We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“So likeable but with a few let downs” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Save Saved
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 100 Hotels in Chaweng
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“So likeable but with a few let downs”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

First impression of the Sarann is great, it is perched over Chaweng Noi beach and it looks very inviting. The staff greeting you are incredible service minded and you are greeted with a refreshing drink and face washer. We were upgraded from a deluxe room to a deluxe jacuzzi room which was a nice touch. The rooms are huge and have a nice old school feel to it. Being a jacuzzi room, it of course had a jacuzzi but also a bathtub and a shower. The feel about the place is so nice and the staff are doing everything to please but there were still a few let downs.
Positives : the staff, the infinity pool (although on the smaller size), all the little extra touches (fruit platter, upgrades, frangipani flowers strewn over your room, beach bag with beach towels and a good restaurant.
Negatives: situated between Chaweng and Lamai, there is nothing much to the area but easy enough to get to either Chaweng or Lamai. The water pressure in the shower is dismal and the water switches between very very hot to very cold and back to hot etc. The safe did not work and the tv reception was very very bad (I did not raise these issues with the staff as we were only staying one night but I am sure they would have done everything in their power to try to fix it would I have brought it to their attention). The shower had hair left in the drain from the previous occupants, rooms are quite dated and the bed was fairly hard and a bit lumpy. The back villas are also right beside a busy road so there is a fair bit of traffic noise as well.

Having said that though, there is something about the Sarann I really like and I felt so very welcomed, that a few let downs could not dampen my spirits. I would stay here again but probably only for a short time. As previously mentioned, I do believe the staff would have tried to fix any kinks would I have raised the issue.

Room Tip: The back rooms / villas are right next to a busy road with a fair bit of traffic noise till late.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    93
    97
    25
    24
    9
See reviews for
24
124
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

This is my second time to Samui Island and The Sarann Resort. I really enjoyed my vacation. Although I was a solo traveler but I never get bored during the time I stayed here. Everything from the villa,the room service, the food, the beach...were fantastic. More than that, staff were very friendly, polite and warm-hearted. I can see the dedication in their work and the way they served the guests. Special thanks to Pheerasit, Oil, Pom and Kris for warm welcome and for all other team members that did such fantastic jobs.

Room Tip: Sea Front Pool Villa is so fantastic and affordable in comparison with other luxury boutique resorts...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Machida, Tokyo, Japan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

When I arrived at hotel, hotel stuff served welcome drink and fruits.
Door man was there.

On the reception my room was upgraded luckily from Deluxe room to Deluxe Jacuzzi room.
As room name, there was Jacuzzi in room.
There was also shower and bath tab.

Room is wide enoughly.
Water pressure is little bit weak.
Safety box could be used easily.
There was walk in closet.
Room key is physical key. Not card type.

Hotel is located along a street. That's why you can hear car and motobike sound.
In the front of hotel, there is small shop like convenience store. But it is little bit expensive.
There is a Italian restaurant near by hotel. You can go to there by walk.
It is high class restaurant. It is nice atmosphere and service.

You can rent motobike at hotel.
Hotel reception is opened 24h.

At pool side you can look that pool and sea is connected.
It is nice.
Pool is opened until 9PM.
The beach on the front of hotel is craggy.
Maybe you can walk through there and reach beach.
(But I did not try. So I'm not sure.)
There is a gym and spa in hotel.

I like this hotel.
Because it is not so much expensive. But I could feel luxury.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Excellent rooms, as long as you get a pool villa that faces the sea.

Breakfast is average same you get everywhere in South East Asia.
God for renting bikes, might be a tad more than the ones on the main beach BUT the best advantage is , you don't have to give your passport like the other con-artists.

Wifi is good and some of the best restaurants are a short ride away from them.

Room Tip: Get a pool with your room , best privacy & views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gdansk, Poland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Nice situated hotel, beach villas are really great, you have bay view from your bed with no problems with walking people because of end of the beach/rocks, so you get privacy if you want. Pool is not very big, but its big enought to swim a bit. Walls separate your villas from another. Some plants with flowers are near the walls. You have separate toilet from shower - thats nice. Living room with tv is also nice and have nice view too.

Service is really good, they prepared birthday cake for my husband, receptionist called me a day earlier when he saw my husband going out of the villa and discuss with me the place and time for birthday cake. That was really sweat!

Food was really good at the restaurant (blue crab!). We got 20% discount card as we were on honeymoon. We also got discount on SPA.

We used also their tour service. We negotiated the price (app 15% discount), the trip on 42 island was amazing and well organized! Beautiful views!

One cons is that the hotel is far away from the island center. You have to get taxi 400B to airport (or 600B by hotel) or 200-300B to island city center. There is one 24 hour market on the right but you have to walk about 15 minutes up and down. But the ATM is almost at hotel.

Room Tip: Beach villa for sure! More far from the reception the better view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2014

This hotel was amazing. It had great facilities, like fitness room, the infinity pool was wonderfull with a beautiful view, possibility for spa and massage and the restaurant served delicious food. The hotel offered a free taxi service every day to the nearby shopping center, at 13 and at 17.
The room was luxorious, the bathroom was huge and very nice and the terasse was lovely.

We expirienced a lot traffic noise also at night, but we had booked one of the cheap rooms. One final remark was that there was almost no water preassure in the shower, which was a little annoying - but the bathtub was fine. Besides this, the hotel was perfect. Loved everything about it, opportunity for relaxing, enjoying the beatuiful pool and romantic dinner made the stay perfect.

Room Tip: Get a room away from the road, the road is noisy and our room was close by.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New york
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2014 via mobile

Everything looks like it was nice at some point but no longer functions properly. In fact, I'm so disappointed that I'm writing this review during my stay here.

The room is big, but there are stains on the curtains and walls. The pool is nice, but the stone walls are now streaked with green stains. The bathtub is big, but the hot water ran out before it was 1/4 full. There is barely water pressure, even in the toilet.

But the view is amazing. All in all, we booked here because it was less money for what seemed like a nice place in a more expensive area of Thailand. I wish I had spent the extra $25 a night on a nicer place.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#22 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
#37 Business Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Tingo, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Venere so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.