We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best pizza according to Lorcan” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill

Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill
103 Moo 3 | Bophut, Koh Samui, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
+66 77 448 505
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #46 of 148 Restaurants in Chaweng
Price range: $10 - $50
Cuisines: Pizza, Italian, Thai, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children, Romantic, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Lunch, Dessert, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Nestled between Samui's native tropical flora upon a hilltop in Chaweng Noi, the award winning restaurant overlooks the expansive crystal blue waters of the island. These breathtaking uninterrupted views are just one small part that makes up the overall 5 star experience Dr Frogs offers.Delicious and imaginative cuisine sets Dr Frogs apart from the rest - the menu is a perfect balance - offering diners both authentic Italian and traditional Thai cuisine. An extensive wine list combining new and old world wines, only further complements your day or evening meal.Outstanding cuisine, breathtaking surroundings and friendly staff - Dr Frogs will undoubtedly be the most memorable and delicious dining experience your will encounter in Koh Samui.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Best pizza according to Lorcan”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2013

Good service, magnificent view, reasonable wine list, duck truffle pasta excellent, thai food great but pizza first class. What a view, terrific music...we will be back again, 2 nd visit 4 days...

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    254
    177
    82
    60
    33
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Hong Kong, China
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not worth it”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Ordered a pumpkin gnocchi but came a pesto gnochhi. Lobster rissotto had shell bits in them and too much rice and little sauce. Felt it is not authentic enough.

My recommendation is Rice in Chaweng and Ocean 11 in Bangrak, you will not be disappointed

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Once bitten.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

We went here for lunch we had 2 really avg pizzas. Then came the kicker as we are all aware tap water is not an option but here's the kicker good old dr frog charged us 180 THB for a bottle of still water. When the avg price is no more than 60 THB. SORRY WON'T BE BACK.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Switzerland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Nice place with a great view!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

Great food. The pizza's are excellent. A romantic place, very quiet and a great view! Thanks to the whole personal.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
billericay, uk
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“The jury is still out on this one!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Location is lovely overlooking the rocks and sea and I know one cant stop nature but we were inundated with small flies and similar that were threatening to over-run the table cloth at one point. When one started sipping my beer I ordered another half-expecting it to be replenished without charge - yes, I must expect too much! I do however feel that restaurants of this nature should have non-smoking areas and we had to move table as the adjacent table's smoke was coming right across ours. I know this is Thailand but if you are charging these prices (approx £75 for 2 without starters and only 2 glasses of wine and 2 beers) then i expect a bit more. Yes, the food was very good but the service very ordinary. This is a fortune in Thailand!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Chaweng, Bophut
Chaweng, Bophut
 

Been to Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dr. Frogs Bar & Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.