We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Nora Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Perth, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Amazing hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2014

Great hotel; highly recommended! Got a free upgrade to a room with a private pool! 2x main pools both luxury. Treated like royalty, lovely staff! Good for family's friends business whatever! 5mins away on a scooter to main road where shopping and all the restaurants!

Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Charlotte S,

Thank you very much for such a wonderful review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay at our resort and that we exceeded your expectations
Your feedback is much appreciated and has been shared with the team.

Warmest wishes and thanks again
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    147
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
72
317
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

We stayed here for a week, including New Year.

Firstly the positives, the staff at this hotel are very helpful and friendly, with special mention to the guys who help you cross the road. Staff at the front desk and drivers were very helpful in sorting transfers, transport and excursions.

The hotel itself is very nice, 2 great pool areas, attractive landscaping, great breakfast and good wifi everywhere. We had a hillside sea view room, which was nice and large, clean, comfortable and had a massive comfy bed.

The location is about a 15min drive from town, the free transfer is useful but not regular enough, meaning a tax is almost always needed at least one leg, costing about 300THB.

The main issue we have was the Gala Dinner on new years eve. This is compulsory and expensive, at over £100 a person. The entertainment was a bit naff, and the buffet was good but not exceptional. It was just not worth the money.

The other annoyance was the sunbeds at the pool. People left towels on them before breakfast, and wouldn't use them until the afternoon, meaning that on busy days sunbeds were not available. This selfish behaviour happens everywhere, but it would be good if the hotel tried to do something about it.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear DavidG,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions of the Nora Buri Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear about the positive comments especially of our staff.
In terms of the food, I sincerely apologize if the quality of the food was not up to your expectations
As for the complimentary gala dinner, I will take note about the pricing, which, we ensure is in line with other accommodations and establishments of similar category.
The problem with the unavailable sunbeds I will most certainly discuss with my management team.
We would be extremely pleased to receive by you a second chance in order to make your next stay a memorable one.

Best regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

We booked a 2-week stay at the Nora Buri Resort over the 2013/14 Christmas and New Year period for our family. The alluring website, the very favourable reviews on TripAdvisor and our actual experience were worlds apart. It might be because the hotel was fully booked and not properly resourced to cope. However, this is not an excuse in any respecting traveler or hotel management's books.

When we arrived at our rooms we encountered the worst smell of raw sewage. Not wanting to make an issue of it, we thought that it might be a problem that is short-lived... It wasn't. After day 3 the smell was getting worse. We had very little chance of stepping out onto our balconies for some fresh air. We raised a query with management who said that they were aware of the problem and was "working on it". Whatever they did, did not work.

Apart from this problem, we hardly ever (for 2 days only) had hot water to shower or bath in, the towels they put out in the rooms were torn and worn, the rooms are outdated and sparse.

Room service took over an hour to be delivered and was cold and unappetising by the time it eventually arrived.

Most all of the Haagendasz strawberry and cream ice creams were off (obviously melted and refrozen) and if you asked for it to be exchanged you were told that you cannot exchange it for another flavour and went through the one after the other with no different result having to go without ice cream after all (which made a whole lot of sense in the world of customer service!).

The breakfast is slapped together and is not at all crisp and fresh (old muesli, soggy fruits), don't ask for a boiled egg - they don't know what it is and once you manage to explain what you want all you get it is a warm raw egg in its shell.

I do not know where all the friendly staff were hiding as the only lot that was upbeat and smiling were the drivers of the carts that take you around the resort or the drivers that drop you off in town (at 300 baht a pop). The spa staff were sullen, the guys at the gym could not be bothered to greet or smile and the breakfast crew did you a favour to bring you a knife and fork (let alone wipe your table and put a place mat down).

Needless to say, we checked out as soon as we could find suitable alternative accommodation. A much better decision than to book at Nora Buri.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Paula Z7,

Thank you for sharing your impressions on Trip advisor. We are truly sorry if you did not experience the level of service you are right to expect from Nora Buri. Nevertheless, we wish to assure you that there will be a follow up on the subject mentioned and on the other issues you brought to our attention.

On behalf of the management, please accept my sincere apologies for any inconvenience caused to you and your family, please be advised that your experience in no way reflects our dedication to our valued guests.

Best Regards
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kostanay, Kazakhstan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2014

we loved our staying in this hotel, though to be honest we did not spend too much time there, expecpt for nights and breakfasts))) the hotel is 5 min drive from the amazing airport. we first were disappointed as we thought we would have a room right at the beach but the pirctures we were shown were wrong and we got a hillside seaview room, it was very nice. the place is very beautiful, very. amazing pool with a bar inside the pool. they serve a big variety of food for breakfast. what i also liked this is a quiet hotel with romantic music on at the pool and hall.
i did not really like the beach, so we always went to the Silver Beach at Cliff Hotel

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Yulia Y,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience with other travelers from your point of view. We are truly delighted that you enjoyed your time here at the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
We know that our beach is not one of our strong points, however we are trying to compensate this with our two lovely pool areas as well as the rooms and the quality of service.
We hope to welcome you back in the Not too distant future.

With sunny regards,

Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Penang Island, Malaysia
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

The landscaping was very well maintained. The room we had "Hillside Ocean View" was very large with a nice balcony (with a somewhat obstructed ocean view). The pluses of staying here:
nice facilties, nice pools, very good massage staff and spa, good workout area although small, good breakfast with plenty of variety, very friendly crossing guards and pool staff, and the rooms were large.

The negatives are:
Beach has very coarse sand and many people cut themselves while trying to swim, staff aside from previously mentioned didn't seem to interested in making an effort to provide 5 star service, this hotel is absolutely not suitable for a person who doesn't want to walk the equivalent of 15 to 20 flights of steps to get to the hillside rooms (there is a golf cart service to assist but at times the wait can take up to a half hour), drinks were really expensive and never a full shot to be poured, the bell staff played many games on pricing for a "shuttle" to and from the airport, the new years gala was absolutely a rip off, the hotwater was inconsistent when it worked, location was in between Chaweng and Boput beach but not convenient to either, the shuttle service offered for free is inadequate for a facility of this size (especially in high season), the food offering by the pool was really average and expensive, and the portions were small.

I would not recommend this hotel after this stay. It was expensive and it seemed as there was no value proposition especially at the room rate charged.

Room Tip: If you decide to stay here your best bet is the beachside villa's. The hillside is not worth the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear MTRChicagoFoodie,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us here in Nora Buri Resort & Spa.
I understand you were not satisfied with some of our facilities at the resort and I am very sorry that you feel that way. Please accept my sincere apologies and I assure you that there will be a follow up on the subjects that you brought to our attention, such as the varying prices of the taxi, the poor service at the pool and the hot water issue.
Nevertheless, I have to disagree in certain aspects. In my opinion the fact that this resort is built on the hillside has a very big charm not only because the view is absolutely breathtaking from most of the rooms. Furthermore, I believe that when you made the booking, you must have been aware of the fact that you reserved a Hillside Room. I think it is a little bit unfair to give us so many negative comments about the rooms being on the hillside, if that category was exactly the one you booked.
Also, the fact that Nora Buri is situated between Chaweng and Bopuht is a positive aspect of this resort and not a negative one. It takes you only about 10 min to be in the hustle and bustle of Chaweng or to go to Bopuht but it is still far enough outside to relax in peace and quiet.
I thank you for making the effort to give us your valuable feedback. I would really appreciate it if you could give us one more opportunity to welcome you back at our resort.

Best Regards
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brisbane
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

The staff make all the difference at this hotel. After I unfortunately had my handbag stolen in the center of town the staff at the hotel did all they could to assist.

Drivers took me to the necessary police stations to report the theft and were very kind during this stressful time - they actually came into the station with me and explained to the police. I was very impressed with this level of service, although it is a reflection of the high standard of service at the hotel.

The resort itself is beautiful. The infinity pools are divine and the room was pleasant - lovely big bathroom. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast each morning.

There are only a couple of downsides:
1. The food and beverages are very expensive at the resort (this would be okay if the food was fantastic but it is only average).
2. The shuttle bus into town doesn't run very frequently which means we had to factor in a $20 return trip almost every time we wanted to leave the resort. This coupled with the expensive food really added to the overall cost.

These two downsides were only minor for us and overall I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and am looking forward to returning one day. Thanks again to all the staff!!!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear KellyN73,

Greetings from the Nora Buri Resort & Spa.

Thank you very much for your recent stay here with us on Koh Samui.
I am very sorry about the incident with your hand bag, I know that these kind of things can absolutely ruin a holiday.
I am so happy to hear, that you could still enjoy your holiday. I will be sure to share your kind words with all the staff, who will be absolutely thrilled to hear that they were able to meet and exceed your expectations.
In terms of the food, I sincerely apologize if the quality of the food was not up to your expectations. I will most certainly discuss this matter with my management team.
The shuttle bus topic is a little bit more difficult. I am aware of the fact that for some of the guest, the shuttle bus is not operating often enough or at the wrong times. We are trying the best to please our guests as best as we can. That is the reason why we offer this shuttle bus for your convenience. We came to the conclusion that a service to the town center 5 times a day is sufficient. We are proud to be able to offer this service as there is many other hotels on Samui that do not offer a shuttle bus at all.
I thank you for making the effort to give us your valuable feedback. We hope to be able to welcome you at the Nora Buri Resort & Spa in the not too distant future.

Yours truly,

Mr. Lloyd B. Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014 via mobile

The staffs are friendly and helpful. Hotel itself is located on a rocky beach. The nice part of chaweng beach is about 40 min walk if you walk along the beach. Breakfast was really good with many options to choose from. The hotel is 5min from the airport but has a standard taxi rate of 500 bhats ($18 us).

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lloyd B, General Manager at Nora Buri Resort & Spa, responded to this review, April 4, 2014
Dear Angieeh,

Many thanks for sharing your impressions of the Nora Buri Resort & Spa. I am delighted to hear about the positive comments of our staff and that you enjoyed the breakfast buffet.
We know that our beach is not one of our strong points; however we are trying to compensate this with our two lovely pool areas as well as the rooms and the quality of service.
As for the pricing of the Airport Bus, we ensure it is in the line with other resorts and establishments of similar category here on this island.

Kind Regards
Lloyd Maravilla
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nora Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nora Buri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nora Buri Resort & SpaNestled comfortably in the Gulf of Thailand sits the elegant gem of Koh Samui, a small tropical paradise which offers a genuine aura of relaxation. A short flight from Bangkok and you land in the midst of white sand, teal water, vibrant coral reefs and a wealth of coconut trees, all complimented by a slow and simple life. Koh Samui represents the best of Thai island culture, with its biggest challenge being to find a resort that will allow you to make the most of its vistas. But this search is made easy by the recently opened Nora Buri Resort & Spa, with an outlook that will captivate our attention, dilute your problems and offer a true escape from an overzealous world. Located just 3 minutes from the International Airport, Nora Buri is easily accessible. It’s also modern, yet warm and inviting. From the outset you can see it has been designed with integration into the surrounding landscape in mind. It incorporates the greenery, the hilly terrain and a beautiful white sandy beach with ease. Its 144 rooms are configured to ensure diversity, making Nora Buri accessible to a range of budgets. From the simple Garden and Seaview rooms, right up to a masterful Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview, no matter what the occasion, there is a solution. The relaxed feel that engulfs the resort transfers to each of these rooms, with spacious warm tones being enhanced by a cool sea breeze flowing through. The modern comforts are also there, with 32” LCD TV, high speed internet and DVD players at the ready should you need them.Nora Buri personifies both the natural beauty of Koh Samui and the relaxed demeanor of its people. One look at the view experienced at countless vantage points here and your worries are no more. The resort is well conceived, well designed and well executed. It’s a truly magical place from which to explore this delectable gem of an island.•Deluxe Hillside Room 48 rooms•Deluxe Hillside Seaview Room 48 rooms•Pool Villa Hillside Seaview 28 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside 12 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside Seaview 4 rooms•Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview 4 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Ctrip TA, HotelTravel.com, EasyToBook, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nora Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Buri Resort And Spa
Nora Buri Hotel Bophut
Nora Buri Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.