We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not great, but probably a good choice at koh samui” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Pandora Hotel

Save Saved
You added Pandora Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pandora Hotel
3.5 of 5 Resort   |   119 / 34 moo 2, North Chaweng Beach Road | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Pandora Boutique Hotel)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 61 hotels in Chaweng
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Not great, but probably a good choice at koh samui”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2012 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights at Ko Samui in hotel Pandora for our honeymoon. First of all, koh samui has really become an over-touristic island, without much charm left.

The hotel was pretty ok, but not very special either.

First the pros;
The rooms are pretty large and clean.
Staff is friendly
Breakfast is fantastic
For koh samui affordable prices

Why 3* instead of 5*?
- we had a terrible sandwich with pepperoni, but without pepperoni because most guests find it too spicy (which resulted in a plain sandwich...)
- our bathroom was flooding. when we mentioned this to the reception webwere kindly asked to clean the water disposal..
- the owner is french, very french. didnt demonstrate much affinity with hospitality
- we had to pay 3% surcharge for using mastercard, without any notice upfront




  • Stayed August 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    244
    63
    22
    3
    5
See reviews for
22
195
22
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
icork
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2012

First of all - this is not a hotel, it's a bed and breakfast , there are no facilities to call this a hotel

Breakfast is just about ok , I don't see what the others are raving about. My GF got fried eggs one morning and they were just a sea of oil

Hotel is 20 mins walk from chaweng centre - along a dark road with broken and dangerous pavement

There is no pool at the hotel , it's just a hole in the ground

I never once saw the bar open at any time

There are no loungers at the hotel

The hotel is not on the beach either so you have to rely on other hotels for their chairs

Only after asking about beach chairs was i told that you can use the papillion facilities , The papillon is a good walk away also and you don't feel comfortable using their facilities because you are not staying there.

I also had to ask for the wi fi password - seriously , would they not tell you all of this at check in ????

Never received welcome drink upon arrival either

Lizards and centipedes in the room , cock roaches running around outside the door

Spent our last night in a real hotel at the southern end of chaweng and really enjoyed it

Staying at pandora had a really negative effect on our holiday and we would never return

It's grossly over priced and would be expensive at half the price

Over 3000 baht per night for a room with no pool / beach chairs etc is a joke

I can't understand how this inn is rated number two

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Very friendly owners (French and English speaking) offer unique facilities that will remind you of Flinstones cartoon on TV of yesterdays years. Room come with a large flat screen and PC with internet so you do not need to go to communal room for internet. Many much bigger resorts do not offer such facilities. All the conveniences are there and local staff from reception to kitchen and bar by the pool are very friendly. Do not book too many tours and places to see before you talk to owners as they can organise special tours not normaly available through agencies in Koh Samui or elsewhere and will accompany you on these special tours. French crape is a must to order each day for breakfast. We love it. Place is relatively small but is well secured and not much trouble to walk accross the road and onto the beach. We highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: Try to get the room around swimming pool, bar and eating area on ground level.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

Staff were great, rooms were very funky and modern - it was like sleeping on the set of the flinstones! Breakfast was also very good. Beach is just across the road. Only down side if any was that there were a few bugs as it is set back in some bushy land. There were a few centipedes in the room. However, well worth a visit..

Room Tip: In amongst trees, therefore take bug spray..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tarneit, Victoria, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2012 via mobile

Spent 3 nights at Pandora as part of our honeymoon. We stayed in the 'best' suite. It was large and spacious. Room very quirky with colour changing lights and unusual decor. Reminded me of a cave. Room had large TV with internet access and a large selection of movies on the server. Bathroom was good size however water pressure in shower very poor. Air con packed up our first night however staff were very quick to have it fixed.

Whole hotel grounds had quirky feel and look. No swimming pool however has large jacuzzi.

Breakfast was lite n simple. Not traditional buffet breakfast. I ordered poached eggs each if the 3 mornings. Cooked perfect 1St morning and over cooked next 2 mornings.

I found location great. only short 5 minute walk to shopping, restaurants, bars etc in chaweng. Beach access directly across the road through chalala resort. Chalala resort was also great place to eat and drink. Hotel itself very quiet but still close enough to everything.

Owners and staff very nice, welcoming and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham Manchester
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2012

Wet to the wonderful Pandora early in the year and what a very nice small quaint complex. If you drive past you wouldn't know it was there. set in its own compound this small chic complex served me and my wife well for 5 nights in Koh Samui.
The location is only 5 minutes in a taxi to the airport 10 minutes walk down to Green Mango which is the lively area of Chaweng , and only a few minutes to the beach.

I wil go through each part for you with Rooms - Food - Pool - Beach area and give u a good outline of the pros and cons which i thought others might want

Rooms - good size bed was a bit hard but again good size for 2 people. Tv which we didn't turn on is connected to the internet swell which go,s through the tv so an all in one, again didn't use it but it did work for the 2 minutes i did try before we ventured out. The shower is a good size water was sometimes cold then sometimes look warm and it wasn't a power shower you get at some resorts, all rooms have a lot of different coloured mood lights so you can set the setting to how u want. after 3 days these drove me mad as loads of light switches to get them tired off. lol
one last thing the A/C we had was old and did make a loud noise due to the size of the room the A/C couldn't handle it so when we would come back from are days out the room would be hot not cool like you want it, other then that it very nice and chic and basic.

Pool area - i wouldn't call it a pool but it a chill out area were you can gt a bit of sum through out the day and relax and take a dip when u want u can't do laps if that what you thinking.

Breakfast- is very nice you can order wha thou like from a little menu from scrambled eggs to omelettes etc, which american style bacon. there is tea coffee, fruit juices all different kind of breads to try, and yogurt etc. all in all the breakfast was very nice and it only less then 10 steps from your room. we didn't have anymore food from there so can comment.

Area- the area of the resort is good as i was saying before. you have a 24hr shop next selling you daily needs , crisps pop, sweet, BEER. VODKA. etc so that is good when you coming in off the drink in the morning and u need water etc. the resort is set just outside the centre about a good 10 minutes walk, the path is ok to walk as you go past a lot of other bigger resorts and nice fancy restaurants. If you get a bike or a 4X4 which we tried both, you can park around the bad of the complex with a kinda secure parking area which you can then walk in to the secure part of the complex were the rooms are.
If you are wanting to do any tours etc you can book through the from desk they also do bike hire also but there are so many cheaper places that do so look around, A good point is across the road from the hotel there is a laundry who are cheap be aware i didn't look at my stuff when i got it back and only realised i was missing a few expensive bits, when i went to get them back there was so much laundry all mixed up and took my 1 hr to find mine which didn't do , but hey it was cheap so i didn't mind it only clothes.

Beach- wel here we go, to get to the beach you need to cross the road and go downing to another complex past people small bungalows hits ok, but you have to go past the and through the restaurants on the beach who as you will know try pull you in. a firm smile and no does the trick
the beach is long and very Dirty and as there are resorts just off the beach they have there own private sun bed area which you can use, me and the wife just kinda wondered and jumped on a pair and didn't get hassled so i would say take the chance but get a drink at there bar keep everyone happy .WORD OF WARNING the Hawkers on the beach wil not leave you alone (Hawkers = Thai men and woman trying to sell you everything) i was even offered drugs by one man an this was my first afternoon there, we didn't go again lol, the sea is clean but you can't swim unless you go far out I'm talking 400m out. other then that i would make your way around the island some gorgeous beaches. you just have to find them..

Overall - Pandora resort is a very nice well run Chic place if you wanting to be out there main area from the music and the mayhem i would recommend if you wanting a night comfortable place to go.
Thankyou so much Pandora - Oh and you get a free pick up to and from Airport which is really nice.

Room Tip: All rooms from what i seen were very beautiful and good to go.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunedin, New Zealand
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2012

A good place to stay n busy Ko Samui. A bit of an oasis in a secure compound. Rooms very quirky and clean. Good breakFast included in rate. Good beach across the road although a fair walk t the main beaches. Only criticism would be the pool is far too small and shallow. More of a pond than something functional.

Ideal if looking for some quiet time and a cheap price.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Pandora Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pandora Hotel

Address: 119 / 34 moo 2, North Chaweng Beach Road | Bophut, Chaweng, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand (Formerly Pandora Boutique Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#1 Top resorts Hotel in Chaweng
#2 Business Hotel in Chaweng
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chaweng
#15 Family Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Pandora Hotel 3.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
PANDORA is driven by ONE desire : To create affordable luxury for smart International travelers. PANDORA sits at the quiet Northern end of the worldwide famous Chaweng Beach on Koh Samui Island. Only a few minutes drive from Samui International Airport, the secluded PANDORA is not a beach resort but is only 100 m walking distance to the beach (with direct access) and only a 10 minute walk to the heart of Chaweng City, which makes it a perfect spot for relaxing, but also for shopping and entertainment. PANDORA's eco-friendly unique design was imagined by a French designer who has created a series of 9 stylish comic inspired bungalows to compliment the smooth rhythm of Koh Samui’s tropical mood. Our private, tropical and colorful PANDORA is your space to PLAY, space to THINK, space to RELAX. You will enjoy personalized service, high class room facilities, Natural Tropical bathroom amenities, In-room internet technologies and Healthy bites for your breakfast. PANDORA is the perfect place for couples, with a unique blend of luxury, style and romance in a quiet atmosphere and the personal touch that only a small boutique hotel can offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda and Tingo so you can book your Pandora Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pandora Hotel Chaweng
Pandora Resort Chaweng
Pandora Hotel Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Pandora Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.