We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay at a great resort” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Sarann

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added The Sarann to your Saves list
The Sarann
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 102 Hotels in Chaweng
london
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Great stay at a great resort”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Me and my girlfriend have just got back from a 2 week holiday to Koh Samui. Whilst there we stayed at the Sarran for a total of 8 nights.

In this time we stayed in 3 of their different accommodation, sea view villa with pool, Villa with Spa, Suite with Spa.

Reason for so many will become clear!

First the resort, its located in Chaweng Noi which is at the Southern end of Chaweng Beach and about a 10 min drive to the main strip. It was very clean and well kept and the grounds were lovely and fully planted. In essence their are 3 towns of accommodation, sea front villas...on the sea front, then Villas with Spa one row back, and then Suite with Spa a further row back, that backed onto the road. The resort has a small gym and a lovely Spa which we used twice whilst we were there, and my girlfriend swears it was the best she has whilst on holiday. There is a small but very clean infinity pool with great views along the beach. It's worth noting that the resort isn't right on the beach, but its literally a 2 min walk to get to the sandy beach (contrary to some reviews saying 5 - 10 mins). You just walk by the restaurant and down onto the beach. And its a lovely little stretch where the sand continues into the sea, there is also a small coral section to one side which offers some not bad snorkelling. The restaurant is also quite good with a decent food selection and very well done for the price.

We first only booked for 2 nights in the sea view villa with pool as our intention was to try different hotels on the opposite side of the island. We were welcomed to the Sarann by the team who were all very friendly and greeted us with a smile and fresh cocktail. The sea view villa with pool was lovely, the pool was very clean as was the room and very private also. The views looked out along the length of Chaweng beach. the rooms were very spacious and clean and had a large circular bath.

We decided to book a third night but alas these villas were taken, so we went to the Villa with Spa. Again very nice accommodation, very large rooms with a large kingsize bed, large circular bath and a lovely spa bath outside again very private.

After the third night we checked out with the intention of getting accommodation on the west coast. After 3 - 4 hours and checking out 6 other resorts we decided to go back to the Sarann as it was so much nicer than the others at similar price. This time around and as we were on a budget we booked the Suite with Spa, it really worth mentioning that the ONLY difference between this and the Villa with Spa is that they are on the road side. The accommodation itself is exactly the same!

Now I have read some review that mention the noise of the road and yes you can hear the traffic, I guess it depends what your used to. Personally I didn't notice it after 5-10 mins and slept like a log. If you need silence to sleep well I probably wouldn't stay anywhere near Chaweng, or a road for that matter!

The service throughout was good, all the team were friendly, their level of English varied and of course as our Thai is non existent we were reliant on them understanding us to communicate and so of course its easier to talk to the staff that have better english. But even those that didn't always smiled and made an effort.

All in all we had a great stay here and would definitely go back. The Suite with Spa would be perfect for us as the noise didn't bother us and its less cost than the villa with spa for identical accommodation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    102
    28
    25
    8
See reviews for
26
131
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (47)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2014

Lovely boutique hotel with a 5* feel, excellent value for money from the room rate to mini bar items, the food is first class quality and the staff are very friendly, efficient and have been trained well in accommodating the needs of demanding international guests young and old. The location is very good with a fantastic view of the beach (which is easily accessible) and transport is easy, yet just far enough away from the hustle and bustle and a short transfer to the airport. The rooms are very large, beds huge and comfortable, you could not ask more for a break in this lovely Thailand gem.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfers Paradise, Australia
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

I have just spent 4 nights at The Sarann, chaweng noi and will definetly be returning, I have been to koh samui 7 times and wanting to try something different we booked the sarann, chaweng noi is in my opinion the best place to stay the beach and area is a little quieter and having Buco and Bistro Samui (two bars/restaurants) just a few steps away up the beach is an added bonus for a meal or an afternoon drink sitting right on the beach. The resort offers a free shuttle into chaweng (a 5 minute drive) a few times a day but we always hire a scooter and go it ourselves. Room service and food is very reasonably priced and very good quality, we stayed in a deluxe room and were more than impressed it had a HUGE king size bed and a big big bathroom complete with bath and separate shower, the staff very extremely friendly and will do anything to keep you happy. I would definetly recommend this resort to couples, families and honeymooners I will definetly be returning upon my next Thailand trip :-)

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2014

GM was very helpful towards our request to change the room and kindly offered to arrange free transportation to hospital as we need to go back for wound dressing.
Nice and quiet environment for those who need a good rest by the end of the day .
Best to stay in their pool villa.

Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Top Contributor
380 reviews 380 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

The Saraan is situated beside Chaweng Beach in Koh Samui, offering breathtaking sea views and by night, clear starlit skies.

I stayed at the pool-front villa - directly facing the vast seas so i got a lot of seabreezes. The villa is gorgeous and spacious, as well as offers privacy for its guests. The service is immaculate, and the rooms are clean.

The pool is well-maintained and looks enchanting by nightfall with the golden lights. One could swim and then sprawl out on deck chairs to enjoy a good tan or two.

They have taxi services to take the guests anywhere in the vicinity, as well as a restaurant Ginger serving rather good western fare.

And a spa within the resort itself that offers an entire different suite of relaxation and comfort for the villa guests.

For more information and photos, do visit:
http://thearcticstar.blogspot.sg/2014/01/tackling-thailand-koh-samui.html

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dewsbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

A friend travelling with us had stayed at this hotel the year before and loved the place. So we decided to stay here for our 3 night stay in Koh Samui, at the end of our Thailand holiday. And I can see why she wanted to go back there. the place is beautiful and in a fantastic location at one end of Chaweng beach. Just walk down a few steps and you're on the beach and within a short walk of some lovely beachside restaurants.
On arrival we received some complimentary drinks while signing in and were then escorted to our rooms by several staff, some carrying our luggage. Our room was lovely and had a huge round bathtub and shower area.
The buffet breakfast is fantastic with a multitude of choices.
Although we didn't have a beachfront unit with our own 'infinity' pool, we never found the 'common' pool to be busy and was in a fabulous location, offering views on to the beach and the sea.
I have to say we were treated like royalty by the wonderful staff during our stay and would certainly love to stay here when we come back again. It's not the cheapest place to stay at in Koh Samui, by any means, but hey, you're on holiday. And it's not that expensive considering the quality. Loved it.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2014

My husband and I stayed at The Sarann for 3 nights in April.

The hotel is located on a very beautiful beach, which is just about 1 minute's walk from the hotel. The beach and water is clean, calm and less crowded. There are some beach chairs spread outside 'Buco' and 'Bistro', which are available for free.


The hotel is about a 5-7 minute drive from the much busier and happening 'Chaweng Beach'. This is where you can do all the shopping and partying. A one way taxi ride from the hotel to Chaweng Beach will cost Baht 300. The hotel also provides 2 shuttles to the beach, one at 1 PM and the other at 5 PM (which is good to avail, at least 1 way).

Overall Samui experience was great! The hotel restaurant is very good! Food is very good! Breakfast was delicious too, with a beautiful view!

HOWEVER, my personal experience is that the management in the hotel needs improvement! I had only 2 prior requests from the hotel - (1) Early check-in (2) King size bed.

Neither of these were accommodated. the 1st one is still understandable, considering the hotel was fully booked. But I was really shocked at how rude one of the ladies the reception was!! She dint think twice before using a loud voice to challenge me on questioning me whether I had asked for an early check-in and if I had received a confirmation from the hotel. Before I could complete my answer, she said "it was highly unlikely that it was true"!!!! Basically made us feel like they were doing us a favour by accommodating us!! Second request, was the king size bed - which was also not accommodated. They had 2 double beds pushed together, with a gap in the middle, which was very uncomfortable.

Overall - hotel location & food is good but their service is questionable.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Sarann? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Sarann

Address: 95-96 Moo 3, Chaweng Noi Beach, Tambol Bophut, Chaweng, Bophut, Ko Samui 84320, Thailand
Location: Thailand > Surat Thani Province > Ko Samui > Bophut > Chaweng
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#21 Spa Hotel in Chaweng
#24 Luxury Hotel in Chaweng
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Chaweng
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4.5 star — The Sarann 4.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, Despegar.com, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Sarann reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Sarann Hotel Chaweng
Sarann Hotel Chaweng
The Sarann Ko Samui/Chaweng, Thailand

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Sarann, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.