We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Waow!!! Amazing Resort! Amazing Stay!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #36 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Waow!!! Amazing Resort! Amazing Stay!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2014

This resort is at the very end of Chawengnoi beach. It is in a nice quiet place, perfect for relaxing.

On arrival we were greeted by a bell boy who took our heavy bags. We were then given refreshing drinks and hot towels. Check in was very quick and staff were friendly and helpful. The bell boy then delivered our bags to our room.
We stayed in one of the Villa's. It really was luxury. The bedroom was very large with a huge soft kingsize bed. The bathroom had a good powerful shower (which can sometimes be an issue in thailand) and there was also a large bath. Outside we had our own private courtyard with deck chairs and a jacuzzi. There was also great AC in the room.

The resort was very quiet while we were there during the low season so we often had the infinity pool that over looks the beech to ourselves.
The restaurant was very tasty for both breakfast and dinner. Large variety of foods and drinks of both western and thai food.

Overall, I will 100% be returning here! Best resort I have ever stayed in.

The hotel also runs a taxi service into town and to the airport if needed.

Room Tip: The only difference between the Villa's and the Suites is that there is a double room above the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    102
    28
    25
    8
See reviews for
26
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2014

This resort is at the end of Chawengnoi beach, far from the traffic and the confusion of the very croudy Chaweng center. The position is perfect to enjoy the beach and relax, the villas are clean, spacious and beautiful. Excelleng restaurant and breakfast. Absolutely recommended!!!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2014

There is no other way to describe our stay here other than perfect. So friendly and helpful.

When we arrived to check in, it was straight forward and they brought us a drink and some cold towels. Which is only small but makes all the difference, especially after a long flight. Their English isn't 100% but you can get by and they are just so lovely.

We stayed in a room with a private pool, it was just beautiful (the main pool is also really nice). Very private, looking out to sea from the bedroom, just amazing.

Breakfast was ok, I don't want to comment too much as I wasn't very hungry on a morning, so I did't eat a lot. There was a chef that does you omelettes etc and they were really good. The only downside was there were a lot of flies, obviously this is not the hotels fault, but it was annoying in general. Room service was very nice and reasonably priced.

Location - Although it is a bit out from the main part Chaweng, we liked that. It was close enough to get into the main part, the hotel ran a free bus twice a day and it was cheap enough in a taxi. You could even walk it, it took about 30 minutes (walk along the beach, they don't seem to like paths, so the roads can be a bit scary)
Looking out from our room there was no sand just rocks, but this meant the sea was closer and people weren't walking past. The beach started from just below the restaurant, so you could access it from the hotel and it was really nice, especially on a night when it was all light up.

Overall I would recommend this hotel to anyone, it really was beautiful. Anyone who complains about this hotel are either unlucky in a one off situation, or they are the actual problem! I am always honest in my reviews and I hate writing bad things, but I couldn't find anything bad about this place.

Room Tip: Go with the room with the private pool. Where the free bus drops you off, over the road, just befo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

Daughter of 18 and I stayed here, super friendly staff, very professional, pool is spectacular and very clean, rooms were big, we got automatically upgraded and had a hot tub outside on our own private deck. beach is really clean, away from all the city stuff but you can see the lights at night. I would stay here every time

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangkok, Thailand
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We stayed in the Sarann Resort just for 1 night, but it was a Great experience with Incredible staff and Good services.
Check-in took barely 10 minutes for the 9 of us, we were served welcome drinks as well.

There was One Large Indian family of about 6 or 8 Men trying to "solve a problem of Rates" at the reception, they all spoke LOUDLY and all at ONCE, thus the poor receptionist could not be able to help them FAST. - Very Annoying behaviour by this family in a foreign land.

The rooms are spacious, though the Air Conditioning does need some working on as the rooms do not Cool off even after 30 minutes of being swiched on.
The Breakfast was good and service again impeccable.
Overall a great stay - We will chose Sarann again without a second doubt :)

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014

We stayed at the Sarann for 4 nights on a family trip with a group of 22 adults. We had a variety of accommodation such as Pool Villas, Jacuzzi Villas and Suites. First the positives: the property is nicely located a bit away from the hustle of the Chawang area, but easily accessible. We had rented bikes and cars (available at the hotel itself) which made it very convenient. The rooms are nicely furnished and pool villas have a good size lounge pool! The breakfast buffet is nice, however, there is only one omelettes/egg server which was mildly annoying.

However, we give this property only 2 stars because of many negatives of our experience here.

1. Confused Check-in
The check-in staff were particularly inefficient and it took more than an hour for check-in of 6 rooms, despite half of our group having arrived earlier in the day. We wished to pay by AMEX credit cards to which they claimed the AMEX card machine was broken and seemed non co-operative. When we suggested that we pay later in the day when they fix it, they immediately got a working card machine in a few minutes, which made their earlier fuss seem pointless.

2. Hidden Charges, especially for Freebies
At check-out, we were asked to pay for use of guest slippers, umbrellas, bath-robes, cutlery, etc. which are normally "freebies" at even a budget hotel. It was not mentioned in the rooms that use of these items as chargeable and we were not informed of the same at check-in. We were also billed for a bottle of alcohol that my wife requested the staff to remove from the room mini-fridge as we have a curious toddler. The billing staff were rude and unprofessional in their behaviour to handle this incident. They also accused us to losing one umbrella, which was found to be in the room only and overlooked by their check-out staff.

3. Poor Air Conditioning in Villas
The air conditioning in the villas was not good and it took several hours to create a comfortable environment in the room.

Overall, the rude check-out staff and miserly approach towards charging for normal freebies gave a very negative shock at check-out. Overall, we did not like their hospitality and suggest travellers with high expectations to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Me and my boyfriend stayed here for 8 nights in May and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel. We tried all 3 of the villas (the pool villa, the Jacuzzi villa & the Jacuzzi suite)

Rooms were clean and modernised but had character with great bathtubs in all of them as well as walk in showers and great kind size comfy beds (bedrooms and bathrooms are a deal breakers or deal makers for me and both were deal makers!!)

THE JACUZZI SUITE'S ARE EXACTLY THE SAME AS THE JACUZZI VILLA'S BUT about £50 CHEAPER, but closer to the road, but honestly it is not noisy!

Restaurant is okay (try their coconut milkshakes!!) and the spa is amazing, you must try the 90 minute aloe vera massage - ahhh!!

Staff have limited English but enough to understand your demands (coming from a self-proclaimed Diva) and are always smiling and greet you with a bow - you return the bow and the smile!

I loved the fact that it is a boutique hotel and not very known but it is close to the big sandy Chewang beach but the only bad side is that there is no sun lounge's on the beach which belong to the Saraan, if you want to have a sunbathe by the beach!

Find out more about our personal experience with some restaurant & other hotel recommendations on my blog www.worldwithinher.com

Room Tip: Go for Jacuzzi suite as it is the same as the Jacuzzi Villa if you don't mind a little extra noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#27 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.