, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Good Value for Chaweng Beach”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

We had five nights here and this was the last hotel on our holiday. We were a little bit apprehensive about it as there had been some negative reviews about this hotel including the noise from the road but I have only good things to say about this hotel. The staff were friendly, especially at breakfast, nothing was too much trouble for the staff. The rooms, pool and grounds were well looked after and clean. The breakfast was one of the best on our 3 week trip with lots of variety to choose from and different bakery items daily. We had a deluxe sea view room on the third floor and as you can see from our photos we had a great view with a large balcony and a comfy lounge to sit on. The bed and pillows were the most comfortable on the whole of our trip and we were not disturbed by any noise from the road at all. I have already recommended this hotel to friends and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    122
    47
    14
    16
See reviews for
41
196
11
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (69)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
148 reviews 148 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed as a couple in a pool villa from April 7-12. Place is fantastic, great food, drinks, location, amenities and staff. We had the absolute pleasure of dealing with a young lady named Ratchy, a number of times we spoke with her over dinner, during walkabouts through resort and finally she arranged our transfer which had not shown up to go to our next location. We will return for the resort and the staff. Absolute credit to the resort management.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Nice hotel for Chaweng beach and far enough away from the noise to be able to relax. Stayed here in garden villa for two nights and enjoyed it but there was one thing that would probably make me look elsewhere next time. I’ll start with what I liked first.
Pros:
1) Great location
2) Amazing beach and nice pool.
3) Nice rooms
4) Friendly Staff
Cons:
1) A/C: Extremely loud and does not work well. For some reason they have placed the A/C condenser units right next to the entrance of the villas. They are very loud and you can hear them through the door as your sleeping. Not very peaceful. In addition to them being very loud they did not work well. The room never got below 28 C even though we had it set at 20 C and let it run all night. I switched rooms because of this but they were all the same. The hotel might want to think about upgrading the a/c units in the villas and then I wouldn’t have any complaints.

Room Tip: recommend getting an ocean pool villa. pricey but looked very nice with great views right on the be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, May 1, 2013
Dear Guest

Thank you very much for taking the time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel. We are very happy to learn that during stay with you are are very happy for our service and facility.

I would be promised that our service will be continue and will be upgarde more that before, I would take pleasure in welcoming you back agian.During stay should we have any inconvenince i would like to apologized.

Should you have any further assistance please do not hesittae to contact me'


With best regard.

The managment team
Samui Resotel Beach Resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

When we thought about going to Thailand, one of the biggest factors that we were looking forward to, was staying in luxurious hotel for a very cheap price. We did our research and found some great deals at the Samui Resotel.

When we first arrived we were greeted by some lovely friendly staff, who gave us a nice cold fruit drink upon arrival and took us up to our room. It's very modern feeling, as we went up we noticed at the front of the hotel, over the road, some quite unsightly scenery. On the beach facing side though - beautiful views. Our room was clean and spacious with a luxurious feel. It had a great air-con, good balcony and a walk through door to our friends' room. It was clean, and cleaned regularly.

The pool is great, there is a bar in the pool and we spent a lot of time sitting talking to the waiter and sampling the various cocktails on offer. It is very quiet and relaxing.

The gym was never used, it was small and we couldn't see anything in there we thought was worth using.

We booked 3 nights there initially, then if we wanted to move on somewhere else we had the flexibility to do so. In the end, we decided to stay for another 4 nights and book this face-to-face with a little of the standard Thai bartering, we were able to negotiate an upgrade on our room for a very cheap price. This is something I would tell everyone to bear in mind with regards to hotels in Koh Samui. Everything is cheaper when purchased face to face - they expect you to barter!

The second room we had was beautiful, it had its own private pool which adjoined other rooms, free standing bath and again was very clean. White is a theme that runs through all the rooms which creates a very relaxing a clean feeling.

Food - we had breakfast a couple of times and it was very nice, good choice. The drinks and other food here, we felt were quite expensive.

Location wise - it wasn't the best. It is quite a walk up to the main strip of markets and bars, but only about 2 minutes by taxi or moped. It is right on the beach which was very quiet at the top end (where this hotel is situated).

Overall I would thoroughly recommend The Samui Resotel. Its very relaxing, luxurious and clean. Location is slightly out of the way but this could be a benefit if you truly wish to relax.

Room Tip: Barter face to face - get a better deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you have any incoveneince please apologized.We will continious our srvice and facility and hoping that still have a chance for your kind spend a holiday again.Regarding your suggesion we will improved.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

The Samui Resotel is a nice little hotel in a great location. Its located away from the real busy Chaweng but is within walking distance to the main part of town. It has private access to Chaweng beach and its own little section of the beach that is quiet and private, much nicer than the rest of Chaweng beach.

The rooms are modern and well equipped with a bright and beachy feel. We were very well looked after by the staff and the grounds of hotel, while not super luxurious, are still very nice. The whole resort has a very modern and clean feel to it. If you are after something in the medium price range with a great location, especially for couples, I would check out the Resotel.

Room Tip: If you are staying in a room and not a Villa then go for a higher floor away from the pool level. Th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked & stayed for 6 nights at the end of Feb to start of March, this was out of a two week stay throughout Thailand. I booked this hotel even with considering some of the bad reviews, I thought most decent hotels have the occasional bad review by people that are too picky but now after paying a some of money to stay in the private ocean pool villa, I feel I should have paid closer attention to the bad reviews.

Pros: the beach pool villa is amazing, the view is breathtaking & was the best view I've ever experienced of the beach, the pool is beautiful all day long as well as at night. The housekeeping is quick & thorough & the room is bright, airy & spacious for two people.

The beach in front on the hotel is the cleanest beach on the stretch of Chaweng Beach & the guys that act as life savers & patrol the beachfront do a good job considering. The food in the resort is also tasty, clean & arrived quickly. The hotel is in the better part of Chaweng, with not so much human or car traffic, it's also away from the dirtier beaches & smelly drains. Some of the staff were friendly.

Cons: the room we were in looked to be trashed by former guests, we found cigarette butts throughout the room, bathroom & pool area, I know this is house keepings responsibility but how filthy can you be as a guest by stuffing cigarette butts behind the toilet & shower drain, really not nice for the next guests. The pool villa also isn't that private, my partner & I felt uncomfortable at how easy it was for the neighbours to see what we were doing, also there was one little walkway next to our villa, of course it was protected by bush but you could still see into the pool villa & room. This made for awkward moments when people would easily walk up the hotels beach access & wonder around looking at the hotel. These people were not guests of the hotel just nosey tourist, peering in on you swimming in what's suppose to be a private pool villa. Very uncomfortable, if you stay & feel uncomfortable about the privacy in your villa ask to be moved, wish we did.

At the time the bar that had the best views was constantly closed except for a wedding that was held there, this was disappointing.

The hotel itself is nice but for the money I spent I feel I could of done better, I can't say much about the other room types but I feel the pool villa would have to be the nicer of the rooms, the view & pool are worth it but that's as far as I go.


A tip: the dodgy Thai restaurant directly across the hotel is the best Thai in Chaweng, we tried so many of the top suggested & nothing compared to the taste & price of the ladies across the road.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you have any incoveneince please apologized.You may also be interested that just this week we have starting a technician to fidn that how we can do more private area of our villa.

Should you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karachi, Sindh, Pakistan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2013

We booked the Samui Resotel Hotel after deliberating over hotel choices for a long long time - we wanted to stay near the busy Chaweng Beach but still have some privacy. In that regards, this hotel is ideal.

We arrived at 10 am, and were told to spend some time around the pool area while our room was prepared. I had originally booked a Deluxe Sea View Room, and had written to the hotel to get a room on a higher floor and with some privacy as I was travelling with my wife. The hotel surprised us by upgrading us to a Deluxe room with connected pool and Jacuzzi! The room itself was clean and beautiful.

Just to highlight some more pluses for the hotels

- The ladies at the reception desk were very nice and friendly and always helped us out. Ms. Pom who was there at the day of the check-in was very nice as well.
- The room service was excellent, the pools were cleaned daily, and rooms twice a day. Many times we were napping when room service was dropping by, but later when we called them they were in and out in 15 minutes leaving the room spick and span.
- The beach area is pretty clean, but Chaweng beach as a whole is not that scenic. However, the hotel offers many benches so you will always have an area to sit and soak the sun. There is a spa on the beach as well. The beach is at the end of main Chaweng so is quite isolated without being too far as well.
- The hotels location is right near main Chaweng shopping ann restaurants, we had a lovely time strolling to find new restaurants and shops.
- Tours can be booked right at the front desk.
- Some people complained about the charged Wi-Fi which is a bit silly since you can just buy unlimited monthly internet for THB 399 (USD 11 approx) which is a much better option especially if you are using GPS etc.
- The bed is perhaps the softest, most comfortable bed I have ever found at any hotel!

Room Tip: The pool connected villas are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SamuiResotel, Manager at Samui Resotel and Spa, responded to this review, April 29, 2013
Dear Guest

Greeting from Samui resotel Beach Resort.

Thank you very much for your kind spend a holiday with our hotel and kindly taking time to provided your feedback regarding our hotel, Certainly during saty with us should you ahve any incoveneince please apologized.

Shoudl you ahve any further assistance plaese do not hesitate to conatct me.We wish you have a nice day


Best regards;

The managment team
Samui resotel Beach resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Samui Resotel and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Samui Resotel and Spa

Address: 17 Moo 3, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#18 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#21 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#23 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#26 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Samui Resotel and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 79
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Priceline, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Samui Resotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Samui Resotel Hotel Koh Samui
Samui Resotel And Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Samui Resotel and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.