We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nora Buri... the place dreams are made of” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Nora Buri Resort & Spa to your Saves list
Nora Buri Resort & Spa
4.5 of 5 Resort   |   111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 101 Hotels in Chaweng
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Australian in New York
Top Contributor
124 reviews 124 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
233 helpful votes 233 helpful votes
“Nora Buri... the place dreams are made of”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2011

This was the most amazing place I have ever stayed in... and I have been lucky enough to stay in some pretty amazing places. To start, I will be honest and say the reviews made me very very nervous. I have never stayed in a place that rates this far from the top of the list but we were so glad that we made Nora Buri ours for a week. Our villa was so lovely and ultra private. I think we had one of the best. Although not absolute beachfront as they were being renovated last week, we were the next row back. If privacy is important to you, this is the row to be in. Still has great views ( the odd roof depending which one you are in) BUT nobody can see you when you are reclining or swimming in your own private pool. The villa was so nice. A beautiful bathroom, spacious, loved the bed in the middle of the room so you could lie and admire the view and especially loved our own private pool. The water temp was a pleasant 30C.
For the rest of the resort. The food was some of the best we had in Thailand. We dined twice at their Thai restaurant The Rice Barge where we found their whole steam fish to be our favourite, and their breakfasts were great too. By the end of our stay we were indulging in a bit of curry for breakfast as well. I will agree with some of the other reviewers that the service is still a work in progress but they are trying. Sometimes our table would be missing some silverware or a salt shaker, sometimes the brekky coffee was a little slow but you know what? I am willing to cut them a little slack as it didn't really impact on my stay when the accommodation was so good, the extensive happy hours were fun, and the food fabulous. They have recently employed a British guy to help improve this aspect so I think they are on the right track.
The beach. Yes, there is a small beach and yes, we did swim off the beach altho there is coral/shells underfoot. It is shallow like many of the beaches are in the area but also lovely and sheltered unlike BoPhut which is more exposed in my opinion. The resort is close to Chaweng but with a privacy that I doubt you would get there. There are no jetskis out front so it is quiet and peaceful so all depends on what you are looking for. We hired a motorbike and it took about 5 minutes to get to Chaweng and about 15 to get to Big Buddha -perhaps a little less.
We had the best holiday at Nora Buri and would go back tomorrow if we could. I think we will definitely go back as it ticked all the boxes for us.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

647 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    162
    67
    32
    19
See reviews for
83
356
12
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2011

Stayed here twice, before & after the full moon party.

Service wasn't so good, but the hotel & room facilities definately made up for it.

The room had everything you would want. Very luxurious. I would come back here in a flash.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

The rooms were amazing, the staff went out of their way to help out whatever necessary, breakfast buffet was free and it was a full buffet!!! Just minutes away, shopping, food, nightlife and beaches. Thank you again for a great time.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

Nice hotel, great breakfast. Unfortunately not in Chaweng. You need to go by shuttle or taxi to go to the Chaweng centre.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishon Lezion, Israel
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2011

We had a wonderful honeymoon there at the beachside villa
great service, close to everything (city,airport..)

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

You would expect they have your advance reservation on file prior to check-in. Instead, we had to wait around for 30 mins, find our confirmation email from our personal electronic devices, and forward the documents to them.

Our stay was at one of the Beachside Villas. Despite the breathtaking view from our room, there were hundreds of bugs and ants all over the place (floor, sofa, bathroom surfaces). After informing the front desk, they got insect killer spray to try and resolve the matter. Obviously this was of no help, and became an ongoing issue throughout the rest of our stay.

Stained pool towels, lack of quality and choice on the room service menu, and a monstrous sounding live band at The Barge restaurant, are just a few of the many reasons why i would not recommend this resort.

We booked a 7 night stay, and checked-out after 4. We cut our losses and left the resort early.
The staff at the front desk had no clue on how to handle customer services. Upon leaving we were delayed as the lady would not take our word for the 1 bottle of water consumed from the mini-bar, but had to double check as if we were liars. Not once were we asked how our stay was, but instead was quoted the final cost on the bill 4 times in a friendly tone!

Overall, I feel that the Nora Buri management need to go back to the drawing board and learn how to provide effective customer service in the hospitality industry, and stop focusing on the money.
A continuous friendly smile does not compensate for lacking service skills.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2011

Fantastic ocean view from luxurious suite, great swimming pool, bar, restaurant..., everything except beach.
Only a few villas are really close to the seaside.
Not a busy area: 15-20 min from Chaweng beach/night clubs/shopping zone by motorbyke (up to 30 min by tuk-tuk).
Perfect family vacation idea...

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Nora Buri Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nora Buri Resort & Spa

Address: 111 Moo 5 North Chaweng Beach | Tambol Bophut, koh samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#8 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#12 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#19 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Nora Buri Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 144
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Nora Buri Resort & SpaNestled comfortably in the Gulf of Thailand sits the elegant gem of Koh Samui, a small tropical paradise which offers a genuine aura of relaxation. A short flight from Bangkok and you land in the midst of white sand, teal water, vibrant coral reefs and a wealth of coconut trees, all complimented by a slow and simple life. Koh Samui represents the best of Thai island culture, with its biggest challenge being to find a resort that will allow you to make the most of its vistas. But this search is made easy by the recently opened Nora Buri Resort & Spa, with an outlook that will captivate our attention, dilute your problems and offer a true escape from an overzealous world. Located just 3 minutes from the International Airport, Nora Buri is easily accessible. It’s also modern, yet warm and inviting. From the outset you can see it has been designed with integration into the surrounding landscape in mind. It incorporates the greenery, the hilly terrain and a beautiful white sandy beach with ease. Its 144 rooms are configured to ensure diversity, making Nora Buri accessible to a range of budgets. From the simple Garden and Seaview rooms, right up to a masterful Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview, no matter what the occasion, there is a solution. The relaxed feel that engulfs the resort transfers to each of these rooms, with spacious warm tones being enhanced by a cool sea breeze flowing through. The modern comforts are also there, with 32” LCD TV, high speed internet and DVD players at the ready should you need them.Nora Buri personifies both the natural beauty of Koh Samui and the relaxed demeanor of its people. One look at the view experienced at countless vantage points here and your worries are no more. The resort is well conceived, well designed and well executed. It’s a truly magical place from which to explore this delectable gem of an island.•Deluxe Hillside Room 48 rooms•Deluxe Hillside Seaview Room 48 rooms•Pool Villa Hillside Seaview 28 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside 12 rooms•Pool Villa Beachside Seaview 4 rooms•Pool Villa Beachfront Seaview 4 rooms ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Priceline and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Nora Buri Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Nora Buri Resort And Spa
Nora Buri Hotel Bophut
Nora Buri Resort & Spa Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nora Buri Resort & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.