We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful five star resort with service and prices meeting expectations.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Nora Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Sydney
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Beautiful five star resort with service and prices meeting expectations.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

My girlfriend and I stayed three nights here, after trying Q Signature Samui in Choeng Mon where we secured a deal paying ~US$140/day for a base level room. As you would expect upon paying almost triple to stay at Nora Buri you do get a newer, better furnished resort with higher service levels. The question then, is the incremental amount commensurate with the additional quality? Well, evidently the answer depends on how much you're willing to pay and your own requirements.

Our room was well furnished, clean, with good linens and a fantastic private pool with a nice view. The TV was so-so, I wasn't really concerned as I don't often go to Thailand for their programming. We didn't really have issues with mozzies and had very peaceful nights.

We found the service to be on par with 5*s also, memorably when we invited our friends to enjoy our private pool we received a bag of about 7 additional fresh towels in reasonable time. Also the resort has two full-time "security / traffic" wardens whose sole aim in life is to ensure your road safety at the portion of the resort which intersects the road. I watched one bloke spend about 6 minutes shuffling the scooters around in their bays so you always had easy access to your hog. No doubt he spends most of his day doing this, and I should also mention that they also possess a snappy salute - I made sure I returned the gesture, even when manoeuvering my chopper into Samui traffic.

The included breakfast buffett was rather amazing, fresh fruit, juices and even a fresh section of honeycomb plate from which you could obtain honey (no angry bees thankfully). There was plenty of fresh cooked western meals also, which looked quite tasty. The breakfast was on par with our other favourite resort, Indigo Pearl in Phuket, which is no mean feat.

Great peaceful location, a short (but not too short) 5 minute scooter ride from the murky tourist trap of Chaweng which we tried to avoid. As mentioned previously, this resort is positioned on a steep hill in order to give all rooms a view of the beach. I didn't mind walking up to our Pool Villa at the top of the hill as I'm an athlete and eat hill sprints for breakfast, but if you're not keen on climbing everest three times a day then there is a free buggy service.

Room Tip: When booking, bear in mind this resort is located on a steep hill and stipulate whether you desire t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

571 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    326
    147
    57
    27
    14
See reviews for
72
317
9
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2012

My friend and I stayed here for 6 night and upon arrival we were gutted it wasn't any longer. We were blown away by how nice this place was. Real luxury!

I couldn't say one bad word about this hotel, apart from maybe that its quite far from the main strip of Chaweng beach, but even still the Hotel offers a shuttle service every hour throughout the day. It alternates from a free service to a paid one, which is only 80 Baht anyway, approx £1.60 which is nothing for a 5-10 min car journey.

The Room:
We had a Deluxe Hill Side Sea View. Which was amazing, very large and spacious, nicely furnished, very clean. Air con was very good, although I did get a cold from it I think. Large safe. Huge bathroom with lovely walk in shower and a comfy bath.

The Staff:
Always very helpful and polite! Even giving us recommendations that weren't in the Hotels favour.

The Pools:
Lovely double infinity pools, each with little jacuzzi sections to lay/sit back and relax! Clean water and not even that cold. Wicked pool side bars where you can swim up and order drinks whilst sitting on fixed stalls.

The Food:
Amazing breakfast, one of the best breakfast services I've ever had, and I've been to a few places. Such a huge variety of fresh food and drinks. Was very impressed and ate a large selection of foods every morning. The freshly made waffles were exceptionally good as were the croissants.

The Restaurant (The Barge):
You get given a 25% off voucher with the room for the restaurant at the beach side section of the hotel. The Thai section which we ate in was very cool. The food was delicious and pretty cheap surprisingly. Between my friend and I we had a mixed platter to start, a chicken Massaman curry, chicken and cashew nut dish, and steamed fish fillet on soy sauce dish. As well as a rice each and a couple of soft drinks and it only came to a total of £15, with the 25% off voucher.

Scooters:
We both rented a scooter each for the duration of our stay. It worked out at 450 baht per day (approx £9) with insurance. We found these very useful for getting to and from the town throughout the day and the evening. As well as exploring other parts of the Island. The traffic can be very bad at junctions so these were the ideal choice for mobility.

To summarise in one sentence, this was an amazing hotel, that I could not fault. I will definitely be taking my girlfriend here at some point in the future and have already recommended it to others. We looked around and visited some other hotels in Chaweng, and in my opinion and my friends we couldn't find another hotel which we thought would top ours.

Thanks for reading. You will not be disappointed if you stay here. Even if you have bad weather which we unfortunately did.

Room Tip: Higher floors are more open and brighter with more windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
46 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed in NoraBuri for 4 nights over Christmas and we loved it. It is about 2KM away from busy Chaweng area where all the bars and restaurants are, and right on the beach. Free shuttle busses are available from the hotel to Chaweng and back.

At check in out room wasn’t ready and we had to wait for an hr but we were served cold drinks and the lounge area was really pleasant.

Breakfast is included and they have this massive buffet with a fairly large variety of food.

3 swimming pools. Free WIFI.

We would definitely stay there should we visit Koh Samui again.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2012

All i can say is WOW for everything about this hotel. The beach facing plunge pool villas are fantastic with a great size room, bathroom and beautiful deck with a private pool overlooking the sea total bliss. There is an infinity common pool by the beach and hung around with a group of friends as we had 4 villas in total.
The breakfast is a good spread of almost everything and is a good way to start your day. The location is just 5 mins by tuk tuk or cab to the main crowded busy but happening Chaweng beach and it cost just 40 bhats per person. The service was prompt and staff was good and accommodating so all in all a fab experience!!

Room Tip: The hotel is divided in 2 parts one facing the beach and the other facing the hillside. Go for the o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2012

We stayed here in early January 2012 in a beachside pool villa with its own infinity pool. The room is definitely beautiful, with 1 large bedroom/sitting area, a separate bathroom (with indoor shower, outdoor shower, big bath), and a backyard space with the pool, 2 lounge chairs, and a desk+2 chairs. The bathroom was very very dark though - ladies, it'll be hard for you to put on makeup after the sun goes down. There were some tiny ants in the bathroom but they're harmless, just a nuisance when you wake up every morning and see them crawling on your toothbrush.

As previous commenters have noted, the hotel is split into two - one section is on the side of the road closer to the beach, and the other section is on the other side of the road + goes up the hillside. The included breakfast buffet is worth it - lots of fresh fruit and juice, and if you prefer, Western food. There is some Thai food as well but not much. The gym is small but suffices - a few treadmills, bikes, weight machines, and loose weights. In the gym area, there are also dry and wet saunas for each sex.

The hotel is around a 10-minute shuttle drive to the city. They provide a shuttle that runs to the city every hour, but returns only three times. It's 80 baht round trip, unless you take the 10am, 3pm, or 10pm shuttles, which are free. A taxi from the city back to the hotel costs around 200 baht. Don't forget to bargain - the cab drivers will start at 300.

Overall it was a nice stay, but we paid quite a bit per night and I'm not sure it was worth it. Next time I probably won't stay here. I'm more likely to book a hotel that's closer to the center of town. We ate dinner every night in town since it's delicious and cheap, and the hotel restaurants are quite overpriced.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2012

Nice hotel with large rooms and well facilitated. Clean property and prompt service. Staff very friendly and very welcoming. New years eve party was good too, excellent food and entertainment excellent. Many Aussies,and I'm afraid Russians, have occupy this hotel. Can be quite loud so good for young couples. Barge restaurant very good food with views. Overall a good standard and good value for money. Being half Thai and having visited many resorts and islands this will not disappoint for the money.

Room Tip: A tip for people leaving the airport, it is a 45 second drive and they charge 400 baht, being half T...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

Spent 3 weeks in Koh Samui over xmas and new year 2011. We stayed in three hotels during out time..(Nora Buri, Chaweng Regent, Poppies) The Nora Buri was our first stop...Spent 5 days pre Xmas at the Nora Buri in December 2011 with my husband. The location is ok, depends on what you want, but you will need a taxi or motorbike to go almost anywhere off the resort. Nothing close by...nearest shops/bars etc approx 10/15min walk, ( 10 mins in tqaxi to chaweng where most of shops and restaurants are). but very hilly. However, if its peace an quiet you want, then this hotel is ideal. We had a beach front villa which was beautiful, very spacious, clean. Lovely modern bathroom with lovely facilities. Views to sea with fabulous.... with our own pool overlooking the ocean very private, gives you the feel that you are staying in your own private villa, You would not see anyone if you did not venture outside your room. Quite expensive for food and drinks compared to outside bars and restaurants which are just as good quality. ( sometimes double the price). All the staff were very friendly and polite, even the security guards who help you cross the road...

Room Tip: Beach front room fabulous, however you have to walk up hill to reception and to leave hotel, no prpb...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Nora Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Family Hotel in Chaweng
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#11 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nora Buri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nora Buri Resort & SpaNestled comfortably in the Gulf of Thailand sits the elegant gem of Koh Samui, a small tropical paradise which offers a genuine aura of relaxation. A short flight from Bangkok and you land in the midst of white sand, teal water, vibrant coral reefs and a wealth of coconut trees, all complimented by a slow and simple life. Koh Samui represents the best of Thai island culture, with its biggest challenge being to find a resort that will allow you to make the most of its vistas. But this search is made easy by the recently opened Nora Buri Resort & Spa, with an outlook that will captivate our attention, dilute your problems and offer a true escape from an overzealous world. Located just 3 minutes from the International Airport, Nora Buri is easily accessible. It’s also modern, yet warm and inviting. From the outset you can see it has been designed with integration into the surrounding landscape in mind. It incorporates the greenery, the hilly terrain and a beautiful white sandy beach with ease. Its 144 rooms are configured to ensure diversity, making Nora Buri accessible to a range of budgets. From the simple Garden and Seaview rooms, right up to a masterful Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview, no matter what the occasion, there is a solution. The relaxed feel that engulfs the resort transfers to each of these rooms, with spacious warm tones being enhanced by a cool sea breeze flowing through. The modern comforts are also there, with 32” LCD TV, high speed internet and DVD players at the ready should you need them.Nora Buri personifies both the natural beauty of Koh Samui and the relaxed demeanor of its people. One look at the view experienced at countless vantage points here and your worries are no more. The resort is well conceived, well designed and well executed. It’s a truly magical place from which to explore this delectable gem of an island.•Deluxe Hillside Room 48 rooms•Deluxe Hillside Seaview Room 48 rooms•Pool Villa Hillside Seaview 28 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside 12 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside Seaview 4 rooms•Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview 4 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Nora Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Buri Resort And Spa
Nora Buri Hotel Bophut
Nora Buri Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.