We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok but not Great” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Nora Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
4.5 of 5 stars 572 Reviews
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Ok but not Great”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We organised an airport transfer, but when we arrived we had to call the hotel a couple of times, we got the impression we were forgotten. Once we arrived the staff were friendly and helpful, particularly the security guards helping you cross the road. We got a hillside room, which was on a really steep hill, we had to catch the buggy each time. The bars were good, however the pricing higher than expected. We found ourselves bar hopping for the happy hours to keep costs in check. The spa and massage was good, but again on the expensive side. The beach was terrible, you'll definitely find yourselves predominately using the pools. The shuttle service to and from Chaweng was good to have, but they really needed more services. They also need to actually check those who've registered against those actually boarding. We were caught out waiting for a second shuttle for 45mins in Chaweng, because when the first arrived and the doors opened people just pushed their way on. Would consider other accomodation next time.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Aimee Richard,

Thank you very much for your recent stay with us at the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
It is very disappointing to learn that your stay was not up to your expectations.
I apologize for the mistake that happened to us upon your arrival. We never intended to give you the impression of being forgotten.
I am aware of the fact that our beach is not as wide as others and might be a bit rocky. However, we are trying to compensate this with our two pool areas, which indeed are also the perfect place to relax and enjoy a beautiful view across the ocean.
I am sorry about your incident with the shuttle bus in Chaweng. I was not aware of this problem, but I will discuss this issue with my staff, to make sure that this does not happen again.
Thank you again for staying with us.


Best Regards

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    327
    147
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
72
318
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Patong, Thailand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

Wow wow wow!!!!! Is all I can say :-) from the moment we entered the resort till the day we departed was absolutely amazing. We stayed at Nora buri for 7 nights and had 42 family and friends stay at the resort with us and witness our marriage organised by the delightful Michelle our wedding planner. Words cannot describe the beautiful sea views from the whole resort, 2 awesome swimming pools and fantastic happy staff. All our wedding guests were so impressed by the staff and how they all went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. To the General manager and Michelle...... no words can describe how wonderful you made me and Ben's wedding day!!! From the flowers, venue set up, reception and organization everything was perfect. As all my guests said "the day was absolutely magical" Thankyou so much :-) we have all decided that we will see you in 18 months for another holiday. Thankyou for the beautiful memories and unbelievable start to married life :-)

Room Tip: Room 716 is awesome. Excellent seaview and close to everything.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Tasha B,

Greetings from the Nora Buri Resort & Spa!
First of all, congratulations once again to your recent marriage.
I am so glad that we were able to be part of the most important and most memorable day of your life. We are happu to know that you had a great experience at our Resort and will be sure to share your positive feedback with all the staff, especially with MIchelle
It was a great pleasure to have you and your family staying with us and we hope to see you in the not too distant future.
We wish you a long and happy life together.


Warm Regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Killarney, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014 via mobile

On arrival at 12:50 pm we were told check in was not available until 2 pm , fair enough , we were only there early as our travel arrangements dictated so. As I say we knew check in was at 2 pm and were happy enough with this prior to arrival. The staff looked shocked that we were there 70 mins early. We were directed to a seating area where we were given a cold drink and cold face towel and a key card wallet( no key card) with the room number on it and told again that the room would not be ready until 2 pm , we just smiled and said no problem and that if it were ready any earlier we would appreciate it.
At exactly 2 pm , the receptionist came up and told us out room was ready but that it was not our initial room but another room ???
We were taken by golf buggy to a dark smelly room buried deep into this resort , to say we were unimpressed would be an understatement. In our opinion this room had not been occupied for a while ,as there was a musty smell in it and the view onto a block faced wall was very uninspiring , having travelled half way around the world we were a little dissapointed !!!
We decided to take a look at the original room we were "supposed " to get , and this looked a much better prospect , so we returned to reception and explained that we would rather have the original room. We were told it could be 4 pm before this room was ready , again we said fair enough , albeit the patience were running thin enough at this stage. I told the receptionist that we would go out to the pool area and grab some lunch and that if the room became available prior to 4 o clock that they might inform us. We had our lunch and waited about the pool area until 3:45 and then decided to go down to reception for an update , all of a sudden upon seeing us the receptionist came out to inform us the room was just ready !!! Obviously we had been forgotten about.
The original room was so much better, we were thankful we had asked for the change.
I think the room we were first given was ready all along and for some reason we were made wait 70 mins and then having to wait 2 hours for the second room to be readied seems a bit excessive, surely housekeeping could turn a room around if needed?
We are not really sure what happened , but when I enquired about a late check out the day before we were due to leave , I was told , this was not possible as the hotel was too busy ???
Other than this the hotel was ok , location is poor as you are out of the main resort and there are no shops or restaurants within walking distance , the hotel do offer a courtesy shuttle bus approx 5 times a day.
The breakfast is quite good with a large variety of choice.
The rooms are adequate, but certainly not inspiring , plain large rooms that are clean and functional. Restaurant , spa and bar prices are expensive enough , on par with a better rated property.
The hotel appears to attract large groups, should it be family groups or other , so you will come across areas in the hotel being overtaken by a group of maybe 12 -16 people , ie the swim up bar and the breakfast room. This can lead to things getting a bit noisy at times. In general the staff were courteous. We would not return to this resort again, we would choose to pay a little bit more for something slightly better.
Certainly not the worst hotel we have ever stayed in but not the best either.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Dianeco,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I am very sorry to hear of your disappointment and unsatisfactory experience at check in at the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
Please allow us to clarify some issues raised in your review. At check in, we told you, that your room would be ready at 2 o’clock. At this time, your room was not ready all along otherwise we would have sent you there right away. Unfortunately, at 2 o’clock, the Housekeeping staff was still getting the room ready. That is why we decided to move you in a room that had been cleaned already so you wouldn’t have to wait any longer. As you didn’t like the room that we showed to you, we did have to let you wait longer until the initial room was ready which took longer than at the beginning expected.
I am glad you got the room that you wanted eventually and let me assure you that it was never our intention to make you feel forgotten or not treated correctly. I deeply apologize if that was ever the case.
As for the late check out, we were nearly fully occupied in this period and this is why the staff at the reception is simply not allowed to give late check-outs to the guests.
Nevertheless, your feedback was shared with our team and will help us ensure such incidents do not happen again.
We would be extremely pleased to receive by you a second chance in order to make your next stay a memorable one.


With Warmest Regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2014

On one of my Business trips I had the pleasure of staying at this hotel. Excellent service. Excellent food. My room had a beautiful view of the sea. Wonderful Experience. The staff is very efficient and friendly.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Kaushik G

Thank you very much for choosing the Nora Buri Resort & Spa for your recent Business Trip.
I am grateful to read all the good comments about the resort, your room and the staff.
We hope to be able to welcome you back in the not too distant future.


Best Regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

From the moment we decided to have our wedding on a beach in Thailand, Tripadvisor and our travel agent made the selection process easy. Throw in Nora Buri's Wedding Planner and we were well on the way to make our Wedding Day plans. Correspondence was prompt and Anna and Michelle were happy to guide us through all the necessary paperwork we needed to have our ceremony. We chose a Western Wedding and opted for the Legal Registration which meant we had some paperwork to take care of and arrange a few nights in Bangkok beforehand to go to The Australian Embassy. (Just double check back home as I have now needed to lodge a formal Change Of Name with Births Deaths and Marriages upon coming home in order to use my husband's last name.)
Upon arrival we were treated like royalty and the flower lays we received were a visual for all staff that we were a couple about to be married at the resort. We were upgraded to a room that was directly overlooking the ocean complete with private pool and massive bathroom and even an outdoor shower. The resort is divided by the main road that you needed to cross to get to breakfast each day. The guards who helped us cross safely had infectious smiles and were super friendly and we often stopped for a chat. It was a short scooter ride to Chaweng and rental was easily sorted through the resort. I recommend riding around the whole island as there are some beautiful places to see along the way.
Leading up to our Wedding we went over details of the flowers, music, cake and food and Anna was able to help us organise how the day was going to flow. The resort also recommended a photographer Pui from Koh Samui Photography and a celebrant Johhny Patterson who they put us in touch with beforehand. These two have worked together many times before and this understanding of eachother's role shows in their professionalism. As we eloped we had no need to worry about a bridal party or guests so our day was just all about the two of us. Everything was made sure that all went smoothly and we couldn't have been happier.
Our overall experience was truly amazing and would happily do it all again...apart from my mother in law's reaction to us eloping!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Gabbyivan,

Thank you for your great review and it was indeed our pleasure to have you and your family staying with us in Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
First and foremost the entire Nora Buri team wishes you and your husband a very healthy, happy and prosperous journey of life together. Each and every time a couple chooses our resort as their wedding venue we feel deeply honored that they have done so.

Your kind words and experience mean the world to us, and we so very happy to have been able to provide you with the most special holiday and event of a lifetime. We will most definitely share your kind words with the staff.
I am looking forward to seeing you here in the not too distant future

Warm regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

We spent 7 nights at Nora Buri a Resort and Spa and absolutely loved it! The service was brilliant, the rooms were huge and 2 beautiful pools with excellent pool service. The Breakfast buffet was Incredible. The girls and I partook in a cooking class here which was brilliant.The buggy service is a great option if you can't quite make it back to your hillside room. Fabulous service, highly recommended for a quiet spot minutes out if crazy Chaweng.

Stayed January 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear GouFam,

Thank you very much for taking your time to write a review about your stay with us in the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
On behalf of the entire team, thank you so much for your kind review. It is always very gratifying for us that we have succeeded in creating a great and memorable vacation.
We have shared your message with our staff.

Best Regards
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2014

We stayed for ten nights over the new year period. Overall an enjoyable stay. Just five minutes from chaweng, but secluded enough to feel private, it is a prefect location for a relaxed getaway. Seaview room was large and view was stunning. Pools were very nice and it was good to have two locations to choose from, beach or hill side. Breakfast was decent without being amazing. Staff were generally very helpful and happy.
Shuttles could run more frequently, or even just an extra one at 6pm to make the commute to chaweng for dinner more convenient (although a taxi is only 250B it does add up).
Really enjoyable stay, a 4 star resort that we were happy with in terms of price etc, given the time of year.
Probably would not stay here again, not because of the hotel, simply like to explore other places. That being said, would recommend to other travelers.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Hurls88,

Thank for your review and it was indeed a pleasure to have you staying with us at the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
We are truly pleased that you enjoyed our resort, our team and your seaview room.
In regards to the shuttle bus times, we appreciate your suggestions and we will definitely have a further look into that matter.
We hope to be able to welcome you back soon.

With kind regards,
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nora Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nora Buri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nora Buri Resort & SpaNestled comfortably in the Gulf of Thailand sits the elegant gem of Koh Samui, a small tropical paradise which offers a genuine aura of relaxation. A short flight from Bangkok and you land in the midst of white sand, teal water, vibrant coral reefs and a wealth of coconut trees, all complimented by a slow and simple life. Koh Samui represents the best of Thai island culture, with its biggest challenge being to find a resort that will allow you to make the most of its vistas. But this search is made easy by the recently opened Nora Buri Resort & Spa, with an outlook that will captivate our attention, dilute your problems and offer a true escape from an overzealous world. Located just 3 minutes from the International Airport, Nora Buri is easily accessible. It’s also modern, yet warm and inviting. From the outset you can see it has been designed with integration into the surrounding landscape in mind. It incorporates the greenery, the hilly terrain and a beautiful white sandy beach with ease. Its 144 rooms are configured to ensure diversity, making Nora Buri accessible to a range of budgets. From the simple Garden and Seaview rooms, right up to a masterful Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview, no matter what the occasion, there is a solution. The relaxed feel that engulfs the resort transfers to each of these rooms, with spacious warm tones being enhanced by a cool sea breeze flowing through. The modern comforts are also there, with 32” LCD TV, high speed internet and DVD players at the ready should you need them.Nora Buri personifies both the natural beauty of Koh Samui and the relaxed demeanor of its people. One look at the view experienced at countless vantage points here and your worries are no more. The resort is well conceived, well designed and well executed. It’s a truly magical place from which to explore this delectable gem of an island.•Deluxe Hillside Room 48 rooms•Deluxe Hillside Seaview Room 48 rooms•Pool Villa Hillside Seaview 28 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside 12 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside Seaview 4 rooms•Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview 4 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Ctrip TA, EasyToBook, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Nora Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Buri Resort And Spa
Nora Buri Hotel Bophut
Nora Buri Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.