We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #42 of 103 Hotels in Chaweng
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Having backpacked around Thailand for a month, the Sarann was a lovely place to end our travels.

The room was gorgeous. We booked a jacuzzi room, a higher priced room than the standard yet we shown to a standard suite and had to show them our booking again and they swiftly rectified the problem. The room was incredibly spacious, with a little office space behind the bed and a large bathroom area with an open plan bath/sink space with separate toilet and shower. The bed was really large and very comfortable. The outside was lovely, the jacuzzi was covered with doors into the bathroom area and other doors opening onto the patio. On the patio there were sun loungers as well as a table and chairs for eating.

Unfortunately my boyfriend and I were unwell during our stay so it was important for us to be comfortable. Ordinarily we would not have ordered room service but on one day we did as we were unwell. This was one of the only downfalls, the meal ordered was average at best and very overpriced. Breakfast was also a let down.

The pool area was really lovely, not too big but that wasn't a problem as there were few people around. There were also steps down to sun loungers overlooking the sea.

The hotel is quite far out from the town so we rented a scooter from the hotel which was easy and not much more expensive than we'd experienced elsewhere around Thailand. There was a small supermarket located opposite the hotel which was good for snacks otherwise you would have to travel a long distance. If I remember correctly the hotel did offer a bus service into the town but I think there were only one or maybe two journeys made a day so if you don't want to be tied to these times I would suggest using taxis or scooters.

I would definitely recommend the hotel, the grounds and room were gorgeous and it was a welcome break to be away from the noise of Chaweng itself, an area I was not at all keen on. The staff were very attentive and friendly.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

280 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    110
    32
    27
    9
See reviews for
28
143
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Definitely recommend this hotel! The infinity pool is one of the best as it overlooks the beach. The rooms were nice and clean (I stayed at the Jacuzzi suite, room 210). The interior of the room I really liked. Hotel and staff were nice aswell. It's abit far from the town (15mins by taxi; 300 baht) but the hotel provides a free shuttle at 1 and 5 pm. The walk to the beach is short and I can't stress how amazing the view from the pool is. Overall, I would definitely recommend and return to this hotel when travelling to Koh Samui.

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2015

the service of the hotel is horrible. None of the staff speak English neither are prepared to answer any question related to the Island, Tourism or hotel infrastructure. The rooms are big and have a nice architecture, however the hotel is far away from downtown and is not possible to do anything walking.

  • Stayed February 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calcutta
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2015

1) Website gives the impression of a very new. classy and well maintained property. Truth is the photos look a LOT better than the actual property which is a bit run down.
2) During booking they do not tell you the difference between a jacuzzi suite and jacuzzi villa. When you get here you find that both are EXACTLY the same other than the fact that the suites are located literally on the road so you can hear traffic all day long. . Avoid all rooms starting with number 3.
3) Phones, switches and sockets are not located anywhere near the bed which is very inconvenient. Bad planning.
4) Toilets have low water pressure.
5) The property is tightly fitted between the ocean and the road. There is hardly any area to walk about.
6) Room cleaning does not happen on time.
7) Food is decent and the staff are friendly.
8) The room service surcharge is 50% which is too high. Also no food available after 1030pm.

We sacrificed staying on the "strip" thinking this would be a gr8 property to stay at which was a mistake.

Room Tip: During booking they do not tell you the difference between a jacuzzi suite and jacuzzi villa. When y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2015

Had nice pleasant stay for 3 nights at The Saraan. Staff friendly but not perfect in english communication. My pool villa room was more spacious for fun. Also got the proximity to beach where had exciting waves along with sun bath in silence of nature.

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2015

We stayed here for 10 nights in late january to early February 2015.
The staff are very lovely and accommodating.

The restaurant is very nice with great views of the beach but is quite expensive compared to other places around chaweng. Breakfast in the morning was great, eggs cooked to order.

They have a small gym, and an infinity pool - overlooking the beach (small childrens pool attached)

We paid 200 baht for a taxi to go into chaweng. (It is 200 baht for a tuk tuk) the sarann has 2 free shuttle services into chaweng per day 1pm and 5pm...

Lovely people working in the restaurant. Always happy to help and make recommendations.

We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 nights here, thank you!

Stayed February 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, UK
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2015

Stayed over New Year which unfortunately meant we had to part with around £100 each for a gala dinner. It was ok, but I would have rather have gone out locally. The hotel itself was lovely, with great views from our Villa with oceans views. The staff here are lovely, but sometimes lack basic English - to be fair my Thai is non existent but at this level (and expense) of accommodation I expected more.

Room Tip: Villa with seaview is the only choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#26 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#31 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.